Dr. Siri Paiboun Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Collin Cotterill is a London-based crime writer, cartoonist, and teacher. He was born on October 2, 1952, in London, UK. Cotterill possesses a dual Australian and English citizenship. However, currently, Coterill resides in in Southeast Asia where one of his best performing series, Dr. Siri Paiboun is set. Since Cotterill trained as a teacher, he served as a Physical Education tutor in Israel, a counselor for educationally challenged adults in the United States, a primary school tutor in Australia and a lecturer in Japan. Recently Collin Cotterill trained and taught teachers on the Burmese border and Thailand. Through the years, Cotterill became involved in various child protection programs within the region of Thailand. He even established an NGO, which he ran for the first years.

Get notified when Colin Cotterill releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Dr. Siri Paiboun Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Coroner's Lunch ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2004 Description / Buy
2 Thirty-Three Teeth ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2005 Description / Buy
3 Disco for the Departed ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2006 Description / Buy
4 Anarchy and Old Dogs ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2007 Description / Buy
5 Curse of the Pogo Stick ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2008 Description / Buy
6 The Merry Misogynist ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2009 Description / Buy
7 Love Songs from a Shallow Grave ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2010 Description / Buy
8 Slash and Burn ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2011 Description / Buy
9 The Woman Who Wouldn't Die ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2013 Description / Buy
10 Six and a Half Deadly Sins ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2015 Description / Buy
11 I Shot the Buddha ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2016 Description / Buy
12 The Rat Catchers' Olympics ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2017 Description / Buy
13 Don't Eat Me ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2018 Description / Buy
14 The Second Biggest Nothing ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2019 Description / Buy
15 The Delightful Life of a Suicide Pilot ( By: Colin Cotterill) 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

During this period, Cotterill was a regular contributor, for the Bangkok post. Suk Edition published Cotterill’s first novel in the year 2000. Due to the positive review and feedback that his novel received, Cotterill was prompted to become a full-time writer. Soho Press published Collin Cotterill subsequent books include the Evil in The Land Without, which was published in the year 2003, The Coroner’s Lunch in the year 2004. On June 2009, the Crime Writers Association awarded Cotterill with a Dagger in the Library Award. This award was given to Cotterill for being a crime fiction writer whose work is going to give the greatest service to library users. Apart from being an author, Cotterill was also a regular cartoonist for numerous national publications.

Dr. Siri Paiboun Awards

In the year 2008, the first installment in this series was nominated for a CWA Duncan Lawrie Award. Five years later, Stop It, You are Killing Me, the 6th installment in the Dr. Siri Paiboun was nominated for a Dilys Award. Both of these books did not win the respective awards; however, they still gave author Colin Cotterill the public recognition that he truly deserved.

Dr. Siri Paiboun Books into Movies

The fifth installment in the Dr. Siri Paiboun, the Curse of the Pogo Stick was selected for a film adaptation in the year 2008. However, up to this date, the film adaptation is yet to be released.

Best Dr. Siri Paiboun Books

The Coroners Lunch: The first installment in the Dr. Siri Paiboun book series. As the first installment, the Coroner’s Lunch is an exceedingly pleasurable and refreshing read. Coroner’s Lunch is set a crime/mystery novel with a dose of the supernatural and a little bit of humor thrown in as well. The reader is going to fall in love with the protagonist, Dr. Siri Paiboun, who is a little bit of an uncharacteristic hero who is not only charming but also exceedingly convincing, despite his background. Unlike most heroes in crime and mystery books, Dr. Siri is not a detective, but rather he is a trained physician. However, with retirement on his mind, Dr. Siri soon finds himself serving as the nation’s coroner.

After serving for a few and monotonous short months, Siri and his assistants, Mr, Gueng and nurse Dtui, find themselves at the center of a high-profile case, with the various party officials closely monitoring the trio. Regardless as to whether supernatural books are not your cup of tea, this installment will work for you. Some of the religious superstitions undoubtedly makes this book an excellent read, especially from a cultural perspective. Siri soon finds out that he has the gift after his former customers begin to visit him. With that said, all the characters in this book have been well drawn, especially the protagonist, Dr. Siri. As the book progresses, we get to learn so much about his beliefs, his past, sense of humanity and his kindness.

Overall, this is a fun read that will make you want to delve into the next books in the series. If you are a fun of mystery in an exceedingly exotic setting that has a fascinating historical background, then the Coroner’s Lunch is a must read.

Other Books That You May Like

If you love crime mystery series, then you are going to love the “Lew Archer” book series. The first installment in this series is the Way Some People Die, and the author takes the reader to a rundown house, which is located in Santa Monica. While in the house, one Mrs. Samuel Lawrence presses several crumbled bills into the hands of one Lew Archer. She asks Lew to locate Galatea, her wandering daughter. Galatea has been described in the book as crazy for men and lastly was seen driving off with Joe Tarantine, a small-time gangster. However, it does not take long before bodies begin to pile up. With that said, this installment is filled with delinquents, dope and murder, making it a classic read.

What Is The Next Book in The Dr. Siri Paiboun Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Dr. Siri Paiboun Series. The newest book is The Delightful Life of a Suicide Pilot and was released on June, 2nd 2020.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *