Faith Fairchild Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Faith Fairchild refers to a series of cozy mystery novels written by Katherine Hall Page. The books follow the exploits of a preacher’s wife who solves crimes.

Get notified when Katherine Hall Page releases a new book at

Order of Faith Fairchild Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Body in the Belfry ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 1990 Description / Buy
2 The Body in the Kelp ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 1990 Description / Buy
3 The Body in the Bouillon ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 1991 Description / Buy
4 The Body in the Vestibule ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 1992 Description / Buy
5 The Body in the Cast ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 1993 Description / Buy
6 The Body in the Basement ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 1994 Description / Buy
7 The Body in the Bog / The Body in the Marsh (By: Katherine Hall Page) 1996 Description / Buy
8 The Body in the Fjord ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 1997 Description / Buy
9 The Body in the Bookcase ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 1998 Description / Buy
10 The Body in the Big Apple ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 1999 Description / Buy
11 The Body in the Moonlight ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 2001 Description / Buy
12 The Body in the Bonfire ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 2002 Description / Buy
13 The Body in the Lighthouse ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 2003 Description / Buy
14 The Body in the Attic ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 2004 Description / Buy
15 The Body in the Snowdrift ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 2005 Description / Buy
16 The Body in the Ivy ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 2006 Description / Buy
17 The Body in the Gallery ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 2008 Description / Buy
18 The Body in the Sleigh ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 2009 Description / Buy
19 The Body in the Gazebo (By: Katherine Hall Page) 2011 Description / Buy
20 The Body in the Boudoir ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 2012 Description / Buy
21 The Body in the Piazza ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 2013 Description / Buy
22 The Body in the Birches ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 2015 Description / Buy
23 The Body in the Wardrobe ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 2016 Description / Buy
24 The Body in the Casket ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 2017 Description / Buy
25 The Body in the Wake ( By: Katherine Hall Page) 2019 Description / Buy
26 The Body in the Web (By: Katherine Hall Page) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Faith Fairchild isn’t like most women in Alford, Massachusetts. Before coming to the small Parish, Faith was a socialite in New York. She came from privilege and enjoyed the benefits of the trust fund that her grandmother had left her.

For a time, Faith was a caterer. Her successful business saw her mingle with the rich and famous of New York. She was beautiful, wealthy and she led the sort of life that most people envied.

But then Tom Fairchild came into the picture. The preacher swept Faith off her feet. And to everyone’s shock, Faith actually agreed to marry him. If that wasn’t surprising enough, when Tom decided to move to his Parish in Alford, Faith also agreed to follow him.

That meant giving up her glamorous life, putting her business on hold and leaving her friends and family behind. Faith’s commitment to her marriage was such that she willingly made the sacrifices necessary to start a family with the man she loved.

By the time readers meet her in The Body in the Belfry, the first novel in the series, Faith Fairchild does not regret her decision. She is a happy wife and mother. However, part of her is quite bored.

Her life in New York was active. She was consistently busy, always on the go. And unfortunately, Massachusetts couldn’t be more different from New York. Faith’s small town is quiet and peaceful, and it hasn’t exactly given Faith much to do.

Her fortunes change when a beautiful girl with a controversial reputation is found dead in a church. The police immediately identify the victim’s boyfriend as the prime suspect. However, neither Faith nor her husband is convinced by the conclusion.

So the socialite throws her amateur sleuthing hat on and investigates the murder. The case gives Faith a taste of the excitement she used to elicit from her life in New York and it isn’t long before she is buried under an endless string of crimes and murders, each of which she puts her mind to the task of solving.

The Faith Fairchild series follows the heroine around as she comes to terms with her new role as preacher’s wife and part-time sleuth. Each installment in the series finds Faith stumbling upon a new murder that she then attempts to solve.

A lot of focus is placed on Faith’s attempts at fitting into her new community and finding a purpose outside of her role as the preacher’s wife.

Faith Fairchild Awards

The Body in the Bonfire and The Body in the Lighthouse were Finalists for the Agatha Award and the Mary Higgins Clark Award in 2002 and 2003 respectively. The Body in the Snowdrift won the Agatha Award in 2005.

Best Faith Fairchild Books

The Fairchild novels tell relatively standard cozy mystery stories featuring an unconventional amateur detective surrounded by a cast of quirky characters, with some of the best titles in the series including:

The Body in the Bonfire: Faith Fairchild, a small town preacher’s wife, might be a great cook but she had no interest in teaching others to cook. But then she learned that an African-American student was being racially bullied and immediately joined the staff at Mansfield academy.

She hoped to put a stop to the abuse. She was instead assaulted by a wave of lies, secrets, and intrigue. When human remains are found in a campus bonfire, Faith makes it her mission to get to the bottom of Mansfield’s secrets.

The Body in the Lighthouse: When Faith and her family flee to a scenic Maine island, they hope to find a moment of peace. But things are far from peaceful. There’s an aggressive developer on the prowl, causing all manner of tensions to rise.

When Faith finds a body near the lighthouse, she decides to find the killer before the volatile emotions she has encountered reach a boiling point.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Ginger Gold Mysteries” by Lee Straus. It is the 1900s. Ginger Gold is a young fashionista and war widow whose family connections keep drawing her into cases of murder, at which point she elicits the help of her dog and a close friend to do some amateur sleuthing.

Another great book series is the “Cat Latimer” Series by Lynn Cahoon. Cat Latimer is a former professor who runs an Inn in the same house she inherited from her carousing ex-husband. When she isn’t managing writers’ retreats, the author can be found solving crimes and murders, sometimes in the company of her uncle, a police chief.

What Is The Next Book in The Faith Fairchild Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Faith Fairchild Series. The newest book is The Body in the Web and was released on May, 30th 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *