Clandestine Operations Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Top Secret is the first book in the Clandestine book series by the masterful writer of historical fiction, W.E.B Griffin. W.E.B Griffin has covered the Police, Marines, WWII and in this book, Cold War. Another great book in the Clandestine series is the Assassination Option which is the second installment in this series. As the second book, it picks up from where the first book left off and it is all in the beginning stages of CIA in Europe and the ending stages of World War II. It builds on the characters that the author had created in the first installment. The storyline in this book includes the posting of Reinhard Gelman, a German General in Pullach. It also includes the attempts of rescuing a Russian woman together with her children. The main characters in this book include Captain Cronley.

Order of Clandestine Operations Series By: W.E.B. Griffin, William E. Butterworth IV

# Read Title Published Details
1 Top Secret (By: W.E.B. Griffin, William E. Butterworth IV) 2014 Description / Buy
2 The Assassination Option (By: W.E.B. Griffin, William E. Butterworth IV) 2014 Description / Buy
3 Curtain of Death (By: W.E.B. Griffin, William E. Butterworth IV) 2016 Description / Buy
4 Death at Nuremberg (By: W.E.B. Griffin, William E. Butterworth IV) 2017 Description / Buy
5 The Enemy of My Enemy (By: W.E.B. Griffin, William E. Butterworth IV) 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Just as it is the case with the protagonist in any of Griffin’s novel, Cronley not only has problems with authority but also his roles in the main events. If you are an ardent fan of the author, then you are going to buy this novel. The Clandestine Operations series is an excellent read from W.E.B Griffin that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Clandestine Operations Awards

None of the books in this series have been nominated for any major award.

Clandestine Operations Books into Movies

Despite performing extremely well, none of the books in this series have been adapted into screenplay.

Best Clandestine Operations Books

One of the top performing books in the Clandestine Operations series is the Assassination Option. It is the second book in this book series which features Captain James Cronley with the other set of characters who were introduced in the first book. In this second chapter, Cronley is now in charge of the Directorate of Central Intelligence also known as the C.I.A. The author introduces the reader to new characters such as Ostrowski, who is a Polish Air Force veteran and Seven-K, a Russian triple agent who spied for Abwehr Ost. One of the things that you are going to love about Griffins novels is the way in which he slips the historical facts into the storyline like the Katyn Forest Massacre and the Manhattan Project Secrecy.

A lot of suspense has been provided by the author, through the introduction of Colonel Sergei, a Russian agent of the NKGB. Colonel Sergei is turned and then taken to Argentina. At this point, the excitement builds up as he tries to sneak his family out of Russia. If you are a fan of Griffin’s novels, then you are going to notice that his books are a mixture fiction and fact together with a combination of real people and fictional characters. Furthermore, Griffin also loves to insert at least one or more characters from other series into his books. Freddy Hessinger is one of the fictional characters in this book. He bears close similarity with Henry Kissinger, and many analysts have even argued that he is indeed Henry Kissinger.

Other Book Series You May Like

Like all of Griffin’s military novels, the strength of his books is normally in the successful portrayal of the character and dialogue of military men. The author’s lieutenants do behave like lieutenants while the sergeants do behave like sergeants. The “Brotherhood of War” book series is an excellent read from the author and is a great mixture of dedicated soldiers, out and out incompetents and check collecting spuds.

In this book series, Griffin does an excellent job of painting the picture through the manner in which he describes the tone of voice and the expressions. The Aviators is one of the Installment in the series. In this installment, the author introduces the reader to Johnny Olivier. Olivier is an exceedingly young pilot, who is wounded in Vietnam and returns to stateside so that he can become an aide to General Bellmon. Upon settling down, Olivier begins a difficult romance with Liza Wood, a widow to a pilot whom Oliver used to know. What stands between then is her determination not to marry another serviceman. Olivier is exceedingly smart and likable individual. Apart from Olivier, other characters who make appearances in the novel include George Washington, Craig Lowell, Sandy Felter and the Belmons. While the previous installment, gave us a look into the Congo uprising, this book provides us with a redo of 1964, the year that Olivier served General Bellmon.

What Is The Next Book in The Clandestine Operations Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Clandestine Operations Series. The newest book is The Enemy of My Enemy and was released on December, 11th 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *