Dillman & Masefield Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Dillman and Masefield is a series of historical fiction novels that began publication in 1999. The novels follow the exploits of two detectives who solve crimes and mysteries on the open water.

Get notified when Edward Marston releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Dillman & Masefield / Ocean Liner Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Murder on the Lusitania (By: Edward Marston) 1999 Description / Buy
2 Murder on the Mauretania ( By: Edward Marston) 2000 Description / Buy
3 Murder on the Minnesota ( By: Edward Marston) 2002 Description / Buy
4 Murder on the Caronia ( By: Edward Marston) 2003 Description / Buy
5 Murder on the Marmora ( By: Edward Marston) 2004 Description / Buy
6 Murder on the Salsette ( By: Edward Marston) 2005 Description / Buy
7 Murder on the Oceanic (By: Edward Marston) 2006 Description / Buy
8 Murder on the Celtic (By: Edward Marston) 2007 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Dillman and Masefield series is written by Conrad Allen. People that know Edward Marston’s writing style will more than likely observe hints of his signature in these books and possibly even conclude that Conrad Allen is a pen name used by Edward Marston.

In truth, Edward Marston and Conrad Allen are both Pen names used by Keith Miles. Born in 1940 and a former lecturer with a degree in Modern History from Oxford University, Keith started out as a scriptwriter.

He did work for both radio and television for many years before finally becoming a full-time mystery author. Miles’ first couple of books were written under his real name. It wasn’t until 1988 that the author created the Edward Marston Pseudonym and used it to produce historical fiction like the Elizabethan Theater series.

The Conrad Allen pen name came into the picture in 1999, with Keith Miles using it to write and publish the Dillman and Masefield series, and the David Garland books.

Like many of the author’s other works, the Dillman and Masefield books are historical fiction. This time, Conrad Allen takes readers to the early 1900s.

The world is on a knife’s edge. Rumors of conflict are rife and everyone is wary of the Germans. George Porter Dillman is introduced to readers in Murder on the Lusitania, the first book in the series.

Dillman is private investigator traveling on the Lusitania, a cruise ship. However, no one else knows about Dillman’s profession. He was hired by the captain of the Ship to pose as a passenger and use the anonymity to identify, stop, and solve crimes.

Dillman doesn’t expect the work to present much of a challenge. Ships like the Lusitania rarely deal with anything more serious than a pickpocket. The private eye is a little thrown off when an expensive piece of jewelry is stolen and a dead body turns up.

He quickly jumps onto the case, collecting clues, interviewing suspects and taking every possible step to find the perpetrators before the Lusitania arrives at its destination.

It is on the Lusitania that Dillman meets Genevieve Masefield. Dillman is captivated by Masefield from the moment he lays eyes on her. And he struggles to strike a balance between solving the cases on his plate and winning Masefield’s heart.

On her part, Masefield initially dismisses Dillman, and her behavior towards him is unequivocally cold. But as the story progresses, Masefield warms up to Dillman and even assists him in solving the Lusitania case.

In the subsequent novels, Dillman and Masefield join forces. Each new book finds them on a new ship heading for a new destination. They always pose as passengers but they typically focus their efforts on different sections of the ship.

They each work to make new friends and forge connections with the social groups of their choosing, using the information they gather to solve the crimes at hand.

Both detectives play their cards very close to the vest. They have secrets to protect. As the series progresses, they open up to one another and their relationship evolves.

Best Dillman and Masefield Books

Conrad Allen succeeds in transporting readers to the 1900s, immersing them in the culture, lifestyle, and language of the times, with some of the best books in the series including:

Murder on the Lusitania: It is 1907 and George Porter Dillman has boarded the Lusitania on its maiden voyage. Dillman is a private investigator but the ship’s captain told him to go undercover as a passenger.

The strategy pays off when a murder and a theft are orchestrated. Dillman must join forces with an enigmatic woman called Masefield to solve both crimes before the situation escalates.

Murder on the Mauretania: Masefield and Dillman are on the Mauretania on its Maiden voyage from Liverpool in 1907. The private detectives are disguised as passengers and they do what they can to maintain calm when poor weather batters the ship.

When a First Class Passenger is washed overboard, everyone wants to call it an accident. But Dillman and Masefield have reason to believe that it was calculated murder.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Mrs. Jeffries” Series by Emily Brightwell. These books tell the story of a Scotland Yard inspector and the household staff that helps him solve mysteries. They are led in their endeavors by Mrs. Jeffries, the housekeeper.

You may also enjoy the “Wrexford and Sloan Mystery” Series by Andrea Penrose. Lord Wrexford is a wealthy man with a brilliant mind who finds life all too boring. Charlotte Sloane is a widow who publishes scathing political cartoons under a pen name. Together, they solve crimes.

What Is The Next Book in The Dillman & Masefield / Ocean Liner Mysteries Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Dillman & Masefield / Ocean Liner Mysteries Series. The newest book is Murder on the Celtic and was released on February, 6th 2007.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *