Posleen War Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The “Posleen War Series” by John Ringo otherwise known as “The Legacy of the Aldenata” is a military science fiction series set in an alternate universe. The first novel of the series was “A Hymn Before Battle” that Ringo first published in 2000.

Order of Posleen War Series By: John Ringo, Tom Kratman, Michael Z. Williamson, Julie Cochrane

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Hymn Before Battle 2000 Description / Buy
2 Gust Front 2001 Description / Buy
3 When the Devil Dances 2002 Description / Buy
4 Hell's Faire 2003 Description / Buy
5 The Hero 2004 Description / Buy
6 Cally's War 2004 Description / Buy
7 Watch on the Rhine 2005 Description / Buy
8 Sister Time 2007 Description / Buy
9 Yellow Eyes 2007 Description / Buy
10 Honor of the Clan 2009 Description / Buy
11 Eye of the Storm 2009 Description / Buy
12 The Tuloriad 2009 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Posleen War: Cally's War Series By: John Ringo, Julie Cochrane

# Read Title Published Details
1 Cally's War 2004 Description / Buy
2 Sister Time 2007 Description / Buy
3 Honor of the Clan 2009 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Posleen War: Sidestories Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Watch on the Rhine 2005 Description / Buy
2 Yellow Eyes 2007 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The main premise of the “Posleen War series” is that humanity has received communication from the Galactic Federation, a peaceable and highly advanced civilization. But in spite of their civilization all is not well with the Federation as they are under attack from the Posleen, an alien species that could well annihilate their ranks. Given humanity’s excellence in military hardware, and strategy the Galactic are seeking their help to ward off the threat of the Posleen. But soon they discover that nothing about the Galactics is as it seems as ancient and present plots they have kept hidden may endanger the survival of humanity itself.

“A Hymn Before Battle” the first novel of the series is an impressive hard science fiction title. Earth just got some bad news and some good news, which finally confirms that there is intelligent life in the Galaxy, and even better they are friendly and peaceful. The bad news is that there are also some evil aliens and these are heading towards the neighborhood of Earth, that are estimated to arrive in about half a decade. The best solution is to prevent them before they reach Earth by becoming mercenaries to help the good guys fight them off while they are still far from Earth. The technology on Earth and some cash and men to use it can be very helpful to the peaceful aliens in their fight against the enemy.

The Earth hopes that by sending their mercenaries to fight in this war, they can gain experience and money which will come in handy in the possible fight to come five years down the line. As expected not everything goes as smoothly as hoped as an explosive tale of plots and subplots ensues in an excellent narrative that we have come to associate with John Ringo.


Gust Front: The first novel of the series opens to the crisis finally landing on Earth after a respite of several years. The Polseen have arrived in their millions spreading their voracious carnivoristic appetites across the towns and villages of Earth. They eat humans and consume much of the resources with the only hope of stopping them resting on futuristic technologies that the Earth’s military gleaned from their mercenary experience. Of all the armies none is better prepared than the American Army, which takes the lead in the fight.

When the Devil Dances: The third novel of the series an excellent techno thriller set five years from the end of the second. The Posleen have all but defeated the armies of Earth and have spread across its domains spreading their will with impunity. But a few pockets of resistance mainly from the United States still remain determined to drive out the alien invaders. But the leader of the aliens has had a lot to learn from his time fighting humans, and he is prepared to fight with Major O’Neal in a fight that will determine the future of planet Earth.

Hell’s Faire: Another incredible novel of the Posleen War series is the fourth title “Hell’s Faire”. The Earth is in even more dire straits as most of the resistance is now fallen away leaving only a small band of defenders holding the line and surrounded by Posleen hordes. But out of the hopelessness of the situation arises a new hope – a new weapon has been discovered. Even so the weapon is hundreds of miles away from the frontline and it would take a courageous force to retrieve it for use.


Many fans of the “Posleen War series” of novels are fans of the “Honorverse: Saganami Island” series of novels by David Weber. These novels are intergalactic novels of conquest and defense featuring the Star Kingdom and its elite officers, who strategize against evil rival Galactic Empires.

“Posleen War series” readers also enjoy “Freehold” series of novels by Michael Z. Williamson. These novels are intergalactic political thrillers about political intrigues and the emergence of unlikely heroes who rise up to fight a despotic Galactic government.

What Is The Next Book in The Posleen War Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Posleen War Series. The newest book is The Tuloriad and was released on September, 1st 2009.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *