Doc Ford Mystery Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Doc Ford is a series of novels written by Randy Wayne White, an American Author. The books follow the adventures of a scientist with a violent past . The books began their publication in 1990 at St. Martin’s press, though White cast them aside after his three book contract was up because he wasn’t satisfied by the amount of money he was getting.

Get notified when Randy Wayne White releases a new book at

Order of Doc Ford Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sanibel Flats ( By: Randy Wayne White) 1990 Description / Buy
2 The Heat Islands ( By: Randy Wayne White) 1992 Description / Buy
3 The Man Who Invented Florida ( By: Randy Wayne White) 1993 Description / Buy
4 Captiva ( By: Randy Wayne White) 1996 Description / Buy
5 North of Havana ( By: Randy Wayne White) 1997 Description / Buy
6 The Mangrove Coast (By: Randy Wayne White) 1998 Description / Buy
7 Ten Thousand Islands (By: Randy Wayne White) 2000 Description / Buy
8 Shark River (By: Randy Wayne White) 2001 Description / Buy
9 Twelve Mile Limit ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2002 Description / Buy
10 Everglades ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2003 Description / Buy
11 Tampa Burn ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2004 Description / Buy
12 Dead of Night ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2005 Description / Buy
13 Dark Light ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2006 Description / Buy
14 Hunter's Moon ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2007 Description / Buy
15 Black Widow ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2008 Description / Buy
16 Dead Silence ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2009 Description / Buy
17 Deep Shadow ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2010 Description / Buy
18 Night Vision ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2011 Description / Buy
19 Chasing Midnight ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2012 Description / Buy
20 Night Moves ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2012 Description / Buy
21 Bone Deep ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2014 Description / Buy
22 Cuba Straits ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2015 Description / Buy
23 Deep Blue ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2016 Description / Buy
24 Mangrove Lightning ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2017 Description / Buy
25 Caribbean Rim ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2018 Description / Buy
26 Salt River ( By: Randy Wayne White) 2020 Description / Buy
27 One Deadly Eye (By: Randy Wayne White) 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Doc Ford, White’s protagonist, used to work for the government as a triggerman. However, he has since taken up a different trade, managing a marine biology supply business in Dinkins Bay, Sanibel.

Formally known as Marion Ford, Doc Ford would like nothing better than to live a quiet life pursuing his interests as a scientist. However, the world isn’t quite so forgiving and Doc Ford is frequently forced to manifest the skills of his past to deal with pressing problems at the present.

Sanibel Flats, the first book in the Doc Ford series, finds Doc Ford living his life of seclusion. Leaving government work behind was a difficult undertaking. However, after a decade living the simple life at Dinkins Bay, cooking dinners in the beautiful moonlight with his attractive neighbor and enjoying a beer with the locals, Doc Ford was finally able to put his addiction for danger to rest.

However, when his old friend Rafe Rollins calls on him with a request for assistance, Doc Ford is drawn back into the firing line, shattering the life he built on Sanibel Island.

Randy Wayne White, the author of the Doc Ford series boasts elements that are reminiscent of his popular protagonist. White left home right after high school to travel. He acquired the necessary licenses and then spent the next several years working in and around Sanibel Island.

White began writing his books while still working around Tarpon Bay; however, the Bay was eventually closed.

For White, this was merely the opportunity he needed to spend all his time working as an adventurer and writer.

Doc Ford Books into Movies

In 2014, talk was rife of the Doc Ford books being turned into a television series. However, excited as Randy Wayne White was about this prospect, CBS passed on the proposed series.

White admitted that he wasn’t surprised, seeing as his books have been optioned for potential adaptations before and the projects have failed to gain ground. The show would have been based on the novel ‘Captiva’.

Best Doc Ford Books

The Doc Ford series has been a force to contend with in the crime/thriller genre for decades, with some of the best books in the series including the following:

The Heat Islands: Marvin Rios is dead. However, no one will shed a tear for him because he was Sanibel Island’s most hated man. Doc Ford comes across his body while poling his skiff along the flat copper sea.

While Rios’ death is no loss to the Marine Biologist and former secret operative, Doc Ford isn’t about to sit around and watch as the sweetest person on Sanibel Island is framed for the murder.

Doc rushes into the fray to save his friend.

One of this book’s biggest strengths is the way Randy Wayne White describes life on the water and in Florida. The antagonist is also deliciously terrible. The mystery is also quite strong and actually drives this novel, though some aspects are predictable.

The Mangrove Coast: Doc Ford spent some time in Vietnam with the Special Forces. Now the daughter of one of his war buddies, a seductive lady, needs help locating her mother who vanished in South America.

Doc Ford’s journey to find her drags him through Columbia to Panama in search of a vile enemy.

This book’s biggest weakness is the slow pacing. It takes a while for things to get interesting. There are also very few characters that are likable.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Hannah Smith” Series by Randy Wayne White follows a powerful Lady in Florida by the names of Hannah Smith. With the blood of generations of other strong women in her veins, Hannah’s life is often complicated by her desire to aid the downtrodden.

In the “Hawker” series, James Hawker took extreme measures to put a dangerous terrorist down, and it lost him his badge. Now he is a vigilante waging his own personal war on crime.

What Is The Next Book in The Doc Ford Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Doc Ford Series. The newest book is One Deadly Eye and was released on January, 2nd 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *