Faraway Tree Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Faraway Tree refers to a series of popular children’s novels written by Enid Blyton the popular British author. The first novel in the series was “The Enchanted Wood” first published in 1939. However, it is important to note that Faraway Tree and the character Moon-Face made their first appearance in Enid’s earlier novel “The Yellow Fairy Book”.

Order of Magic Faraway Tree Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Enchanted Wood ( By: Enid Blyton) 1939 Description / Buy
2 The Magic Faraway Tree ( By: Enid Blyton) 1943 Description / Buy
3 The Folk of the Faraway Tree ( By: Enid Blyton) 1946 Description / Buy
4 Up the Faraway Tree ( By: Enid Blyton) 1985 Description / Buy
5 The Yellow Fairy Book ( By: Enid Blyton) 1993 Description / Buy
6 The Land of Goodies (Short Story) ( By: Enid Blyton) 2016 Description / Buy
7 In Santa Claus's Castle ( By: Enid Blyton) 2016 Description / Buy
8 The Land of Enchantments ( By: Enid Blyton) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The narratives are set in an enchanted forest, where the Faraway Tree, a magical gigantic tree grows. The tree is massive with so wide a trunk that small houses can be carved into it, and so high that its branches almost touch the clouds. Fanny, Bessie, and Jo are the three children lucky or adventurous enough to discover the tree and the magical forest. The discovery of the tree marks the beginning of their adventure travelling to magical lands at the top of the tree.

The first novel in the series, “The Enchanted Wood” begins the story of the adventures of the three children that together with their family, have just moved to the countryside, to the edge of a magical forest with a magical tree. The Faraway Tree is full of fruits of all types ranging from lemons to acorns and is home to all manner of fairy folk. Its top branches, which are in the clouds, lead to magical lands in the clouds.

The children soon make friends with the inhabitants of the tree including, Saucepan Man, Silky the fairy, and Moon-Face. What follows is an adventure that takes them to the magical lands such as the Land of Take What You Want, the Land of Ice and Snow, and the Roundabout Land, where they have much fun and dangerous escapades. The novel is one of the best novels that goes on to demonstrate the timelessness and agelessness of Enid Blyton’s novels, that are just as good as they were decades after they were written.


The Enchanted Wood: The first novel in the series “The Enchanted Wood” is a favorite novel for most Faraway fans. What makes the novel so special is the innocence and imagination that you are not likely to find in modern-day novels. Most people who lived in the late 1930s or the 1940s will remember the the mesmerizing characters and fantastic lands of the novel that made it un-put-down-able. The novel comes with vivid characters in the three siblings and the inhabitants of the magic tree. Some of the characters that would often accompany the children on their adventure and picnic journey to the top of the tree, where they would head out to the mysterious and enigmatic lands above may best be described as weird even as they are funny.

The Folk of the Faraway Tree: The third novel of the Faraway series is an enchanting novel that tells the story of the three children who are stuck with bossy and stuck up family friend, Connie. Connie has been living with the children ever since her mother was taken ill. She is an insufferable brat that does not like to see anyone having any fun, and hence tries to boss Fanny, Bessie, and Jo around. But the children together with their magical tree friends Saucepan Man, Moon-Face, and Silky will have none of it. Dragging along a reluctant Connie, they climb the tree to visit the Land of Treats and the Land of Secrets, adventures that finally manages to mellow the moody Connie.

The Magic Faraway Tree: This is another incredible novel in the Faraway Tree series. After their cousin Rick has his mother fall ill, he comes to live with Fanny, Bessie, and Joe. The siblings introduce him to the inhabitants of the magical tree Saucepan Man, Silky the Fairy, and Moon-Face. He gets to visit the enchanting lands at the top of the Faraway Tree such as the Land of Do As You Please, the Land of Topsy Turvy, and the Land of Spells on a quest to find a cure for his mother. Even as they have a lot of fun and ride a runaway train, these lands are also fraught with unseen dangers.


Many fans of the Faraway Tree series of novels also love the “Hazel Green” series of novels by Odo Hirsch. Hazel Green is a woman who always tries to do good, only to find herself set up as a villain, forcing her into amateur sleuthing to solve the mystery of who set her up. Faraway Tree series fans also enjoy the “Finders Keepers” series of novels by Emily Rodda. The lead protagonist in the series is a boy named Patrick who, while watching a TV program known as Finders Keepers, is suddenly pulled into a parallel universe inside the television.

What Is The Next Book in The Magic Faraway Tree Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Magic Faraway Tree Series. The newest book is The Land of Enchantments and was released on July, 27th 2017.


1 thought on “Faraway Tree”

  1. These are such fun books! I remember reading them when I was younger and I’m excited one was recently released in 2016; I hope it can hold up to the other books in the series. I always loved the first book in the series, The Enchanted Wood, because it was such a fun introduction to the characters and their adventures they have in the tree. Funny too!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *