Black Dagger Brotherhood Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

J.R Ward is one of the most successful authors of this generation, with most of her books being featured in a majority of best sellers list. Ward is widely known for the Black Dagger book series. She has several literary awards to her name including a RITA Award. Ward also has also been nominated for RITA on several occasions.

Get notified when J.R. Ward releases a new book at

Order of Black Dagger Brotherhood Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dark Lover ( By: J.R. Ward) 2005 Description / Buy
2 Lover Eternal ( By: J.R. Ward) 2006 Description / Buy
3 Lover Awakened ( By: J.R. Ward) 2006 Description / Buy
4 Lover Revealed ( By: J.R. Ward) 2007 Description / Buy
5 Lover Unbound ( By: J.R. Ward) 2007 Description / Buy
6 Lover Enshrined ( By: J.R. Ward) 2008 Description / Buy
7 Father Mine (Short Story) ( By: J.R. Ward) 2008 Description / Buy
8 Lover Avenged ( By: J.R. Ward) 2009 Description / Buy
9 Lover Mine ( By: J.R. Ward) 2010 Description / Buy
10 Lover Unleashed ( By: J.R. Ward) 2011 Description / Buy
11 Lover Reborn ( By: J.R. Ward) 2012 Description / Buy
12 Lover at Last ( By: J.R. Ward) 2013 Description / Buy
13 The King ( By: J.R. Ward) 2014 Description / Buy
14 The Shadows ( By: J.R. Ward) 2015 Description / Buy
15 The Beast ( By: J.R. Ward) 2016 Description / Buy
16 The Chosen ( By: J.R. Ward) 2017 Description / Buy
17 Dearest Ivie ( By: J.R. Ward) 2018 Description / Buy
18 The Thief ( By: J.R. Ward) 2018 Description / Buy
19 Prisoner of Night ( By: J.R. Ward) 2019 Description / Buy
20 The Savior ( By: J.R. Ward) 2019 Description / Buy
21 Where Winter Finds You ( By: J.R. Ward) 2019 Description / Buy
22 The Sinner ( By: J.R. Ward) 2020 Description / Buy
23 A Warm Heart in Winter ( By: J.R. Ward) 2020 Description / Buy
24 Lover Unveiled (By: J.R. Ward) 2021 Description / Buy
25 Lover Arisen (By: J.R. Ward) 2022 Description / Buy
26 Darius (By: J.R. Ward) 2022 Description / Buy
27 Lassiter (By: J.R. Ward) 2023 Description / Buy
28 Darius (Non-Audiobook Edition) (By: J.R. Ward) 2023 Description / Buy
29 The Beloved ( By: J.R. Ward) 2024 Description / Buy
30 A Bloom in Winter (By: J.R. Ward) 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Black Dagger Brotherhood Awards

Several books in Black Dagger Brotherhood book series have been nominated on several occasions for the annual RITA Awards.

Black Dagger Brotherhood Books into Movies

The Black Dagger book series was selected for a Television series adaptation.

Best Black Dagger Books

Dark Lover: The first book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood book series. In the world that J.R Ward has created, there are vampires. The vampires cannot go out into the sun, and for their survival, they have to drink blood. However, they are expected to drink the blood of the opposite sex within their race. These vampires live under the radar of human beings. As they pose a threat, they are hunted by a race known as the Lessers. Thus to protect the vampires, a group of defenders within the vampire race was formed and was named the Black Dagger Brotherhood.

As the story begins, Darius of the brothers is killed by a Lesser. Darius’s last dying wish was for Wrath his friend to take care of his only daughter, Beth. Beth has no idea that Darius was her father. Furthermore, she does not know of her vampire heritage as well. Soon, Beth is going to reach her age of transition, where she is going to turn completely into a vampire.

During her age of transition, Beth would require the blood of a male vampire for her transition to be successful. When these two characters met, it was instant fire. However, as expected, their path is not easy. Wrath is appointed as the leader of the Black Dagger Brotherhood and is also considered as a King by his people. Wrath has a wife. However, he has never had a sexual relationship with his wife. Wrath and his wife, have always met each other’s blood needs. The vampire world is not only new but also exceedingly scary to Beth. Despite everything that she goes through, Beth remains exceedingly strong and loyal as well. Apart from the two main characters, the book was filled with a band of supporting characters.

Lover Eternal: In Lover Eternal, the author J.R Ward introduces the readers to Mary Luce. Mary is a plain woman who has suffered a lot of hardships throughout her life. Now, she is battling her life against a degeneration of Leukaemia. As a loner, Mary Luce lives on her own and has very few friends. She only has one close friend, who happens to be her neighbor. Unknown to Mary, Beth her neighbor and friend is a vampire. Due to the love, she has for her community; Mary Luce decides to volunteer at the local Suicide Prevention Hotline, where she constantly receives phone calls from an individual who never seems to talk to her.

One evening after she had left work, Mary Luce receives a visit from one John Mathew, who happens to be her mystery caller. John Mathew is a scrawny teenager who happens to be mute. Bella as well comes to visit Mary Luce. She is drawn by the bracelet that John Mathew has on. Upon a close observation of the Bracelet, Bella can recognize the characters on the bracelet since they have been written in vampire language.

Once she realizes that John Mathew is a vampire, however, he is yet to go through a transition. From the look of things, John Mathew does not know anything about his heritage, and thus Bella immediately contacts the Black Dagger Brotherhood. A car is sent immediately for Bella and Mathew, to bring them to the Black Brotherhood headquarters. Since John cannot speak and Bella, on the other hand, understands sign language, she is allowed to come along. While at the Brotherhood Centre, Mary almost runs into one of the most good looking men that she has ever seen.

Other Book Series That You May Like

Fallen Angels” is a brilliantly written book by J.R Ward. Crave is one of the best performing books in the Fallen Angel book series. In this book, J.R Ward introduces the readers to Isaac Roothe, a black operations soldier with a grim future and an exceedingly dark past. Apart from being the target of a lethal assassin, Isaac finds himself locked behind bars. His fate lies in the hands of a good-looking public defendant, Grier Childe. The attraction that Isaac has towards Grier can only lead to trouble, and Isaac knows it. Caught at the center of an exceedingly wicked game, where a demon shadows him, Isaac must act quickly and swiftly.

What Is The Next Book in The Black Dagger Brotherhood Series?

The next book in the The Black Dagger Brotherhood Series by J.R. Ward is A Bloom in Winter and will be released on November, 19th 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *