Edward Marston Books

Edward Marston is a pen name that author Keith Miles uses. He writes historical fiction and mystery novels. He turned to writing fiction in the eighties, and by the year 1986, he published his first novel (which was called “Bullet Hole”). It was the first in a series about a professional golfer that becomes an amateur detective. The bulk of the work that Keith Miles uses, have been published under the Edward Marston name.

Order of The Railway Detective Series

Order of Mountjoy Memoirs Series

# Read Title Published
1 Queen and Country 1985
2 Coming of Age 1985
3 The Honourable Member 1986

Order of Edward Marston Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published
1 Crime Archive (Short Story) 2008

Order of Edward Marston Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published
1 Murder, Ancient And Modern 2005

Order of Dan Hawker Series

# Read Title Published
1 Touch Play 1991
2 Stone Dead 1991

Order of Captain Rawson Series

# Read Title Published
1 Soldier of Fortune 2008
2 Drums of War 2008
3 Fire and Sword 2009
4 Under Siege 2010
5 A Very Murdering Battle 2011

Order of Merlin Richards Series

# Read Title Published
1 Murder in Perspective 1997
2 Saint's Rest 1999

Order of Action Scene Series

# Read Title Published
1 Bushranger (Short Story) 1987
2 Skydive (Short Story) 1987
3 Seabird (Short Story) 1987

Order of Christopher Redmayne Series

# Read Title Published
1 The King's Evil 1999
2 The Amorous Nightingale 2000
3 The Repentant Rake 2001
4 The Frost Fair 2003
5 The Parliament House 2006
6 The Painted Lady 2007

Order of Elizabethan Theater Series

Order of Dillman & Masefield Series

Order of Alan Saxon Series

# Read Title Published
1 Bullet Hole 1986
2 Double Eagle 1987
3 Green Murder 1990
4 Bermuda Grass 2002
5 Honolulu Play-Off 2004
6 Flagstick 2012

Order of Domesday Series

Order of Bow Street Rivals Series

Order of American Revolution Series

# Read Title Published
1 Saratoga 2005
2 Valley Forge 2006

Order of City Hospital Series

# Read Title Published
1 Flames 1995
2 Fever 1995
3 Emergency 1995
4 Heart Rate 1996
5 Accident 2000
6 Best Shot in the West 2009
7 Coma 2015
8 Target 2015
9 Stress 2015
10 X-ray 2015

Order of Sin Bin Series

# Read Title Published
1 Iggy (Short Story) 1988
2 Melanie (Short Story) 1988
3 Tariq (Short Story) 1989
4 Bev (Short Story) 1989

Order of Home Front Detective Series

# Read Title Published
1 A Bespoke Murder 2011
2 An Instrument of Slaughter 2012
3 Five Dead Canaries 2013
4 Deeds of Darkness 2014
5 Dance of Death 2015
6 The Enemy Within 2016
7 Under Attack 2017

Order of Edward Marston Standalone Novels


# Read Title Published
1 The Sunken Sailor 2004
Print: Print PDF

The name comes from John Marston; who was an Elizabethan playwright. Miles has also written more than forty original plays for theater, radio, and television. He has worked as a director, an actor, and manager of his own professional fringe theater company. Marston has even taught drama in a prison and worked at Pinewood (a film company) as a story editor. Keith Miles was brought up and born in Wales. He studied the subject of Modern History at Oxford and then lectured the subject for three years. Then he became a full-time writer, working freelance.

Under the Edward Marston name, he has written the “Home Front Detective” series, the “Bow Street Rivals”, the “Railway Detective” series, the “Captain Rawson” series, the “Domesday” series, the “Restoration” series, and the “Elizabethan Theatre” series (which is also called the “Nicholas Bracewell” series, its namesake stars). He has also written some short stories and a non fiction book.


“The Roaring Boy” was nominated for an Edgar Award in the best novel in the year 1996.


For those readers looking to get into novels by Edward Marston, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “The Queen’s Head”, “The Merry Devils”, and “The Trip to Jerusalem”.

The Queen’s Head: This is the first novel in the “Elizabethan Theatre” series and was released in the year 1988. In the year 1587, Mary (Queen of Scots) is executed and her head rolls across the platform; it does not have the auburn wig attached anymore. Is this going to end all of the plotting that goes on against Mary’s redheaded cousin, named Elizabeth?

The next year (1588, the year of the Spanish Armada) is a scary time; there is a lot of terror and triumph going on, for all of England (not just the court or the queen). All of this turmoil is seen in the theater, and the galleries of the inns (like London’s “The Queen’s Head”) where the Men of Lord Westfield perform.

After an actor is murdered, the book holder for the company (named Nicholas Bracewell) faces two consequences. As book holder, he has a bigger role than a producer would. He has to get a replacement that will acceptable to the temperamental star of the show (named Lawrence Firethorn). He has to catch the killer of Will Fowler, like he promised Will right as he died.

The Merry Devils: This is the second novel in the “Elizabethan Theatre” series and was released in the year 1989. Nicholas Bracewell, is fresh off succeeding at holding the strained players’ company together. At the same time, a treasonous plot against the queen is about to make “The Queen’s Head” ring with laughter. This is because “The Merry Devils”, a new comedy, is about to premiere.

The gloomy landlord is certain that mischief will be the result of the whole thing. All Nicholas sees is just a harmless comedy that is not going to have real devils come to life, just a pair of actors that are great tumblers. How can it be possible then, that three devils appear on stage during the crucial scene of the show? One of which even looks quite real, disturbingly enough. There is one imp that lies dead, in the deviltry that follows the whole thing.

The Trip to Jerusalem: This is the third novel in the “Elizabethan Theatre” series and was released in the year 1990. London is being taken over by the Black Plague, making the theaters close and the frightened citizens are going to the country. Lord Westfield’s Men choose to go on the road, as it is a safer place to be, and tour the North. Before they are supposed to go, one of the players is murdered.

They travel, this company (managed by Nicholas Bracewell) finds out that Banbury’s Men (Lord Westfield’s Men’s chief rivals) have been stealing their best works. They try to shake Banbury’s Men off, and an actor (named Lawrence Firethorn) later takes them to York. All is revealed here in a performance that is quite thrilling.