Diving Universe Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Diving Universe is a series of science fiction novels written by Kristine Kathryn Rusch. Most people have attempted and largely failed to pin Rusch down. They think they have her figured out because they’ve read her romance novels.

Get notified when Kristine Kathryn Rusch releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Diving Universe Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Diving into the Wreck ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2009 Description / Buy
2 City of Ruins ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2011 Description / Buy
3 Becalmed ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2012 Description / Buy
4 Boneyards ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2012 Description / Buy
5 Skirmishes ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Room of Lost Souls ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2013 Description / Buy
7 Stealth ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2013 Description / Buy
8 Becoming One with the Ghosts ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2013 Description / Buy
9 Strangers at the Room of Lost Souls ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2013 Description / Buy
10 The Application of Hope (Short Story) ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2014 Description / Buy
11 The Falls ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2016 Description / Buy
12 The Runabout ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2017 Description / Buy
13 Searching for the Fleet ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2018 Description / Buy
14 The Renegat ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2019 Description / Buy
15 Escaping Amnthra (Short Story) ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2020 Description / Buy
16 Squishy's Teams (By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2020 Description / Buy
17 Thieves ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2021 Description / Buy
18 Maelstrom (Short Story) (By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2021 Description / Buy
19 The Chase (By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2021 Description / Buy
20 The Court-Martial of the Renegat Renegades ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

But then they stumble upon her serious suspense thrillers and then realize that she is also responsible for the Diving Universe series of science fiction novels, and it is only then that they realize that Kristine Kathryn Rusch is like few other writers in the world.

She has a surprising ability to juggle so many varied genres. Her Diving Universe novels take place five thousand years in the future. Mankind discovered faster than light travel and left the earth a long time ago.

Over the millennia, as new societies took shape in space, the old ways were lost, and so was earth’s culture and technology. When readers meet Boss, Rusch’s heroine in Diving into the Wreck, the first novel in the Diving Universe series, the woman is doing what she can to piece some of her people’s history together.

Boss spends her days exploring derelict spaceships that were, for one reason or another, abandoned in the blackness of space between stars. While Boss does earn a living from her efforts, she primarily dives ships because she wants to learn about the past.

More often than not, when Boss is done with her work, she will bring tourists back to these derelict ships in the hopes that they can learn as she has done and pass their knowledge on to their friends and family.

Boss is a loner. She’s strong and competent. She never tells anyone her name because she’d rather they stayed out of her business. The heroine is secure in who she is and what she can do. And while she has a keen and analytical mind, she isn’t afraid to admit and accept her mistakes.

Boss’ life takes an interesting turn when she discovers an old earth ship. The spacecraft should have been just another artifact waiting to take its place in a museum somewhere. But then Boss discovered a different kind of technology on board; technology so ancient and yet so deadly that, in the wrong hands, it could reshape mankind’s future.

The Diving Universe series follows Boss around as she tries to locate other earth ships and the ancient technology they possess. Her mission brings her into conflict with enemies whose purposes for the technology are not wholly appealing.

The Diving Universe novels are divisive. Many of them are told from the perspective of Boss. And the majority generally feel like multiple novellas which Rusch threw together to form singular novels.

Each novel normally features multiple seemingly disparate stories that eventually feed into a primary story.

Best Diving Universe Books

The Diving Universe series has some of the least romantic novels Kristine Kathryn Rusch has ever written, with some of the best titles in the series including:

Skirmishes: Boss unleashed a lot of chaos when she discovered the dignity vessels. Her life only grew more complicated when she met Cooper, a captain from five thousand years ago.

This book tells two parallel stories involving both Coop and Boss. Coop is looking for answers to questions about a past that is better left untouched. He believes that the Boneyards hold the key to everything he seeks.

But he will need Boss and her crew to first explore the wrecks and, hopefully, put all the pieces together.

The Falls: The Diving Universe has mentioned the Fleet on numerous occasions. Cooper, one of the protagonists was part of the fleet before his stardrive somehow catapulted him into the future.

The Falls is the first novel to center specifically on the fleet. Spinning away from the main Diving Universe story and taking readers to a fleet base that is still active, while this book does provide some insight into the workings of the fleet, it is primarily a murder mystery told from four different perspectives.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another great series to check out is the “Childers Universe” Series by Richard F. Weyward. These books follow the exploits of Jan Childers, a girl who was abandoned, raped and beaten; and then she grew up to become one of the most powerful figures in the history of mankind’s space fleet.

Be sure to check out the “Interstellar Sheriff” Series by Jenny Schwartz as well. Thelma Bach might have graduated from the Galactic Justice Academy at the top of her class, but her poor family background means that the bureaucrats of the Galactic Justice Service will never take her seriously. None of them know how determined she is to subvert expectations and make her mark.

What Is The Next Book in The Diving Universe Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Diving Universe Series. The newest book is The Court-Martial of the Renegat Renegades and was released on June, 6th 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *