John Ringo Books

Born on 22nd March 1963, John Ringo is an American New York Times Best Seller military fiction and science fiction writer. He spent most of his childhood life traveling and graduated from Winter Park High School in Winter Park Florida in 1981. John Ringo attended fourteen different schools due to his frequent family trips to various countries. Among the countries, he visited most were Iran, Greece, and Switzerland before settling with his parent in Alabama.

Order of Black Tide Rising Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Under a Graveyard Sky 2013 Description / Buy
2 To Sail a Darkling Sea 2014 Description / Buy
3 Islands of Rage & Hope 2014 Description / Buy
4 Strands of Sorrow 2014 Description / Buy
5 Black Tide Rising 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Empire of Man Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 March to the Sea 2001 Description / Buy
2 March Upcountry 2001 Description / Buy
3 March to the Stars 2002 Description / Buy
4 We Few 2004 Description / Buy
5 Empire of Man 2014 Description / Buy
6 Throne of Stars 2014 Description / Buy

Order of John Ringo Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Road to Damascus 2004 Description / Buy
2 Von Neumann's War 2006 Description / Buy
3 The Last Centurion 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Legacy of the Aldenata Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Tuloriad 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Looking Glass Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Into the Looking Glass 2005 Description / Buy
2 Vorpal Blade 2007 Description / Buy
3 Manxome Foe 2008 Description / Buy
4 Claws That Catch 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Monster Hunter Memoirs Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sinners 2016 Description / Buy
2 Grunge 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Paladin of Shadows Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ghost 2005 Description / Buy
2 Kildar 2006 Description / Buy
3 Choosers of the Slain 2006 Description / Buy
4 Unto the Breach 2006 Description / Buy
5 A Deeper Blue 2007 Description / Buy
6 Tiger by the Tail 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Posleen War Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Hymn Before Battle 2000 Description / Buy
2 Gust Front 2001 Description / Buy
3 When the Devil Dances 2002 Description / Buy
4 Hell's Faire 2003 Description / Buy
5 Cally's War 2004 Description / Buy
6 The Hero 2004 Description / Buy
7 Eye of the Storm 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Posleen War: Cally's War Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Cally's War 2004 Description / Buy
2 Sister Time 2007 Description / Buy
3 Honor of the Clan 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Posleen War: Sidestories Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Watch on the Rhine 2005 Description / Buy
2 Yellow Eyes 2007 Description / Buy

Order of Special Circumstances Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Princess of Wands 2006 Description / Buy
2 Queen of Wands 2012 Description / Buy

Order of The Council Wars Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 There Will Be Dragons 2003 Description / Buy
2 Emerald Sea 2004 Description / Buy
3 Against the Tide 2005 Description / Buy
4 East of the Sun, West of the Moon 2006 Description / Buy

Order of Troy Rising Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Live Free or Die 2010 Description / Buy
2 Citadel 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Hot Gate 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Von Neumann's War Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Von Neumann's War 2006 Description / Buy


# Read Title Published Details
1 Citizens 2010 Description / Buy
2 Exiled 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

After graduating, he joined the Army and became Army Specialist as a member of the 82nd Airborne Division. During his four years of service in the military, he was assigned 508th Parachute Infantry Regiment, 1st Battalion, reflagged into 505th Parachute Infantry Regiment 3rd Battalion and served for two years with the Florida National Guard.

He received the following awards while still in service in the Army: Army Commendation Medal, Infantryman Badge, Good Conduct Medal, Parachutist Badge, Expeditionary Medal, National Defense Service Medal, and Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal.

After his service in the military, he joined college, studied marine biology, and graduated with an associate degree. He, however, discovered marine biology would not pay that well and became a database manager to support his family (wife and two daughters). The idea of writing fiction sparked in 1999 and wrote a story about alien invasion and the response by the military. He named the novel A Hymn Before Battle. He submitted the book to Jim Bean-a publisher, but the novel was initially rejected. Later Jim Baen bought the book and soon sold thousands of copies globally. This made John Ringo quit his database management job and became a full-time writer. Currently, Ringo has written and co-written over 46 novels. Now, he is working with a film producer in adapting three of his books; Princess of Wand, Ghost and A Hymn Before Battle for filming. John Ringo currently lives in Chattanooga, TN.

John Ringo has authored five different novel series which are: Posleen War series, Troy Rising Series, Looking Glass Series, The Council War series, and the Paladin of Shadows series.

John Ringo Awards

Ringo was awarded Phoenix Award in 2012 for his great contributions to the science fiction writings.

Best John Ringo Books

Citadel (Troy Rising): This series is set during the initial contact between human and alien. Tyler Vernon, a billionaire, funded a battle station of its kind; it is a two trillion ton nickel-iron alloy battle station. Through this, the Earth has successfully managed to regain control of the Sol system from the Horvath attackers and now the troops are beginning to enter the galactic milieu.

Unfortunately, Rangora Empire defeats Earth only alliance, and this could only mean one thing, that the war started. The battle station which now holds Civilians, Navy and Marine is the only salvation they have, and if the Troy is defeated, then this means that there will be no one left to tell the story. The war has to be won at all costs. Troy Rising is said to have been inspired by Schlock Mercenary webcomic and its universe.

Hot Gate: The fight to free the Earth from a possible domination it is still on since its beginning in Citadel and Live Free or Die. Tyler Vernon is abroad the giant battle station and a battling the forces of the evil tyranny. Not only the People and the Earth are at stake here, but even the Galaxy itself must also choose whether to live free or die because if the evil tyrant wins the battle against the humans, the entire universe shall be ruled by darkness for millions of years to come.

Live Free or Die: The initial contact with the aliens was friendly, they turned out to be friendly traders and came in peace. However, when Horvath came, it was evident that alien invasion had just started after they destroyed three cities on Earth. Horvath now controls the orbitals, and there is no way that the Earths government can win. Therefore this means that freeing the World from Horvath terror is going to take a determined hero, a hero who is determined not to bow down and submit to the aliens nor the human government and a hero who has vowed to no slavery. Tyler Vernon has plans in place, and he seems the right guy, and the only hope the Planet has in fighting the alien forces.

When Does The Next John Ringo book come out?

John Ringo doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Sinners and was released on December, 6th 2016. It is the newest book in the Monster Hunter Memoirs Series.