Captain Rawson Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Captain Rawson is a series of historical action-adventure novels written by Edward Marston. Captain Rawson is also the primary protagonist of the series.

Get notified when Edward Marston releases a new book at

Order of Captain Rawson Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Soldier of Fortune ( By: Edward Marston) 2008 Description / Buy
2 Drums of War ( By: Edward Marston) 2008 Description / Buy
3 Fire and Sword ( By: Edward Marston) 2009 Description / Buy
4 Under Siege ( By: Edward Marston) 2010 Description / Buy
5 A Very Murdering Battle ( By: Edward Marston) 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

By the time Edward Marston wrote the Captain Rawson series, he had already garnered a reputation for works like the Elizabethan Theater series and the Domesday Book series, both of which set him apart for his ability to weave tales set several centuries in Europe’s past.

The Captain Rawson series does not differ that drastically from Marston’s other works. It takes readers back to the 1700s and introduces them to Daniel Rawson, a young captain in the British Army.

The Rawson novels are set during the Spanish War of Succession. The Earl of Marlborough is commander in chief of the Queen’s forces and it is his job to secure Britain’s borders.

Daniel Rawson initially appears to be just another cog in the Earl’s war machine. But it quickly becomes clear that there is more to the young soldier than meets the eye. An adventurer and a spy, Rawson proves to be an invaluable asset to the war effort.

Soldier of Fortune, the first book in the series, finds Rawson undertaking a journey that will see him repel a contingent of French soldiers. The subsequent novels find him taking on even more dangerous missions, such as going behind enemy lines to rescue a prisoner and his daughter.

Rawson is a highly resourceful operative. However, he is also a charmer and that doesn’t always serve him as well as he would like. Rawson has a way with women. He knows how to bend them to his will, and a lot of the trouble the captain encounters can be imputed to his penchant for indulging in his passions whenever the opportunity arises.

Each new book in the Captain Rawson series finds the intrepid hero chasing after a new girl. Though, when push comes to shove, Rawson isn’t afraid to make whatever sacrifices are necessary to get the job done.

The majority of the Rawson series revolves around the military campaigns of the Duke of Marlborough. The French and the Dutch are a recurring enemy throughout the novels.

Rawson spends the series running around on errands for Marlborough. Over time, Edward Marston tries to explore the manner in which Daniel Rawson’s missions change him.

Best Captain Rawson Books

While fans of Marston have praised this series for its historical depth and intriguing approach to storytelling, others think the books are a little flat, with some of the best titles in the series including:

Under Siege: Captain Daniel Rawson has seen and survived more battles than most. But now he must prepare to undertake his most tasking challenge yet. The officer has been ordered to plant a foothold further inside French territories by sieging Lille.

The mission won’t be easy. Rawson doesn’t know whether or not he can depend on the Marlborough, not when the Duke is so busy fighting back against those elements in England who wish to see him fall.

That isn’t even taking into account the turmoil at home. Rawson is determined to keep the attractive Amalia Janssen from his rival, this as he contemplates having to save his colleague from a ruthless enemy.

Daniel Rawson has faced difficult odds before. But his latest challenge raises the stakes to a whole new level.

A Very Murdering Battle: 1709 promised an end to the war. Louis XIV had little choice in the matter. Europe was in the grip of a horrific winter and all the starvation and death meant that he couldn’t really stop the mutinies and desertions.

When Captain Daniel Rawson goes to The Hague to do his part as an interpreter to encourage talk of peace, he is frustrated when he is met with signs of failure. As the discussions begin to collapse and talks of a resurgence of the war become rife, Rawson takes his bloodiest mission yet from the Duke of Marlborough.

Other Book Series You May Like

You may enjoy the “Charles Hayden” Series by Sean Thomas Russell. This series takes place in the 1700s. It follows the exploits of an extremely talented naval officer whose mixed heritage and lack of connections find him assigned the HMS Themis, a frigate under the command of a brutal and cowardly captain.

Charles Saunders Hayden must survive mutiny and war.

Be sure to check out the “Thomas Hill” Series by Andrew Swanston. Thomas Hill is a mathematician with great knowledge of codes and ciphers. Thomas’ peaceful days as a bookshop owner in 1643 end when the King’s cryptographer dies and he is dragged into the murky waters of English politics.

What Is The Next Book in The Captain Rawson Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Captain Rawson Series. The newest book is A Very Murdering Battle and was released on November, 28th 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *