Dollanganger Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Virginia Cleo Andrews was born on 6th June 1923 in the town of Portsmouth, Virginia. Andrews is the youngest child of William Andrews, who was a Navy career man who after retirement opened a tool to die business and Liliona Parker who served as a telephone reporter.

Order of Dollanganger Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Flowers in the Attic ( By: V.C. Andrews) 1979 Description / Buy
2 Petals on the Wind ( By: V.C. Andrews) 1980 Description / Buy
3 If There Be Thorns ( By: V.C. Andrews) 1981 Description / Buy
4 Seeds of Yesterday (By: V.C. Andrews) 1984 Description / Buy
5 Garden of Shadows (By: V.C. Andrews) 1986 Description / Buy
6 Christopher's Diary: Secrets of Foxworth (By: V.C. Andrews) 2014 Description / Buy
7 Christopher's Diary: Echoes of Dollanganger (By: V.C. Andrews) 2015 Description / Buy
8 Secret Brother (By: V.C. Andrews) 2015 Description / Buy
9 Beneath the Attic ( By: V.C. Andrews) 2019 Description / Buy
10 Out of the Attic (By: V.C. Andrews) 2020 Description / Buy
11 The Shadows of Foxworth ( By: V.C. Andrews) 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Virginia Cleo Andrews spent her childhood years in the cities of Rochester, New York and Portsmouth, Virginia. Her family eventually returned to Portsmouth, when Virginia was still in high school. While V.C Andrews was still a teenager, she suffered a tragic accident, by falling down the stairs at her school. In the process, V.C Andrews injured her back. A failed spinal surgical procedure and Arthritis forced Andrews to spend a huge part of her life on wheelchairs and crutches. Despite everything that she faced, V.C Andrews excelled in school. When she was fifteen years of age, V.C Andrews won a scholarship after penning down a parody of Idylls the King by Tennyson.

V.C Andrews was awarded with her diploma from Woodrow High School, which is located in Portsmouth. After graduating from Woodrow High School, V.C Andrews began to nurture her imaginative talents by taking a 4-year Art course while residing with her family. William Andrews passed away in the 1960’s, Virginia Andrews had to step up and support herself as well as her mother, through her exceedingly successful career as a portrait painter fashion illustrator and commercial artist.

However, after some time, Virginia was exceedingly frustrated with the creative satisfaction that her work provided. Thus, she decided to seek creative release through writing, something that she did in secret. In the year 1972, V.C Andrews completed her debut novel, The Gods of the Green Mountain, a science fiction narrative. However, the novel, The Gods of the Green Mountain was never published.

Dollanganger Awards

None of the books in the Dollanganger book series has nominated for any major literary awards.

Dollanganger Books into Movies

The Flowers in the Attic has been adapted two times into a television series. The first adaptation was made in the year 1987, while the second adaptation was done in the year 2014.

Best Dollanganger Books

Flowers in the Attic: In Flowers in the Attic, author, VC Andrews introduces the readers to four girls who were locked inside a second story room, after their father had passed away. The children are informed that they have to remain in the room until their grandfather passes away too, and leaves his entire estate to their mother.

However, three years down the line, the children begin to doubt their mother’s devotion to their well-being and safety and thus begin coming up with an escape plan. The Flowers in the Attic is an undeniably dark and gothic tale of incest and greed that will keep the readers glued to the novel until the last page.

The Dollanganger family resides in Pennsylvania, a place where their father normally travels for the firm that he works for. Whenever their father is around, the children are normally showered with gifts and watch as their parents interact with each other.

However, things began to change after their father was killed in a car accident. Their mother begins to struggle to pay their bills. Because she lacks formal education, she has no means of making money or educating the family. Thus, she has no option but to turn to the family that she was once ashamed of and had to run away from.

Petals of the Wind: In Petals of the Wind, we meet once again with Cathy, the lead character in the Dollanganger book series. Cathy is not only bent on revenge, but she is also willing to not let her past go. The author, V.C Andrews does not shy away from the intensity of her exceedingly weird romance angles. She not only includes an exceedingly incestuous connexion with a brother but also Andrews also includes a father figure into the mix. With that said, In Petals of the Wind is an artfully twisted modern fairy tale. Apart from being spellbinding, it is also dark, shocking and an exceedingly fabulous tale of lust, love, abandonment, revenge, and abuse.

Other Book Series You May Like

If you are a fan of V.C Andrews, then you are going to fall in love with “Casteel”. Fallen Hearts is the first installment in the Casteel book series. In this installment, the author V.C Andrews introduces the readers to the Casteel Family. Fallen Hearts is a beautifully written macabre novel. As the second book in the series, Fallen Hearts follows Dark Angel. The great thing about this installment is that it can be read as a standalone.

What Is The Next Book in The Dollanganger Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Dollanganger Series. The newest book is The Shadows of Foxworth and was released on June, 30th 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *