Hagen Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Hagen refers to a series of spy romance novels written by Kay Hooper. The books follow the exploits of the men and women who put their lives on the line to achieve the purposes of an unnamed United States Intelligence Agency.

Get notified when Kay Hooper releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Hagan Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Fall of Lucas Kendrick (By: Kay Hooper) 1987 Description / Buy
2 In Serena's Web (By: Kay Hooper) 1987 Description / Buy
3 Rafferty's Wife ( By: Kay Hooper) 1987 Description / Buy
4 Raven on the Wing (By: Kay Hooper) 1987 Description / Buy
5 Zach's Law (By: Kay Hooper) 1987 Description / Buy
6 Captain's Paradise ( By: Kay Hooper) 1988 Description / Buy
7 Outlaw Derek (By: Kay Hooper) 1988 Description / Buy
8 Shades of Gray (By: Kay Hooper) 1988 Description / Buy
9 Unmasking Kelsey (By: Kay Hooper) 1988 Description / Buy
10 Aces High ( By: Kay Hooper) 1989 Description / Buy
11 It Takes a Thief ( By: Kay Hooper) 1989 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

In Serena’s Web, the first of the Hagen novels is bound to throw a few readers off guard. Published in 1987, the book introduces readers to Serena Jameson, a girl in her mid-20s whose father runs a powerful computing empire.

Feisty, passionate and manipulative, Serena thought that Joshua Long was the only man that mattered. And despite his womanizing reputation, she was determined to tame him. But first, she had to seduce him, a task she hoped Brian Ashford would help her accomplish.

Brian and Serena met because Serena’s father was doing groundbreaking work for Brian’s company. And because of the nefarious minds that work had attracted, Serena’s father asked Brian to escort his stubborn daughter across the country to him.

The cool, collected man gave little thought to Serena’s request to teach her the ways of seduction. He couldn’t understand what she saw in Joshua Long but he also wasn’t averse to the notion of giving her what she wanted, not with the long trip that awaited them.

Neither Serena nor Brian expected their little game to take on a deeper meaning.

The reason In Serena’s Web confuses so many people is because it doesn’t actually feature Hagen, the figure after whom the series is named. A small, manipulative individual with twinkling eyes and a chubby face, Hagen is described as a man of keen intellect whose job it is to maintain peace and order.

The few agents Hagen has in the country and across the globe are frequently engaged in missions to infiltrate dangerous groups, thwart nefarious plots and save innocent lives.

However, this aspect of the Hagen series is largely absent in the first novel. In fact, In Serena’s Web could pass for an ordinary, standalone romance novel. It isn’t until the sequel kicks off that the spy thriller elements for which the series is best known begin to emerge.

Readers meet Hagen’s agents in the field, men, and women that must face great odds to see justice done. The romance is often a central element of every story that plays out. Kay Hooper’s protagonists always meet each other under the most unexpected circumstances.

They fall in love at first sight and, for the rest of their respective books, they must come to terms with their feelings even as they survive gunfights and explosions. The Hagen books have been criticized for their silly plots and ridiculous characters.

Best Hagen Books

The Hagen books have a dedicated fan base of readers who cannot get enough of Kay Hooper’s ability to so effectively blend the romance and spy genres, with some of the best novels in the series including:

It Takes a Thief: Jennifer Chantry knows how destructive a gambling habit can become. Her father’s gambling ways had lost the family their beautiful home. So when Jennifer meets Dane Prescott, she has every reason to steer clear of him.

Dane was pretty charming, and it helped that his eyes held so much mystery. He could make any woman swoon with just a gaze, and once he turned his sights on Jennifer, she knew she would never escape him, not after he helped her escape with a pilfered diamond bracelet, and then shocked her with a breathless kiss.

But Jennifer knows now that Dane is a professional gambler and she wants nothing to do with him. However, even the thought of Dane tempts Jennifer to break her own vows, and the fact that Dane has promised to move heaven and earth to claim her only makes matters worse.

Ace Highs: Skye Prescott has experienced great violence over the years. But nothing ever hurt him worse than Katrina Keller’s betrayal years ago. And yet he never stopped yearning for her. So when the redhead bursts into his life once more, Skye doesn’t know what to do, how to keep his body from wanting her.

Katrina has fought long and hard to forget the hurt that she suffered after losing Skye. She built walls to hide her heart. But now that Skye needs her to help him fend off his greatest enemy, Katrina must put her heart on the line once more.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another great read is the “Courting Justice” Series by Lexi Blake. These novels are legal dramas that follow the exploits of lawyers who must defend the men and women they encounter from life-changing lawsuits and criminal charges even as they fight the urge to fall in love with their clients.

You may also like the “Lightning Series” by Tracy Wolff. These books follow the exploits of athletes at the top of their game, men with all the money and confidence in the world who are tamed by women they meet through chance encounters, falling madly in love along the way.

What Is The Next Book in The Hagan Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Hagan Series. The newest book is It Takes a Thief and was released on May, 1st 1989.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *