City Hospital Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

“The City Hospital” series is a series of medical drama novels by Edward Marston real name Keith Miles. The first novel of the series was New Blood that was published in 1995 to much critical acclaim. After attaining much success with the first few novels, Marston went on to publish nine more titles culminating in “Heart Rate” the tenth novel in the series in 1996.

Get notified when Keith Miles releases a new book at

Order of City Hospital Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 New Blood ( By: Keith Miles) 1995 Description / Buy
2 Flames ( By: Keith Miles) 1995 Description / Buy
3 Fever ( By: Keith Miles) 1995 Description / Buy
4 Emergency ( By: Keith Miles) 1995 Description / Buy
5 Coma ( By: Keith Miles) 1995 Description / Buy
6 Target ( By: Keith Miles) 1995 Description / Buy
7 Stress ( By: Keith Miles) 1996 Description / Buy
8 High Rise (By: Keith Miles) 1996 Description / Buy
9 Heart Rate ( By: Keith Miles) 1996 Description / Buy
10 X-ray ( By: Keith Miles) 1996 Description / Buy
11 Accident ( By: Keith Miles) 2000 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series of novels is a medical drama set in a fictional hospital in San Francisco where five medical students are in residency. Karlene is a determined, calm, and wise girl that always listens to anyone in trouble. Bella is a go-getter that is often getting into other people’s business. Gordy is confident and handsome boy that is often fighting with Bella. Suzie is an insecure but sweet girl that often leans on the driven Mark who wants to be the best resident nurse ever.

In “New Blood” the first novel of the series Bella, Gordy, Karlene, Mark and Suzy are introduced as medical students in a busy hospital where all kinds of interesting things happen. Suzie is witness to the theft of car from her bathroom window but is unable to help prevent the crime. She is devastates to learn that the car thief has been involved in a terrible accident and it is now up to her friends to try to get her spirits up.

What follows is an excellent story as the four friends try to cheer up their friend while things spiral out of control in her personal and professional life. A patient is getting too close and she does not know how to deal with such situations compounded with the fact that she is dealing with her own demons. It is an excellent story that shows just why Keith is such an all-round young adult fiction writer.


Fever: The third novel of the series is an exhilarating novel in the series that has become one of its most popular. The city hospital where the five friends work gets into the headlines when a deadly virus is reported, with the hospital as Ground Zero.

The city administrators had planned to keep it all a secret but the news is now all over the press with Gordy suspected to be the leak. Meanwhile, Suzie made friends with a sweet looking woman but is now not so sure if she is the type that would kidnap a child. There is so much strain at the hospital that Bella thinks it is only a matter of time before one of them cracks under the strain.

Flames: The second novel in another of the series’ best. The novel continues the story of the five friends Gordy, Mark, Bella, Karlene, and Suzie that are also roommates. Bella and Mark have been assigned to the psychiatric ward and are waiting forward to it. Gordy is having issues with an ex, and Bella cares too much for her patients, and Suzie has issues with her weight.

Meanwhile, there was a fire and Karlene was known to some of the victims which leaves her shaken. All of the students are dealing with a lot of stress, but fortunately they will do everything to help each other through their struggles.

New Blood: The first novel of the series is an enthralling book in the series with some of the most intense roller-coasters of emotion. In the novel, casualty just admitted a hit-and-run accident who turns out to be young child that had been playing outside her home. Suzie Hembrow the hospital radiographer in training had been witness to the incident as she had seen it all from her bedroom window, and even knew who was driving the car. But even though she knows the hit-and-run driver, she is terrified of coming forward to testify.


If you liked the “City Hospital” series of novels you will love the “Dr. Marissa Blumenthal” series by Robin Cook. These are light medical dramas featuring the adventures of the Atlanta Georgia based physician Dr. Marissa Blumenthal an investigative specialist at the CDC.

Fans of the “City Hospital” series also love the “Brier Hospital” series of novels by Lawrence W. Gold. The series of novels tell the stories of the doctors and patients of the San Francisco based Brier Hospital.

What Is The Next Book in The City Hospital Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The City Hospital Series. The newest book is Accident and was released on June, 5th 2000.

1 thought on “City Hospital”

  1. I’ve read the first book in this series and I enjoyed it. It doesn’t stick out a lot in my mind as the writing was decent, but not anything super special or out of the norm. However, I will say that the book, and I imagine the whole series, is very readable as you follow the lives of friends as they go through the trials and tribulations of starting their careers. It reminds me of FRIENDS or One Tree Hill or something like that; I think I’ll continue reading the series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *