Detective Jackson Mystery Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Detective Jackson Mystery series is often categorized as a police procedural. The series follows the exploits of a detective in Eugene, Oregon who solves violent crimes.

Get notified when L J Sellers releases a new book at

Order of Detective Jackson Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Sex Club ( By: L J Sellers) 2007 Description / Buy
2 Secrets to Die for ( By: L J Sellers) 2009 Description / Buy
3 Thrilled to Death ( By: L J Sellers) 2010 Description / Buy
4 Passions of the Dead ( By: L J Sellers) 2010 Description / Buy
5 Dying for Justice ( By: L J Sellers) 2011 Description / Buy
6 Liars, Cheaters, & Thieves ( By: L J Sellers) 2011 Description / Buy
7 Rules of Crime ( By: L J Sellers) 2013 Description / Buy
8 Crimes of Memory ( By: L J Sellers) 2013 Description / Buy
9 Deadly Bonds ( By: L J Sellers) 2014 Description / Buy
10 Wrongful Death ( By: L J Sellers) 2015 Description / Buy
11 Death Deserved ( By: L J Sellers) 2016 Description / Buy
12 A Bitter Dying ( By: L J Sellers) 2017 Description / Buy
13 A Liar's Death ( By: L J Sellers) 2018 Description / Buy
14 A Crime of Hate ( By: L J Sellers) 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Jackson & Dallas Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Black Pill (By: L J Sellers) 2020 Description / Buy
2 Silence of the Dead ( By: L J Sellers) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

When L.J. Sellers, the author, wrote and published The Sex Club in 2007, she had no intention of pursuing a series of suspense thriller police procedurals.

The Sex Club takes readers to a birth control clinic that has just been bombed. Detective Jackson is called upon to investigate that incident and the death of a little girl. From what he learns, the murder victim was a member of a Bible Group whose members freely experimented with sex.

The Sex Club immediately stood apart for many readers when it hit the publishing landscape because of the difficult subjects it tackled, in particular, abortion and homosexuality. Even more intriguing was the fact that Detective Jackson was more of a secondary character.

Instead, the spotlight was primarily occupied by Kera, a nurse at the clinic who brought to Jackson’s attention the fact that the murder and the explosion might be connected. It is unclear when Sellers decided to take her standalone novel and make it the first book in a series but the decision paid off rather well.

The Detective Jackson Mystery series has a pretty dedicated fanbase of readers who appreciate how straightforward the books can be. Jackson, the series protagonist is a man in his forties with an ex-wife with whom he frequently clashes, and a teenage daughter he is determined to care for.

The fact that he is a member of the Eugene Police’s violent crimes unit means that he is repeatedly charged with chasing and catching some of the most demented minds in Oregon.

Jackson is dedicated to his job. His sense of justice and empathy for the victims of violent crimes always drive him to go the extra mile. However, unlike many of his peers in the genre, Jackson does not permit his personal life to suffer as a result of his work.

Jackson always makes an effort to pursue a love life and to ensure that his daughter feels like her father cares for her. In fact, there are readers that have complained that Jackson is a little too normal for their liking.

L.J. Sellers isn’t afraid to tackle controversial topics. The majority of her books are driven by subjects that will make many a reader uncomfortable. The author uses her villains to highlight social issues that she cares about.

However, Sellers’ books are not melodramatic. She doesn’t force conflict. Her heroes and villains all read like very real people dealing with real issues, most of them driven to take extreme actions by situations and occurrences that most readers can relate to.

Best Detective Jackson Mystery Books

The Detective Jackson Mystery books have been criticized for being a little too heavy-handed with their social messages, though many L.J. Sellers fans fervently disregard suggestions that she is too preachy, with some of the best books in the series including:

Dying for Justice: Hector Vargas killed Detective Wade Jackson’s parents a long time ago. The murderer confessed and was incarcerated as a result. But now as his death approaches, Vargas has thrown Wade’s life into chaos.

He has presented evidence proving that not only did he not kill Wade’s parents but dirty cops had a role to play in his incarceration. Now Wade must dip his toes into a past so difficult he had cast it from his mind.

Rules of Crime: Jackson and his ex-wife do not exactly get along. But when his daughter Katie interrupts his vacation with a phone call revealing that Renee might have been kidnapped, Jackson immediately leaps into action.

Meanwhile, Detective Lara Evans must look into the case of a young college student that was brutally assaulted and then left naked at the hospital. As Jackson tries to retrace Renee’s steps with the help of the FBI, Lara looks into the rumors of a secret sorority.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another great read is the “Marty Singer” Series by Matthew Iden. Marty Singer left the DC Homicide department and his career in the police behind to battle cancer. But Murder and Mystery keep drawing him back into the field.

Be sure to check out the “Mercy Kilpatrick” Series by Kendra Elliot. Mercy Kilpatrick was raised off the grid by preppers. But a series of circumstances saw her get shunned by her family. Now an FBI agent, Mercy has returned to Eagle’s Nest to contend with Murders, Mysteries and old grudges.

What Is The Next Book in The Detective Jackson Mystery Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Detective Jackson Mystery Series. The newest book is A Crime of Hate and was released on May, 12th 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *