Covenant of Muirwood Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Covenant of Muirwood is a series of epic fantasy novels written by Jeff Wheeler. The books follow the exploits of a princess that must save her kingdom from political, religious, and magical strife.

Get notified when Jeff Wheeler releases a new book at

Order of Covenant of Muirwood Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Banished of Muirwood ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2015 Description / Buy
2 The Ciphers of Muirwood ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2015 Description / Buy
3 The Void of Muirwood ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2015 Description / Buy
4 The Lost Abbey ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Maia is the daughter of the King of Comoros. And as her father’s only child, when Maia is first introduced to readers in The Banished of Muirwood, the first novel in the series, Maia is the most important person in her father’s world.

Maia should have lived a happy and privileged life free of fear and challenge. But then her father decided he needed a male heir and everything changed. Comoros tradition does not allow women to inherit, so it was inevitable that Maia’s father would eventually take steps to acquire a suitable heir to take the throne once he died.

Maia did not think the development would change her father so drastically. It wasn’t long after that she was cast out of her father’s court and then eventually banished from the kingdom, with her father not only ending his marriage with Maia’s mother but also taking a new wife.

By the time the series really kicks things off, Maia has carved out a new life for herself as a servant in her father’s enemy’s camp. As such, she is more than a little shocked when her father summons her and charges her with locating a magical volume that could save his kingdom from chaotic magic.

The Covenant of Muirwood novels could be described as high fantasy in that they take readers to a whole new world with its own traditions, culture, religious practices and magical systems.

The series primarily explores Maia’s journey as she transforms from a withdrawn, uncertain, anxious little girl to a strong, wise and independent Queen. The world that Maia inhabits does not allow women to learn to read and write, and neither does it permit them to learn magic.

Maia overcomes these restrictions by finding a sympathetic teacher who secretly tutors her in the ways of magic, thus allowing her to rise up to the occasion and save the kingdom from a dangerous enemy at a time when all seems lost.

Maia spends a lot of time at Muirwood Abbey, a place where women like her can find safety and peace as they are taught to read, write and use magic, arts that their society strictly forbids them from learning.

When Maia isn’t learning magic at the Abbey, she’s fighting to either reconcile with her father or stop his megalomania from bringing the kingdom to ruin. There are also elements of love and romance at play, not to mention political intrigue as the warring between the seven kingdoms exposes them to the dangers of powerful magical threats.

Best Covenant of Muirwood Books

The Covenant of Muirwood books have been criticized for their weak, whiny heroine and plodding pace; though others believe that Jeff Wheeler does an amazing job of fleshing out his world, with some of the best books in the series including:

Ciphers of Muirwood: Princess Maia has finally found peace at Muirwood Abbey, a place where women like her can learn magic. Abandoned and eventually banished by her father, Maia wants to form new relationships, master her powers and create a brighter future for herself.

Her prospects begin to dim when she realizes that her destiny might be far darker. This is on top of the turmoil that her father and estranged husband’s announced visit to the Abbey has created in Maia.

Void of Muirwood: All seemed lost when Maia’s father finally caught her. But a rebellion upended his plans and placed the princess on the throne. Now Queen, Maia must navigate an increasingly complicated landscape filled with weakening historical alliances and an impending invasion from a power-hungry neighbor.

It will take all the cunning, connections and resources Maia has gathered thus far to keep her people safe from certain destruction.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another great read is the “Benjamin Ashwood” Series by A.C. Cobble. Benjamin Ashwood is just an ordinary fellow living in an ordinary town. Then some exciting strangers invade his community and drag Ben into a tale filled with violence, magic, and political intrigue.

Many readers also love “The Jester King” Series by K.C. Herbel. Billy is just an ordinary young man running an Inn with his father but he desires to live a life of fantasy and magic. His wish is granted one random night when a murderer tries to take his life and his mother’s magic ring from him.

What Is The Next Book in The Covenant Of Muirwood Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Covenant Of Muirwood Series. The newest book is The Lost Abbey and was released on February, 8th 2016.

1 thought on “Covenant of Muirwood”

  1. As an eclectic reader, I stumbled upon this series by suggestion of my co-worker. I quickly became entranced by the series and suggested it to my book club. I’m happy to say we’ll all be reading the books soon; I can’t wait to discuss them with my friends.

    If you are a fan of fantasy, you have to read one of Wheeler’s series. I recommend this one because it has everything: an epic fantasy world, a complicated yet charming love story, an enticing plot, endearing characters! You will enjoy these books!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *