Children of the Lamp Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Children of the Lamp is a series of young adult fantasy fiction novels written by Philip Kerr. The books follow the exploits of twin siblings whose lives are forever changed when they discover their supernatural powers.

Get notified when P.B. Kerr releases a new book at

Order of Children Of The Lamp Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Akhenaten Adventure (By: P.B. Kerr) 2004 Description / Buy
2 The Blue Djinn of Babylon (By: P.B. Kerr) 2005 Description / Buy
3 The Cobra King of Kathmandu (By: P.B. Kerr) 2006 Description / Buy
4 The Day of the Djinn Warriors (By: P.B. Kerr) 2007 Description / Buy
5 The Eye of the Forest (By: P.B. Kerr) 2008 Description / Buy
6 The Five Fakirs of Faizabad (By: P.B. Kerr) 2010 Description / Buy
7 The Grave Robbers of Genghis Khan (By: P.B. Kerr) 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

John and Philippa Gaunt thought they were ordinary. Sure, their mother was strangely gifted and their two dogs had a tendency to act outside the norm. But for the most part, neither John nor Philippa questioned their luxurious life in New York.

Then their wisdom teeth appeared and things took an interesting turn. During the procedure to remove their teeth, John and Philippa were visited by their uncle Nimrod in a dream that was too vivid not to be real.

From Nimrod, John and Philippa learned that they came from a long line of djinn. That meant that they had access to great magical powers. It also meant that they had a responsibility to stand guard against those forces of evil that sought to bring chaos and destruction.

Suddenly burdened by a load that no 12-year-old should ever carry, the twins were fortunate to have their uncle Nimrod in their corner. Not only would he train them to use their powers but he would also guide them through the mythical world of the djinn with its monsters and demons.

The Children of the Lamp series tends to shock fans of Philip Kerr. Kerr is best known for Bernie Gunther, a series of harsh, cynical, hard-boiled crime fiction novels. He has garnered a reputation for creating cold, indifferent anti-heroes.

So the fact that he eventually changed his tune at some point during his career and sat down to produce fiction for teens and young adults often comes as a surprise to fans of the Gunther novels.

People who are well acquainted with his earlier work will tell you that the author struggled to make the transition. He had to learn to write for younger readers. That meant changing his pacing and replacing the cool detachment rife in the Bernie Gunther books with the warm passion that young readers flock towards in the books they read.

The Akhenaten Adventure, the first novel in the Children of the Lamp series is a stark representation of Kerr’s struggle to switch tones and to write the sort of adventurous tale that might appeal to less jaded readers.

Over time, though, even his harshest critics will tell you that he eventually finds his stride. The Children of the Lamp books tell simple stories that follow Kerr’s 12-year-old twins as they masters the powers they must use to protect the forces of good.

As Djinn, they can do anything. However, their powers are fueled by their life force and there is a steep price to be paid for every lavish wish they grant. They must find a way to overcome insurmountable odds without losing everything they hold dear.

Along the way, they are introduced to the various tribes, communities, and politics of the Djinn.

Children of the Lamp Books into Movies

Dreamworks bought the film rights to this book series with the intention of having Nina Jacobson produce a movie. Dreamworks eventually pulled out, paving the way for Paramount and Disney to move forward with a potential adaptation.

Best Children of the Lamp Books

These novels spend a lot of time exploring the themes of loyalty and family, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Akhenaten Adventure: When John and Philippa discover their true nature as Djinn, their uncle Nimrod takes them in and shows them how to use their newfound abilities. They will need every weapon in their arsenal if they are to find the tomb of a monstrous pharaoh.

The Blue Djinn of Babylon: After discovering their true identities as Djinn and mastering their powers, John and Philippa successfully battled an evil Djinn in Cairo. Now that they have returned home, they must secure Solomon’s Grimoire, a book of immense power.

When the Grimoire goes missing, John and Philippa attempt to retrieve it, unaware that they have just waltzed into a trap.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out “The Inheritance Cycle” Series by Christopher Paolini. Eragon is a simple farm boy who stumbles upon a mysterious egg. A dragon eventually hatches from the egg, a development that draws the attention of King Galbatorix, an evil tyrant with a dragon of his own.

You may also like “His Dark Materials” Series by Philip Pullman. Lyra is a 12-year-old girl. She saw something she shouldn’t have. Now, along with her daemon, she is about to undertake an adventure that will drag her across the multiverse.

What Is The Next Book in The Children Of The Lamp Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Children Of The Lamp Series. The newest book is The Grave Robbers of Genghis Khan and was released on January, 11th 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *