Farseer Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

FitzChivalry Farseer is the main character in the Farseer Trilogy of novels written by American author Robin Hobb. The first novel in the series that introduced the Farseer character was Assassin’s Apprentice published in 1995.

FitzChivalry Farseer is a highly skilled assassin trained in the Six Duchies Kingdom. His uncle is Prince Verity who is waging war on the Red-Ship Raiders from the Out Islands that have descended upon the Six Duchies, seeking to turn the people of the kingdom into emotionless zombies known as the Forged ones. In the meantime, Prince Regal of the Six Duchies is so consumed by jealousy and selfishness, which threatens to put the future of the kingdom in jeopardy.

Get notified when Robin Hobb releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Farseer Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Assassin's Apprentice ( By: Robin Hobb) 1995 Description / Buy
2 Royal Assassin (By: Robin Hobb) 1996 Description / Buy
3 Assassin's Quest ( By: Robin Hobb) 1997 Description / Buy
4 Words Like Coins (Short Story) ( By: Robin Hobb) 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Willful Princess and the Piebald Prince (By: Robin Hobb) 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Liveship Traders Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ship of Magic ( By: Robin Hobb) 1998 Description / Buy
2 The Mad Ship ( By: Robin Hobb) 1999 Description / Buy
3 Ship of Destiny (By: Robin Hobb) 2000 Description / Buy

Order of Tawny Man Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fool's Errand ( By: Robin Hobb) 2001 Description / Buy
2 Golden Fool ( By: Robin Hobb) 2002 Description / Buy
3 Fool's Fate ( By: Robin Hobb) 2003 Description / Buy

Order of Rain Wild Chronicles Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dragon Keeper ( By: Robin Hobb) 2009 Description / Buy
2 Dragon Haven ( By: Robin Hobb) 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Inheritance (Short Story) ( By: Robin Hobb) 2011 Description / Buy
4 City of Dragons ( By: Robin Hobb) 2011 Description / Buy
5 Blood of Dragons ( By: Robin Hobb) 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Fitz and The Fool Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fool's Assassin ( By: Robin Hobb) 2014 Description / Buy
2 Fool's Quest ( By: Robin Hobb) 2015 Description / Buy
3 Assassin's Fate ( By: Robin Hobb) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Assassin’s Apprentice the first novel in the series begins the story of FitzChivalry a royal bastard who is undergoing training to become an assassin. The story moves at a brisk pace following Fitz from the moment he begins training as a six-year-old in the royal palace. He soon finds out that he has the gifts of telepathic communication. Despised by the assassin trainer he finds himself sent into dangerous situations where he has to fight the Forged Ones, though he emerges victorious.

Having proven himself skilled in fighting through manipulation of thought, he soon finds himself at war with Prince Regal and his trainer who despises him and wants him dead. What follows is an excellent narrative of the intrigues and struggles for power in the Kingdom that showcases the remarkable skills of Robin Hobb that earned her several awards for her work over the years.


Obviously as the first book in the series, the Assassins Apprentice is the most popular book of the Farseer Trilogy. In a land where members of the ruling class are named according to the essence of their character makes one young boy an enigma. Fitz, the bastard of Chivalry Farseer, finds himself lonely and friendless in this world. His gift of communicating with animals made him made him find companionship and solace with the beasts. Since his gift is abhorred among the highborn, he must give it up when he is invited to train in the royal palace. He now has to learn to live a life of courtly manners, writing, and secret killing as he is trained to become an assassin.

Royal Assassin is the sequel to Assassin’s Apprentice, the first book of the Farseer Trilogy. After Fitz barely survives his first mission as an assassin after Prince Regal poisons him, he vows never to return to his homeland and his king. However, a vision of the woman he loves forces him to return. He returns to find himself at the center of royal intrigues and struggles. His duties at protecting his king take up so much of his time eventually result in his love Molly leaving him for another man. He pledges his support to the king believing that the greater threat to the kingdom was within rather than from without. With the king weakening, Regal continues to amass more power to himself and eventually declares himself king and kills Fritz.

Assassin’s Quest is the third book of the Farseer Trilogy of Novels. After the evil Regal kills Fitz and King Shrewd, it seems like evil has won. However, using his magic gift Fitz emerges from his grave carrying deep bodily and spiritual scars. It also seems as if the kingdom is falling apart as Regal has abandoned the capital after plundering it. The only hope for the Six Duchies is the return of Prince Verity son of King Shrewd, to take up his rightful position. However, Fitz deeply pained by bitter memories and loss decides to kill Regal immediately. He discovers that he has more magical powers than he ever knew he had; powers that will elevate him to what he never dreamt of, or send him down into the depths of oblivion.


Many Farseer connoisseurs are also fans of the Night Angel Trilogy by Brent Weeks. The books feature Azoth, a guild rat who has to give up all that he holds dear when he is forced to live in the slums where he has to break all rules and throw out values he holds dear, just to survive. Farseer fans may also find the Study 1 series of novels by Maria v. Snyder quite intriguing. The series is similar to Farseer in that the main character Yelena is forced into becoming a food taster for the Commander. She only avoids a painful death from poisoning after she discovers magical powers.

What Is The Next Book in The Farseer Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Farseer Series. The newest book is The Willful Princess and the Piebald Prince and was released on January, 1st 2013.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *