Ghost Exile Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Ghost Exile is a series of action/adventure/fantasy novels written by Jonathan Moeller. The books are a sequel to The Ghosts series and they explore the adventures of Caina Amalas following her exile from the only home she has ever known.

Get notified when Jonathan Moeller releases a new book at

Order of Ghost Exile Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Blood Artists (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
2 Bound to the Eye (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
3 Ghost in the Cowl (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2014 Description / Buy
4 Ghost in the Maze ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2014 Description / Buy
5 Ghost Price (Short Story) ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2014 Description / Buy
6 Ghost in the Hunt ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2014 Description / Buy
7 Ghost Relics (Short Story) ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2014 Description / Buy
8 Ghost Keeper ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2014 Description / Buy
9 Ghost Nails ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
10 Ghost in the Razor ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
11 Ghost Light ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
12 Ghost in the Inferno ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
13 Ghost Lock ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
14 Ghost in the Seal ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
15 Ghost in the Throne ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
16 Ghost Arts ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
17 Ghost Vigil ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
18 Ghost in the Pact ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2016 Description / Buy
19 Ghost Mimic ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2016 Description / Buy
20 Ghost Vessel ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2016 Description / Buy
21 Ghost in the Winds ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Caina Amalas was first introduced to readers in Child of the Ghosts, the first novel in The Ghosts series. At the time, Caina was just another precocious girl in a fantastical world rife with political strife and magical intrigue.

Caina was smart. She loved to read and she could discern details that escaped most people. But she was cursed with a horrible mother. At first, the woman merely tormented her. But then she took the extra step of betraying her family.

Caina’s father was murdered by a powerful necromancer; he was the lucky one. The necromancer in question took Caina in and tortured her with his evil spells. Most people would have succumbed to the horror.

But Caina was far too stubborn. Her wits and cunning allowed her to escape her captor. But even then, Caina should have been destined for a fameless, unremarkable, poverty-stricken life.

But then she met Halfdan and everything changed. Halfdan was the leader of the ghosts, a group of legendary spies and assassins who served the whims of the Emperor of Nighmar.

The world that Caina inhabited was a harsh, unforgiving place. Crime ran rampant, and the aristocratic members of society acted with impunity. Only through the actions of the ghosts was order maintained.

Only with the blood they shed and the lives they took did the Empire continue to advance. Halfdan noticed Caina because she wasn’t like the other girls of the day. She was strong, fiery and independent, all the qualities they needed in a ghost.

So they took her in, trained her and transformed Caina into a ghost nightfighter, a servant of the empire. Over the course of the first series, Caina fought both mortal and magical foes.

And when it was all said and done, it was only through her actions that the world was saved from sorcerous destruction.

However, by the time readers encounter her once more in Ghost in the Cowl, the first novel in the Ghost Exile series, things have gone horribly wrong. Despite her role in saving the Empire and the world, Caina’s actions actually got her exiled from the land she had begun to call home.

The Ghost Exile series tells her story as she struggles to start over in the City of Istarinmul, all alone, without the comfort of her allies.

Like most places in Jonathan Moeller’s universe, Istarinmul is a dangerous place, and it doesn’t take Caina long to realize that the city will require her considerable skills if it is to survive.

This time, Caina is facing off against Grand Master Callatas, a powerful sorcerer who will stop at nothing to kill Caina because she is the only person in the city that can stop him from accomplishing his evil plan.

Caina must forge new allies, master new skills and maneuver the complexities of love and romance. This is as she comes to terms with the fact that the fate of the world rests on her shoulders once more.

Best Ghost Exile Books

These novels are heavily steeped in action and adventure, and some readers love this approach while others dislike it, with some of the best books in the series including:

Ghost in the Pact: Caina and Grand Master Callatas are at each other’s throats. Caina has the relics of Iramis. Callatas needs the seal of Iramis to work his terrible magic, and he will happily murder Caina to get it.

But both Caina and Callatas must work together if they are to overcome the power of the last of the Great Necromancers.

Ghost in the Winds: Grand Master Callatas is finally victorious. With Caina trapped in an ancient tomb, nothing will keep him from unleashing his Apotheosis.

Now it falls on the shoulders of Kylon to find and rescue Caina before the Red Huntress claims her life.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another series to check out is the “Half-Elf Chronicles” Series by J.T. Williams. Kealin is a half-elf living in a world that hates his kind. When the elves are called off to war, Kealin and his siblings believe that they are being spared the horrors awaiting their parents beyond the borders of their home. But then a prophecy catapults them into a journey that will determine the future of their race.

You may also like the “Gods and Kings Chronicles” Series by Lee H. Haywood as well. A long time ago, the gods gave mankind the power to use magic. The misuse of this power led to disaster and the gods themselves were eventually destroyed in a cataclysmic occurrence. The Arcane Council has worked tirelessly since then to control magic, and they have succeeded.

But now, special individuals with the ability to summon dangerous powers have emerged.

What Is The Next Book in The Ghost Exile Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Ghost Exile Series. The newest book is Ghost in the Winds and was released on August, 23rd 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *