Kay Hooper Books

Author Kay Hooper writes romance and suspense novels and her novels have reached New York Times bestseller list. Hooper was born in 1958 in the state of California, and after her birth, her family moved to North Carolina where she grew up with her younger brother and sister. Her parents had three kids, of which Kay is the oldest. Once she started college, she found that none of the courses interested her, at least until she started her literature and history courses.

Order of Antiquities Hunters Series

# Read Title Published
1 Enemy Mine 1989
2 The Haviland Touch 1991

Order of Bethlehem Series

# Read Title Published
1 Yours 2 Keep 1999

Order of Bishop Files Series

# Read Title Published
1 The First Prophet 2012
2 A Deadly Web 2015

Order of Bishop/Special Crimes Unit Series

# Read Title Published
1 Stealing Shadows 2000
2 Hiding in the Shadows 2000
3 Out of the Shadows 2000
4 Touching Evil 2001
5 Whisper of Evil 2002
6 Sense of Evil 2003
7 Hunting Fear 2004
8 Chill of Fear 2005
9 Sleeping with Fear 2006
10 Blood Dreams 2007
11 Blood Sins 2008
12 Blood Ties 2010
13 Haven 2012
14 Hostage 2013
15 Haunted 2014
16 Fear the Dark 2015
17 Wait for Dark 2017

Order of Delaneys: The Untamed Years Series

# Read Title Published
1 Adelaide, The Enchantress 1987
2 Golden Flames 1988
3 Velvet Lightning 1988
4 The Delaney Christmas Carol 1992

Order of Hagen Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Fall of Lucas Kendrick 1987
2 In Serena's Web 1987
3 Rafferty's Wife 1987
4 Raven On The Wing 1987
5 Zach's Law 1987
6 Unmasking Kelsey 1988
7 Outlaw Derek 1988
8 Shades Of Gray 1988
9 Captain's Paradise 1988
10 It Takes A Thief 1989
11 Aces High 1989

Order of Kay Hooper Standalone Novels

Order of Men of Mysteries Past Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Touch Of Max 1993
2 Hunting the Wolfe 1993
3 The Trouble With Jared 1993
4 All For Quinn 1993

Order of Montana/Trey Fortier Series

# Read Title Published
1 Crime of Passion 1991
2 House of Cards 1991

Order of Once Upon a Time Series

# Read Title Published
1 Golden Threads 1989
2 The Glass Shoe 1989
3 What Dreams May Come 1990
4 Through the Looking Glass 1990
5 The Lady and the Lion 1990
6 The Matchmaker 1991

Order of Pepper Series

# Read Title Published
1 If There Be Dragons 1984
2 If There Be Dragons 1984

Order of Quinn/Thief Series

# Read Title Published
1 Once a Thief 2002
2 Always a Thief 2003

Order of The Shamrock Trinity Series

# Read Title Published
1 Rafe, The Maverick 1986


# Read Title Published
1 Christmas Love Stories 1991
2 Hearts Of Gold 1994
3 My Guardian Angel 1995
Print: Print PDF

It was here that she concentrated on her writing (which she had been interested in doing for a long time). That Christmas she got a typewriter and began work on her first novel (that was later published as “Lady Thief”, a Regency romance novel) that she was able to sell to a publisher in 1980. Her mother was her first personal assistant until she died in the year 2002, and her sister works for her as regional publicist, events coordinator, and business manager. She still lives in the state of North Carolina and fosters kittens and cats for the local pet rescue center that she also serves on the board for. Her house keeps her close to her brother, sister, and father. Hooper lives with some dogs and her cats.

Kay Hooper is a prolific author, having written over sixty novels, mainly novels that are part of a series. She has written “The Once Upon a Time” series, “The Men of Mysteries Past” series, the “Quinn” series, “The Hagen” series, and “Special Crimes Unit/The Bishop” series. Hooper has also written some stand alone novels and some novellas.


She has won quite a few awards. Some of the awards she has won include: B. Dalton Award, Bookrak Award, Dorothy Parker Award of Excellence, Reviewer’s International Organization, Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Award, and Best Mystery/Suspense.


Here are some books that were written by Kay Hooper to check out, if you would like to get into reading her work.

Out of the Shadows: Book three in the “Bishop/ Special Crimes Unit” series, that comes from the “Shadow” trilogy part of the series. A nice town in Tennessee has become a killing field for a monster. Two bodies that were tortured before death are found, while a third person has gone missing. The little evidence that is left behind is baffling. The Sheriff in the town, Miranda Knight decides to enlist Noah Bishop, an FBI profiler to help solve the case, which is something that she swore that she would never do. This is as a result of something that happened years ago to Miranda and her sister by Noah. Catching the killer is going to be vital to Miranda, not to mention personal, as the killer has targeted a member of Miranda’s family to get to her.

Touching Evil: Book four in the “Bishop/ Special Crimes Unit” series, that comes from the “Evil” trilogy part of the series. Maggie Barnes is a police sketch artist in Seattle, and has a gift. She can listen to the crime victims tell their stories and draw a precise, detailed sketch that is quite accurate. Some believe that she enters the minds of the victim (with the use of telepathy). Maggie knows how she does it, but does not tell anyone her techniques. At the same time, a madman is going around blinding women after abducting them. Once he is done with them, they are left barely alive. The cops have one hope left in the case, a victim that is still alive and may recover her vision. Maggie is linked to the killer, but has not told anyone how.

Whisper of Evil: Book five in the “Bishop/ Special Crimes Unit” series, that comes from the “Evil” trilogy part of the series. A killer is on the loose and has already killed three people. The victims are upstanding members of the community in the town of Silence. Each man also harbored a dark secret that was only discovered after they were killed. Nell Gallagher returns after over a decade away with some secrets of her own. She must risk life and limb, not to mention sanity to use her skills as a psychic to help catch this killer. There is also a man that she would like to regain the trust of, after she left him all those years ago.