J.P. Beaumont Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jonas Piedmont Beaumont is the main character in the J.P. Beaumont series by J.A. Lance. The street-tough Beaumont is not your average detective. In the series’ 22 novels and two novellas/short stories, J.P. Beaumont proves himself a valuable crime fighter for Seattle.

Get notified when J.A. Jance releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of J.P. Beaumont Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Until Proven Guilty ( By: J.A. Jance) 1985 Description / Buy
2 Injustice For All ( By: J.A. Jance) 1986 Description / Buy
3 Trial by Fury ( By: J.A. Jance) 1986 Description / Buy
4 Taking the Fifth ( By: J.A. Jance) 1987 Description / Buy
5 Improbable Cause ( By: J.A. Jance) 1988 Description / Buy
6 A More Perfect Union ( By: J.A. Jance) 1988 Description / Buy
7 Dismissed with Prejudice ( By: J.A. Jance) 1989 Description / Buy
8 Minor in Possession ( By: J.A. Jance) 1990 Description / Buy
9 Payment In Kind ( By: J.A. Jance) 1991 Description / Buy
10 Without Due Process ( By: J.A. Jance) 1992 Description / Buy
11 Failure to Appear ( By: J.A. Jance) 1993 Description / Buy
12 Lying in Wait ( By: J.A. Jance) 1994 Description / Buy
13 Name Withheld ( By: J.A. Jance) 1996 Description / Buy
14 Breach Of Duty ( By: J.A. Jance) 1999 Description / Buy
15 Birds of Prey (By: J.A. Jance) 2001 Description / Buy
16 Partner in Crime (By: J.A. Jance) 2002 Description / Buy
17 Long Time Gone ( By: J.A. Jance) 2005 Description / Buy
18 Justice Denied ( By: J.A. Jance) 2007 Description / Buy
19 Fire and Ice (By: J.A. Jance) 2009 Description / Buy
20 Betrayal of Trust ( By: J.A. Jance) 2011 Description / Buy
21 Second Watch ( By: J.A. Jance) 2013 Description / Buy
22 Ring In the Dead (Short Story) ( By: J.A. Jance) 2013 Description / Buy
23 Stand Down (Short Story) ( By: J.A. Jance) 2015 Description / Buy
24 Dance of the Bones (By: J.A. Jance) 2015 Description / Buy
25 Still Dead (Short Story) ( By: J.A. Jance) 2017 Description / Buy
26 Proof of Life ( By: J.A. Jance) 2017 Description / Buy
27 Sins of the Fathers ( By: J.A. Jance) 2019 Description / Buy
28 Nothing to Lose (By: J.A. Jance) 2022 Description / Buy
29 Den of Iniquity (By: J.A. Jance) 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The detective’s private life and demeanor provides an interesting angle to the series. He is 6’ 3” tall, divorced but wealthy. Although J.A Lance paints him as a tough guy, it is easy to not get a sense of his masculinity through the initial descriptions of him by Lance. Most times, we see J.P Beaumont running a dishwasher and a washing machine, for instance.

Nonetheless, as Beaumont pursues the bad guys in these crime thrillers, he gets distracted by hot women once in a while.

From murdered kids, family men to elderly women, Beaumont has witnessed more horrors than most people from Seattle would ever imagine. His determination drives him from case to case with a resolve that can only match the criminal intent of his suspects.

In the first release of the J.P. Beaumont series – Until Proven Guilty, the detective is up against a murderous and fanatic religious group. In this 1985 novel, Lance also shows us how even the most skilled of detectives can falter when they lusting after a hot blonde.

It’s not long before readers got wind of Beaumont tactics. Lance’s 1986 follow-up – Trial by Fury – endeared J.P. Beaumont to Mystery/Detective fans as the book went on to get a nomination for the Anthony Award.

Yet because of the scope of the detectives exploits, Lance produced two novellas; Ring in the Dead and Stand Down, in 2013 and 2015 consecutively. The two works were an indicator of how the decades’ worth of police experience could make J.P. Beaumont such a captivating character.


The J.P. Beaumont series first came into prominence when the 1986 novel – Trial by Fury – got a nomination for the 1987 Anthony Award in the Paperback Original category. The novel had just the right ingredients of a suspense thriller: murder, vengeance and the extremes of love and hate. More interestingly though, it is also the first time in the series that J.P. Beaumont does not fall in love with a murderous woman.

It however took J.A. Lance more than twenty years to get another book in her Beaumont series awarded. The nineteenth installment, Fire and Ice, released in 2009 again saw J.P. Beaumont going after deranged murders. In the process, the detective even got to reignite some romance with a fellow law enforcement officer from Arizona. Fire and Ice contained just the right mix of violence and romance to earn an award for the 2009 Publishers Weekly’s starred review.

The latest novel in the J.P. Beaumont series – Dance of the Bones – won the award for the 2015 Publishers Weekly’s starred review. It is the twenty-second book by Lance documenting the detectives exploits. In it, we meet a retired detective (Brandon Walker), who calls up Beaumont to help him catch a cold-blooded killer.


There are two novels in the Beaumont series that have attracted a cult following, i.e. Long Time Gone and Second Watch.

Long Time Gone: Long Time Gone was released in 2005 and brought together some of the best aspects of Beaumont’s detective work. The novel follows J.P. Beaumont as he goes back to solve a half-century-old homicide case. And in keeping true to Lance’s style, Beaumont faces multiple conspiracies and complications brought about by romance.

A Second Watch: Yet it’s in the 2013 novel, a Second Watch, where Lance finally cements her mettle as a suspense thriller author. While J.P. Beaumont struggles with old age, the author uses the opportunity to weave a powerful and dramatic narrative about the detective’s past.


The “Kinsey Millhone” series by Sue Grafton has is popular with J.P. Beaumont’s fans. Like Beaumont, Kinsey has extraordinary detective skills. She however veers off into private practice an investigator compared to Beaumont who serves in Seattle’s police force for decades.

Readers captivated by the suspense and mystery of detective work in large cities also love the “Alexandra Cooper” series by Linda Fairstein. The books follow Alexandra’s work as an Assistant DA in New York. The series narrates the same kind of violence and intrigue that Lance covers so well in the J.P Beaumont series.

What Is The Next Book in The J.p. Beaumont Series?

The next book in the The J.p. Beaumont Series by J.A. Jance is Den of Iniquity and will be released on September, 10th 2024.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *