Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The “Frankenstein” series by Dean Koontz is both a modern update and sequel of Mary Shelley’s “Frankenstein” novel. That being said, the similarities between the two are superficial. It is set in modern day New Orleans, and follows Victor Helios (who is supposed to be Victor Frankenstein, and has survived into the twenty-first century).

Get notified when Dean Koontz releases a new book at

Order of Dean Koontz's Frankenstein Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Prodigal Son (By: Dean Koontz, Kevin J. Anderson) 2005 Description / Buy
2 City of Night (By: Dean Koontz, Ed Gorman) 2005 Description / Buy
3 Dead and Alive ( By: Dean Koontz) 2009 Description / Buy
4 Lost Souls ( By: Dean Koontz) 2009 Description / Buy
5 The Dead Town ( By: Dean Koontz) 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Get notified when Dean Koontz releases a new book at

Order of Dean Koontz's Frankenstein Graphic Novels By: Dean Koontz, Chuck Dixon

# Read Title Published Details
1 Prodigal Son ( By: Chuck Dixon) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Storm Surge ( By: Chuck Dixon) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

He is still creating new life forms for himself; this is while he is trying to overthrow what he calls “The Old Race” (which are really just humans). These new creatures are now made with modern day technology (like synthetic biology). This new race is built from the ground up and can be viewed as bio androids, which are fake humans made out of flesh. Two homicide cops and Frankenstein’s first monster (who is now known as Deucalion, a name the monster gave himself) are opposed to what he is doing. Both Deucalion and Victor has gone through a lot after the events in Shelley’s “Frankenstein”.

The books, though technically from the thriller and mystery genres, also have elements of science fiction, fantasy, and horror. The first three novels in the series form up a trilogy and the series ended after five books; it was supposed to have a second trilogy to it, but book six was later canceled. The first novel was written by Koontz and Kevin J. Anderson, while the second was co-written with Ed Gorman, although the later editions just credit Koontz.


A television movie was made for the USA Network, and was produced by Martin Scorsese.


For those readers looking to get into the “Frankenstein” series by , this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Prodigal Son”, “City of Night”, and “Dead and Alive”.

Prodigal Son: This is the first novel in the “Frankenstein” series and was released in the year 2004. Each city has secrets, but none of them have secrets this terrible. Deucalion is his name, he is covered in tattoos, he came from who knows where; he is a sleight of reality artist that has traveled through the centuries, and has a big secret, one that is worse than even death itself.

He comes to town, right when a serial killer is stalking the streets. This killer selects victims for the humanity that is lacking in himself. Detective Carson O’Connor is cynical, cool, and as tough as she looks. Michael Maddison, her partner, is going to back her up all the way to Hell, which might just be where the case goes. This is due to O’Connor starting to talk about an age old conspiracy, killers that are less and more than human, and a race of beings that is almost immortal.

Soon, it will become clear that she may sound crazy, but the truth is even creepier. Their quarry is not just a homicidal lunatic, but the guy’s crazed maker.

City of Night: This is the second novel in the “Frankenstein” series and was released in the year 2005. These are creatures that think quicker, heal better, and are stronger than any other humans ever created. They have to be destroyed though. Not even Victor Helios (who once was known as Frankenstein) can stop the designed killers that he has loosed on modern day New Orleans to wreak all kinds of havoc.

The only hope, lies with too-human partners (Detectives Michael Maddison and Carson O’Connor) and a one time monster. They race to find out the true depth of an old conspiracy, they will find out about Victor’s new and improved models that have gotten into every part of society in the city and well beyond.

Dead and Alive: This is the third novel in the “Frankenstein” series and was released in the year 2009. A horrible hurricane is about to hit New Orleans and Victor Helios, has set loose his new creatures out into the streets. New Orleans descends into chaos, the killers that he engineered go out of control.

Deucalion’s story started centuries ago, when Victor first tried to build the perfect human, and failed. The whole thing is supposed to end with a big confrontation between builder and damned creature.

First, Deucalion has to destroy a monster that Victor’s malevolent mind could not come up with. It is an indestructible entity that comes right out of mankind’s entire collective nightmare, with only a single purpose: to replace us.

What Is The Next Book in The Dean Koontz's Frankenstein Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Dean Koontz's Frankenstein Series. The newest book is The Dead Town and was released on January, 22nd 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *