Ellie Hatcher Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The “Ellie Hatcher” series by Alafair Burke are mystery novels that star the character of the same name. Ellie is an NYPD detective. The series began in the year 2007, when the first novel (which was called “Dead Connection”) came out.

Get notified when Alafair Burke releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Ellie Hatcher Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dead Connection ( By: Alafair Burke) 2007 Description / Buy
2 Angel's Tip ( By: Alafair Burke) 2008 Description / Buy
3 212 ( By: Alafair Burke) 2010 Description / Buy
4 Never Tell ( By: Alafair Burke) 2012 Description / Buy
5 All Day and a Night ( By: Alafair Burke) 2014 Description / Buy
6 Find Me / The Girl She Was (By: Alafair Burke) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Alafair Burke got the idea for the first novel while using an online dating service. It was here at this service that she found her husband. Her working as a prosecutor has helped her write the novels for both this series and the “Samantha Kincaid” series.


For those readers looking to get into the “Ellie Hatcher” series by Alafair Burke, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Dead Connection”, “Angel’s Tip”, and “212”.

Dead Connection: This is the first novel in the “Ellie Hatcher” series and was released in the year 2007. One year to the day, two women are murdered on New York’s streets. Detective Ellie Hatcher is supposed to work on a special assignment given to her by the task force. This killer they are looking for has left behind something that connects both of the cases to a site called First Date (a popular dating service). Flann McIlroy (a homicide detective that is hungry for publicity and is eccentric) knows that Ellie is the only one that can help him prove his odd theory. The theory is that someone is using the Internet and possible love to kill different women in New York City. She must go into the world of stolen identities where no one is actually who they say they are. It is a high tech world, no doubt. She is similar to the victims, making things personal for her very quickly. Her father lost his life chasing a notorious killer (this was back in her home of Wichita, Kansas) so she knows firsthand what it is like for someone to chase a sociopath. This killer starts to mimic the killer that destroyed her father way back when; she knows things have gotten personal for him, too. She must find the killer before she is the next victim.

Angel’s Tip: This is the second novel in the “Ellie Hatcher” series and was released in the year 2008. Chelsea Hart stays behind in the New York City club, after her friends go back to the hotel for the night. She enjoys the last hours of her spring break before she goes back to her Indiana college. In the morning, joggers find her body in East River Park, with her hair hacked off. Her friends worriedly paced their hotel room’s lobby waiting for her. The case goes to Ellie Hatcher and finds the privileged guys that were pouring booze down her all night. The case quickly gets headlines, before Ellie even gets any evidence. She is able to put some evidence together that says that the killer was Jake Myers (who is young and manages hedge funds). Everyone (her boss and people from the district attorney’s office) is thrilled, it will mean a quick end to the case and the media will praise them for working fast. Not to mention, that Ellie will make for a great witness at trial. Ellie is not convinced and to her, it feels like three deaths that happened almost ten years ago. Young female victims, and each time the killer cut their hair off for souvenirs. The case pulls her into a world of a lot of wealth, light night exclusive clubs. She is pitted against fellow cops, in her search for the truth, as well as the killer who wants to make her his next victim.

212: This is the third novel in the “Ellie Hatcher” series and was released in the year 2010. The bodyguard of a celebrity mogul is killed in the boss’s penthouse that is located at a glitzy Manhattan address. A sophomore at NYU is picked on on the Internet, followed, and then killed. Both cases go to Ellie and her partner, who find this is the tip of the iceberg.


Harry Bosch” series by Michael Connelly. Harry is the lead character in this series, and made his debut in the novel “The Black Echo” that was released in 1992. Harry works as a police homicide detective with the police department in the city of Los Angeles.

Myron Bolitar” series by Harlan Coben. Myron is the star of this series of thrillers. He is a famous ex-basketball player and owns MB SportsReps (an agency that represents athletes).

What Is The Next Book in The Ellie Hatcher Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Ellie Hatcher Series. The newest book is Find Me / The Girl She Was and was released on January, 11th 2022.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *