Samantha Kincaid Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The character Samantha Kincaid is the lead in her own series of novels that is written by author Alafair Burke. Samantha is a strong woman that will not back down, no matter what. It is set in the very office that Burke worked in during the nineties.

Get notified when Alafair Burke releases a new book at

Order of Samantha Kincaid Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Judgment Calls ( By: Alafair Burke) 2003 Description / Buy
2 Missing Justice ( By: Alafair Burke) 2004 Description / Buy
3 Close Case ( By: Alafair Burke) 2005 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series began in the year 2003, when the first novel in the series “Judgment Calls” came out.


For those readers looking to get into the “Samantha Kincaid” series by Alafair Burke, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Judgment Calls”, “Missing Justice”, and “Close Case”.

Judgment Calls: This is the first novel in the “Samantha Kincaid” series and was released in the year 2003. Samantha Kincaid is a Deputy District Attorney in Portland, Oregon in the Vice and Drug Division. She goes into her office one morning to find three cops waiting there for her; they have a case involving a thirteen year old female that has been beaten and left for dead near the outskirts of town. She has little evidence, but that does not stop her from going for attempted murder. Samantha gets ready for the trial and finds herself on a trail that has prostitution of underage girls, a death penalty case with a high-profile, and there might be a serial killer, too. Her judgment, both in her personal life and in the law are called in to question.

Missing Justice: This is the second novel in the “Samantha Kincaid” series and was released in the year 2004. Samantha Kincaid has just been promoted and her first case after returning from vacation (that she really needed to take) is a judge has gone missing. The judge is Clarissa Easterbrook and she has gone missing from her wealthy neighborhood in Portland. It is up to Sam to make the District Attorney look good until the judge comes back. It is clear that the woman did not go willingly, and no one is surprised when her body turns up bludgeoned on a construction site. Clarissa’s husband (a big time surgeon) is quickly cleared of suspicion, while another suspect is apprehended. Things are cut and dry to Sam especially when secrets, that Clarissa was keeping, come to light; these are secrets that the elite in Portland did not want getting out. Sam gets closer to the truth, and on to the bad side of powerful people. Clarissa’s secrets could have caught up with her in the very worst way possible. Sam could be next in line while she tries to save an innocent man’s life.

Close Case: This is the third novel in the “Samantha Kincaid” series and was released in the year 2005. During Samantha’s thirty-second birthday, she gets something of an odd gift; called out to a homicide. The crime scene is in the elite neighborhood of Hillside, which is in Portland, Oregon. The victim is a man named Percy Crenshaw, who was bludgeoned in his carport. Percy was an investigative reporter. In the city, tensions are high. Just last week, a police officer killed a mother of two that was unarmed, and claimed self defense. It has brought on retaliation in the form of increasingly agitated protesting that are anti-police. Crenshaw’s death may be related, as the police apprehend two young men that may have gone a crime spree after the protests. One of the suspects confesses, making things look open and shut. He recants, citing coercion on the police’s part. It makes Samantha want more evidence, so she goes digging for it. She follows up what Percy was working on, and it takes her to the drug trade and officer’s in the north precinct. It has her going up against cops, one of which being Detective Chuck Forbes; which is her boyfriend, whom she is living with. She is also facing political battles and the possibility that she could be killed while following steps taken by Crenshaw.


Max Revere” series by Allison Brennan. Maxine Revere, the star of this show, dedicates her time to solving murders that the police long ago gave up on solving themselves. She is nationally renowned for her investigative reporting and has her own television series.

“Detective D. D. Warren” series by Lisa Gardner. This series is set in the city of Boston, and D. D. Warren works as a detective solving crimes.

What Is The Next Book in The Samantha Kincaid Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Samantha Kincaid Series. The newest book is Close Case and was released on July, 6th 2005.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *