Hawker Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Hawker is a series of action adventure novels written by Randy Wayne White. New fans of White might be unaware of the Hawker series because he actually released those books under the name Carl Ramm, a pseudonym.

Get notified when Carl Ramm releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Hawker Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Florida Firefight (By: Carl Ramm) 1984 Description / Buy
2 L.A. Wars 1984 Description / Buy
3 Chicago Assault 1984 Description / Buy
4 Deadly in New York 1984 Description / Buy
5 Houston Attack 1985 Description / Buy
6 Vegas Vengeance 1985 Description / Buy
7 Detroit Combat (By: Carl Ramm) 1986 Description / Buy
8 Terror in D.C. 1986 Description / Buy
9 Denver Strike (By: Carl Ramm) 2015 Description / Buy
10 Atlanta Extreme (By: Carl Ramm) 2015 Description / Buy
11 Operation Norfolk (Short Story) (By: Carl Ramm) 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The books are some of White’s earliest work and it shows. They have been criticized for not being quite as polished as White’s other works. They are also a little simplistic, devoid of complex plotting and instead focusing on the thrills.

However, they still have a decent following of fans who appreciate the action and adventure aspects of White’s writing.

The Hawkers series centers on James Hawker. Hawker was once a Chicago Cop and he was pretty competent at his job. However, as revealed in Florida Firelight, the first book in the Hawker series, everything changed during a hostage situation.

A terrorist was threatening to kill twelve children; James watched the situation unfold through the scope of his sniper. He could have taken the terrorist down at any time but he was yet to receive permission to take the shot.

When the terrorist killed two of his hostages, James took action and ended the madman’s life, and in the process lost his career.

The Hawker books are not about James Hawker the Cop but James Hawker the Vigilante. Even in the gloom of his dead career, James finds a silver lining when he encounters a generous benefactor, an individual who offers to give James all the financial assistance he requires in order to fight crime across the country.

Hawker is more than happy to accept the offer, becoming a one-man army taking on organized crime wherever he can find it. James deals with everything from smuggling rings to vicious gangs.

Randy Wayne White, the author, was born in Ashland in Ohio. Leaving home after high school, Randy tried his hand at a number of careers before settling on writing. He was a farm hand and a telephone lineman at one time, not to mention all the time he spent on the water as a fishing guide.

Best Hawker Books

While people have a tendency to dismiss the Hawker series for being a little on the fluffy side, the novels still have their fans, with some of the best Hawker books including the following:

Denver Strike: James Hawker is a vigilante with a mission. And there is nothing he won’t do to save a family from their deadly pursuers. Lomela was forced to flee from civilization in order to save her children from an enemy determined to use her to get something from her father.

However, they still found her. Luckily for her, James Hawker has her family in his sights and he will make the Rockies bleed before he lets anyone hurt them.

This book is the tenth in the Hawker series. It finds James Hawker taking on a business mogul who cheated his partners out of a silver mine and is now attempting to repeat the process. The book is largely predictable.

Operation Norfolk: Con Ye Cwong is a bad man. Back during the Vietnam War, he did sinister work as part of the secret police. And even though the Vietnam War ended for everyone else, it will never be over for Con who has become rich selling drugs in the United States.

Con’s favorite pastime is getting American soldiers hooked on his poison and breaking them to the point where they will do anything, even reveal classified secrets in order to get a hit.

However, the Arms Dealer isn’t invincible. James knows this and he is determined to take Con down. For James, nothing less than Con’s death will suffice.

The eleventh book in the Hawker series is very typical of Randy Wayne White, heavy on the action but light on complexity. The book has been criticized for being almost fantastical in the way it describes the things James Hawker does with his weapons.

White isn’t particularly accurate when it comes to the guns. But accuracy isn’t the purpose here.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Warriors” Series by Ty Patterson. These books follow the machinations of a group of men that have seen terrible things around the world. Unwilling to seat idly by, this team of righteous warriors decides to finally step into the fray and make things right in a world where justice is all too scarce.

The “James Acton” Series by J. Robert Kennedy follows the adventures of an Archeology Professor who has made it his purpose to keep the wrong people away from highly precious ancient artifacts.

What Is The Next Book in The Hawker Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Hawker Series. The newest book is Operation Norfolk and was released on December, 1st 2015.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *