Stone Barrington Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Stone Barrington is the lead character in the Stone Barrington series of novels by American author Stuart Woods. Barrington makes his first appearance in the 1991 published title New York Dead. These novels are generally regarded as mystery thrillers.

Order of Stone Barrington Series

1New York Dead1991Description / Buy
2Dirt1996Description / Buy
3Dead in the Water1997Description / Buy
4Swimming to Catalina1998Description / Buy
5Worst Fears Realized1999Description / Buy
6L.A. Dead2000Description / Buy
7Cold Paradise2001Description / Buy
8The Short Forever2002Description / Buy
9Dirty Work2003Description / Buy
10Reckless Abandon2004Description / Buy
11Two Dollar Bill2004Description / Buy
12Dark Harbor2006Description / Buy
13Fresh Disasters2007Description / Buy
14Shoot Him If He Runs2007Description / Buy
15Hot Mahogany2008Description / Buy
16Loitering with Intent2009Description / Buy
17Kisser2009Description / Buy
18Lucid Intervals2010Description / Buy
19Strategic Moves2010Description / Buy
20Bel-Air Dead2011Description / Buy
21Son of Stone2011Description / Buy
22D.C. Dead2011Description / Buy
23Unnatural Acts2012Description / Buy
24Severe Clear2012Description / Buy
25Collateral Damage2012Description / Buy
26Unintended Consequences2013Description / Buy
27Doing Hard Time2013Description / Buy
28Standup Guy2014Description / Buy
29Carnal Curiosity2014Description / Buy
30Cut and Thrust2014Description / Buy
31Paris Match2014Description / Buy
32Insatiable Appetites2015Description / Buy
33Hot Pursuit2015Description / Buy
34Naked Greed2015Description / Buy
35Foreign Affairs2015Description / Buy
36Scandalous Behavior2016Description / Buy
37Family Jewels2016Description / Buy
38Dishonorable Intentions2016Description / Buy
39Sex, Lies & Serious Money2016Description / Buy
40Below the Belt2017Description / Buy
41Fast and Loose2017Description / Buy
42Indecent Exposure2017Description / Buy
43Quick & Dirty2017Description / Buy
44Unbound2018Description / Buy
45Shoot First2018Description / Buy
46Turbulence2018Description / Buy
47Desperate Measures2018Description / Buy
48A Delicate Touch2018Description / Buy
49Wild Card2019Description / Buy
50Contraband2019Description / Buy
51Stealth2019Description / Buy
52Treason2020Description / Buy
53Hit List2020Description / Buy
54Choppy Water2020Description / Buy
55Shakeup2020Description / Buy
56Hush-Hush2020Description / Buy
57Double Jeopardy2021Description / Buy
58Class Act2021Description / Buy
59Foul Play2021Description / Buy
60Criminal Mischief2022Description / Buy
61A Safe House2022Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Stone is a former detective with the New York City Police Department. The series begins immediately after Barrington’s termination form the city police department due to his outspoken outbursts against his superiors. Now broke and in debt, he has no hesitation taking up his friend on an offer to work in at his prestigious law firm rather than file for unemployment.

The first novel in the series, New York Dead sees Stone Barrington witness an inexplicable happening on the streets of the city that turns his life on its head. Purely out of luck, he finds himself the centerpiece of every newspaper story, with his life now intertwined with the shocking life of the now missing and thought to be deceased Sasha Nijinsky, one of the country’s most celebrated news anchors.

There is no escaping the case, as it stalks his days and keeps him awake at night. What follows is the story of how Barrington has to deal with the intricate web of sexual depravity, dangerous friends, and unspeakable crimes centering on the life of the deceased news anchor Sasha. Stuart Woods writes a story so compelling, that it is now wonder that Publishers Weekly once pronounced his work as “smooth as silk.”


Chiefs and Grassroots some of Stuart Woods’s most popular books have been made into TV series. In 1993, Grassroots was adapted into a four-part TV miniseries by CBS following the very popular adaptation of the Chiefs novel into a miniseries in 1983, also by CBS. Woods played a role in writing the script for both of the miniseries, being lead writer in Chiefs and co-writer with Derek Marlowe in Grassroots. While no other books have been made into movies or series, Woods has indicated that he would be very interested in adapting any of his books into a movie or TV series. With the Chiefs series now on the Netflix catalogue, the Stone Barrington series is sure to be a hit with fans if it were to be adapted for TV.


The first novel, New York Dead is one of the most popular among fans of the Stone Barrington series. When Sasha Nijinsky, a telecaster survives a 12-floor fall from her terrace, Stone who is the only witness, finds himself the center of attention, particularly when she goes missing on the way to hospital. The New York Police Depart is easy to point all blame on her lesbian lover, but Barrington believes there is more to the case than meets the eye. He takes it upon himself to unravel the entire mystery of her fall and disappearance.

Another excellent novel in the Stone Barrington series of novels is the third book in the series, Dead in the Water. As Stone is enjoying his well-deserved holiday in the Caribbean Island of St Mark, he is suddenly drawn to a very strange thing: Sailing a large yacht into the harbor is a very beautiful young woman. The strange thing is that while she had left the US in the company of her husband she is now all alone, arousing the suspicion of the minister of Justice Sir Winston Sutherland. While Stone is all for justice, what he values more is evidence, and soon he is all that stands between the patently evil Winston and Allison Manning, the young woman who insists that she is innocent.

The fourth book in the Stone Barrington series, Swimming to Catalina has one of the most compelling twists. Soon after his fiancé dumps him for Vance Calder a Hollywood actor, she disappears with no trace. Calder turns to Stone for help to find his new girlfriend. Stone now has to not only set aside his feelings, but also try to crack a case that seems to have no leads with his fiancé’s new lover in two.


Many fans of the Stone Barrington series of novels also love the “J.P. Beaumont” series by J.A. Jance. These series of books are detective mysteries featuring J.P Beaumont, a Seattle homicide detective who displays tenacious Jack Bauer like traits. Fans of the series are also partial to the “Doc Ford Mystery” series by Randy Wayne White. Doc Ford is an ex CIA agent turned marine biologist, who is addicted to the dangers of an intelligence job, and keeps going back for more.

What Is The Next Book in The Stone Barrington Series?

The next book in the The Stone Barrington Series by Stuart Woods is A Safe House and will be released on March, 22nd 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *