Black Tide Rising Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Black Tide Rising is a series of sci-fi/zombie books bestselling American author of fantasy and science fiction books, John Ringo. Ringo began the publication of Black Tide Rising series in 2013 when Under a Graveyard Sky the series debut was published. The series lasted four novels concluding in 2015 when Strands of Sorrow was published.

Get notified when John Ringo releases a new book at

Order of Black Tide Rising Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Under a Graveyard Sky ( By: John Ringo) 2013 Description / Buy
2 To Sail a Darkling Sea ( By: John Ringo) 2014 Description / Buy
3 Islands of Rage & Hope ( By: John Ringo) 2014 Description / Buy
4 Strands of Sorrow ( By: John Ringo) 2014 Description / Buy
5 Black Tide Rising (By: John Ringo, John Scalzi, Jody Lynn Nye, Sarah A. Hoyt, Eric Flint, Michael Z. Williamson, Eric S. Brown) 2016 Description / Buy
6 The Valley of Shadows ( By: John Ringo) 2018 Description / Buy
7 Voices of the Fall ( By: John Ringo) 2019 Description / Buy
8 River of Night ( By: John Ringo) 2019 Description / Buy
9 At the End of the World ( By: Charles E. Gannon) 2020 Description / Buy
10 At the End of the Journey ( By: Charles E. Gannon) 2021 Description / Buy
11 We Shall Rise (By: John Ringo, Gary Poole) 2021 Description / Buy
12 United We Stand (By: John Ringo, Gary Poole) 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF


These are two best books in Black Tide Rising series by John Ringo, Under a Graveyard Sky and To Sailing a Darkling Sea.

Under a Graveyard Sky: In the first book in Black Tide Rising series, we meet a family of survivors fighting back a zombie plague that has brought down the entire human civilization as we know it. The zombies and the humans created them. Are you ready to fight some brain-eating monsters? Well, Smith and his family are, with the help of some few military guys.

When an airborne zombie virus is released, bring the civilization to a stop, the Smith family, Stacey, Steven, Faith, and Sophia take to the Atlantic to avoid the chaos. They plan to find a haven from the anarchy of those infected by the zombie virus. However what they discover instead is a sea full of the tears of the survivors and the agony for bringing hope.

It’s up to Smith and a small team of Marines to create a haven that the survivors seek in a world of terror. Now with every continent facing doomsday and every ship a slaughterhouse those who survive have to live beneath a graveyard sky.

The first book in Black Tide Rising series is a beautiful read that focuses on the war between the brain-eating zombies and the human survivors. The zombies themselves are the product of a human-made virus- a virus deliberately made to be both blood-borne and air-borne for maximum dispersal. The virus turns its victims into mindless, raging, homicidal maniacs with a thirst for human flesh. There is no cure yet, and no one can stop it from spreading. Even though the bank has managed to create a vaccine by the use of the zombie spinal cord, the vaccine only works for about a dozen doses each.

The first half of the novel mainly details the initial spread of the zombie virus, with many people struggling to continue to live a healthy life as long as possible. We get to see the cops struggle to deal with the situation using batons, Tasers when deadly force is the only option. On the other hand, the government limits itself to identifying the source of the plague rather than finding the means of curing it, the human civilization slowly descents into madness with the first half of the novel ending in a bloodbath.

The second half of the novel is where the real story now develops. Faith and her family set out to the sea where they search for ships and boats to recover, rescue and cleanse. As if fighting the homicidal maniacs wasn’t enough- imagine doing it in the dark in the decks of strange ships adrift in the deep waters, it’s worth reading.

To Sailing a Darkling Sea: The second book in Black Tide Rising series picks up where the first book left off where we find Smith’s family killing the zombie maniacs and world piece by piece. As they rescue the survivors, Wolf becomes something more than just a ragtag group of vessels. It becomes a not well-oiled machine representing the sweat, blood, and the tears required to resurrect a dying civilization from the ground up- from the ocean.

The aftermath of any zombie apocalypse is undoubtedly likely to be messy. Zombie apocalypses- undead or dead zombies have barbaric manners and very little respect for personal hygiene. Any place left in their case is definitely going to stink. The zombies don’t mind, but the survivors do and not because the place becomes smelly but due to the unsightly messes- rotting bodies that lead to outbreaks of new diseases.

Smith aka Wolf and his family began recovering and rescuing ship immediately after the apocalypse struck. But as the contingent expands, so does the need for law and order and that’s where To Sail a Darkling Sea excels. The author covers everything from the survivors, those infected, patterns of behavior and transition to the post-apocalyptic world after finding a purpose in the fleet.


If you like Black Tide Rising series you will find these two book series worth reading; “Dead Six” by Larry Correia and Mike Kupari and “Assiti Shards” by Eric Flint and David Carrico.

What Is The Next Book in The Black Tide Rising Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Black Tide Rising Series. The newest book is United We Stand and was released on March, 5th 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *