Brandon Walker Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Brandon Walker is one of the most acclaimed series characters of New York Times best-selling author J.A. Jance. Brandon Walker is the featured character in the series “Walker Family Mysteries”. The first novel featuring Brandon Walker was in 1991, in the first book entitled “Hour of the Hunter”, and the series of books are written as mystery and thriller novels.

Get notified when J.A. Jance releases a new book at

Order of Walker Family Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hour of the Hunter ( By: J.A. Jance) 1991 Description / Buy
2 Kiss of the Bees ( By: J.A. Jance) 1993 Description / Buy
3 Day of the Dead ( By: J.A. Jance) 2004 Description / Buy
4 Queen of the Night ( By: J.A. Jance) 2010 Description / Buy
5 Dance of the Bones (By: J.A. Jance) 2015 Description / Buy
6 Blessing of the Lost Girls (By: J.A. Jance) 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Joanna Brady and Brandon Walker Series

# Read Title Published Details
Print: Print PDF

Brandon Walker is an ex-sheriff living in Tucson, Arizona. The series tells stories of how Brandon Walker defends the oppressed and victims of crimes and murders in Arizona, as he protects himself and his family from the perils that may arise because of his assistance to the natives who experienced the bloody side of the world in Arizona.

The first novel in the series, Hour of the Hunter starts off with the release of psychopath Andrew Carlisle, who was sentenced six years in prison for the torture murder of a Papago Indian girl. Andrew Carlisle is set to the venture of satisfying his hunger for blood, fear, and revenge against the people who were responsible for his imprisonment, including Diana Ladd, a young widow of Andrew Carisle’s partner, whose testimony helped put him behind bars. Diana Ladd cannot ignore the threatening reality of Andrew Carlisle’s release, for Diana Ladd is not only running for her life, but also for her son. Diana Ladd then relies to Brandon Walker for protection. The latter part of the story then reveals that Diana Ladd and Brandon Walker will have an adopted Papago Indian daughter named Lani, who they must also protect from the unfriendly environment of Arizona.

Although the series was already started in 1991, it was not until almost ten years after that the second book, “Kiss of the Bees” was released. Still, various avid readers supported the series, which led to producing the next three books, Day of the Dead (2004), Queen of the Night (2010), and Dance of the Bones (2015). The series also received positive reviews from different readers, revealing that author J. A. Jance managed to keep them interested on her stories of suspense and thriller of Indian folklore.


Brandon Walker Series’ first book Hour of the Hunter is a Dily’s Awards Best Book nominee in 1992. It is also a finalist of the Anthony Award for Best Mystery in 1992. The latest book of the Brandon Walker series, Dance of the Bones published in 2015, is also awarded as a finalist of the 2016 Shamus Award for Best Novel.


These are two of the best books of the Brandon Walker series:

Queen of the Night: The fourth book of the series was release twenty years after the first book, but its relevant plot loved by its readers makes it easier to appreciate the stories even across the generations. The book involves the disturbed state of Tohono Indians (also known as the Desert People) as murders from both the old and new generations weave connections. Californian Jonathan Southard kills his wife and children out of so much resentment, and goes after his remarried mother in Tuscon, where he opens wounds on Diana Ladd and Brandon Walker’s family. The book’s title, Queen of the Night, is in reference to the flower that blooms in the Arizona desert just one night each year. The story filled with self-sacrifice and unseakable evil drives the readers page by page, proving J. A. Jance’s expertise in writing mystery.

Dance of the Bones: J. A. Jance’s latest book of the Brandon Walker series is written with J. P. Beaumont. The book entails Brandon Walker’s search to find the truth about the death of Amos Warren, a prospector whose bones were found in the desert years later after he went missing. Brandon Walker pairs up with a seasoned detective, and as they join forces to close the cold case, they must also help each other as someone close to Brandon Walker falls into the hands of a cold-blooded killer who might also be involved in Amos Warren’s murder.


Many Brandon Walker readers are also fans of “Stone Barrington” series written by Stuart Woods. Stone Barrington started in 1991 with New York Dead, and continues today with more than 20 books, making it Stuart Woods’ largest series yet . Meanwhile, several Brandon Walker readers also explore reading on series also written by J. A. Jance, such as “J. P. Beaumont”, a story of a Pacific Northwest homicide detective, and “Ali Reynolds“, a story revolving in the life of 40-something ex-newscaster living in Sedona, Arizona.

What Is The Next Book in The Walker Family Mysteries Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Walker Family Mysteries Series. The newest book is Blessing of the Lost Girls and was released on September, 19th 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *