Chronicles of Brother Cadfael Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Cadfael Series is a series of mystery and historical fiction novels written by Ellis Peters, a renowned English author. This book series follows one, Brother Cadfael, a monk who joined the cloister during his 40’s. The Chronicles of Brother Cadfael has been set between the year 1135 and the year 1150, during the anarchy. The first installment in the Chronicles of Brother Cadfael mystery series, A Morbid Taste for Bones was published in the year 1977. The series eventually concluded in the year 1994, with the last book in the series being Brother Cadfael’s Penance.

Order of Chronicles of Brother Cadfael Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Morbid Taste for Bones ( By: Ellis Peters) 1977 Description / Buy
2 One Corpse Too Many ( By: Ellis Peters) 1979 Description / Buy
3 Monk's Hood ( By: Ellis Peters) 1980 Description / Buy
4 Saint Peter's Fair ( By: Ellis Peters) 1981 Description / Buy
5 The Leper Of St. Giles ( By: Ellis Peters) 1981 Description / Buy
6 The Virgin in the Ice ( By: Ellis Peters) 1982 Description / Buy
7 The Sanctuary Sparrow ( By: Ellis Peters) 1983 Description / Buy
8 The Devil's Novice ( By: Ellis Peters) 1983 Description / Buy
9 Dead Man's Ransom ( By: Ellis Peters) 1984 Description / Buy
10 The Pilgrim of Hate ( By: Ellis Peters) 1984 Description / Buy
11 An Excellent Mystery ( By: Ellis Peters) 1985 Description / Buy
12 The Raven in the Foregate ( By: Ellis Peters) 1986 Description / Buy
13 The Rose Rent ( By: Ellis Peters) 1986 Description / Buy
14 The Hermit of Eyton Forest ( By: Ellis Peters) 1987 Description / Buy
15 The Confession of Brother Haluin ( By: Ellis Peters) 1988 Description / Buy
16 A Rare Benedictine ( By: Ellis Peters) 1988 Description / Buy
17 The Heretic's Apprentice ( By: Ellis Peters) 1989 Description / Buy
18 The Potter's Field ( By: Ellis Peters) 1989 Description / Buy
19 The Summer of the Danes ( By: Ellis Peters) 1991 Description / Buy
20 The Holy Thief ( By: Ellis Peters) 1992 Description / Buy
21 Brother Cadfael's Penance ( By: Ellis Peters) 1994 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Chronicles of Brother Cadfael Awards

None of the books in the Chronicles of Brother Cadfael has been nominated for any major literary award.

Chronicles of Brother Cadfael Books into Movies

The Cadfael book series has been adapted for television by ITV and to radio by media powerhouse, BBC.

Best Chronicles of Brother Cadfael Books

A Morbid Taste for Bones: Brother Cadfael is not only intelligent, but he is also a level header, practical and a schemer as well. Cadfael came exceedingly late in a monastery after a life that was action packed, which included a stint in the crusades. To Cadfael, the Monastery is some sort of retirement for him. Upon his arrival, Brother Cadfael was posted in the Herbarium, where Brother Columbanus and Brother John assist him, two youngsters. Prior Robert is Abbey’s administrator. Robert is not only vain but also highly ambitious. From time to time, Robert is looking for more saintly relics to add glory to the Abbey as well as to himself. Thus, Roberts looks towards Wales a place where the holy men and women had been exceedingly common. While on the way, Brother Columbanus gets a vision. The group settles on Winifred, Wales. The Abbot sends a delegation to get bones.

Together with an interpreter, Brother Cadfael becomes the first person to leave. With that said, whenever Brother Cadfael is not solving the crime, he normally assumes the role of a matchmaker, in the process assist various young people to find happiness, and love as well. The role that Cadfael assumes is assisted by a generosity of spirit, a sense of humor and a wry of religious realism. Furthermore, he also refers to memories of happiness with women when he was still a young man. Overall, A Morbid Taste for Bones is a well-written cozy historical. Despite the fact that the mystery is fairly obvious, the book is pleasant enough while the characters are fleshy enough. By reading this book, the reader will be able to get some interesting insights into the 12th Century Wales and England, particularly into the religious life.

One Corpse Too Many: The second book in the Chronicles of Brother Cadfael. This narrative is set against a backdrop of the siege in Shrewsbury, Castle in the year 1138. During this period, two royal cousins were at war, Maud and Stephen for the England throne. Amid the conflicting royalties at this period, Cadfael tries to do the right thing; his task is to find out who had used the executions that the king had ordered to cover for their crime. Apart from Cadfael, this story also introduces the readers to one Hugh Beringar, who was going to enable Brother Cadfael participation in a majority of the future investigations. Brother Cadfael has undoubtedly entered the ranks of the great fiction detectives alongside Lord Peter Wimsey and Sherlock Holmes. However, these stories are more than just any murder mystery. Ellis Peters resided in Shrewsbury, England a region where Brother Cadfael monastery is located.

With that said, Cadfael is an exceedingly complex man. After serving as a soldier, Brother Cadfael eventually became a monk. Because he has already lived a full life, Cadfael wants a quiet life. Furthermore, he also has a strong sense of justice and right and also refuses to compromise on some of these things. He has also picked up lots of knowledge along the way as well as logical analysis.

Other Book Series You May Like

“Chief Inspector Gamache” is another highly entertaining from the number one Globe and New York Times bestselling author, Louis Penny. A Great Reckoning is the 12th installment in the Chief Inspector Gamache book series. Just like a majority of her works, A Great Reckoning is an exceeding pleasure read and also a set up read as well. With that said, if you are looking for a deep, grand and magical read, then you should read the Great Inspector Gamache book series.

What Is The Next Book in The Chronicles Of Brother Cadfael Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Chronicles Of Brother Cadfael Series. The newest book is Brother Cadfael's Penance and was released on January, 1st 1994.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *