Great and Terrible Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Great and Terrible is a series of novels by the Chris Stewart best known as a politician, business executive, and former air force pilot turned author. The first novel in the Great and Terrible series of novels was the 2003 published “Prologue: The Brothers”, that was a departure from his previous works in the military techno thriller genre.

Get notified when Chris Stewart releases a new book at

Order of The Great and Terrible Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Brothers ( By: Chris Stewart) 2003 Description / Buy
2 Where Angels Fall ( By: Chris Stewart) 2004 Description / Buy
3 The Second Sun ( By: Chris Stewart) 2005 Description / Buy
4 Fury & Light ( By: Chris Stewart) 2007 Description / Buy
5 From the End of Heaven ( By: Chris Stewart) 2008 Description / Buy
6 Clear as the Moon ( By: Chris Stewart) 2008 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series of novels is set in a pre-mortal world full of drama, passions, economic disasters, deadly epidemics, and political intrigues. With the author a Mormon, many of the thematic elements of the novels have been inspired by Mormon beliefs. The novels are a journey from the beginning of time up to the last hours of human existence on the planet Earth.

The first novel in the series opens to humanity walking away from God to choose a dark path, where a battle for souls raged with a constant contest and sifting of ideas. There was no peace or freedom as people fought to protect their homes, families were torn apart, and brother rose against brother. The battle between evil and good was waged in every home as Gods children were finally forced to make a choice between staying true to their principles and faith, or degenerating into chaos and worldliness.

With the Great War teaching many life lessons including strength in weakness and the inevitability of change, the novels teach the values of staying true and having hope in the midst of great tribulations. The amazing story just shows why Stewart has made a name for himself as one of the best writers in the genre.


Prologue: The Brothers: The first novel in the series is undoubtedly one of the fan favorites. The novel while not ground breaking in any way, offers new perspective on the eternal struggle between evil and good as represented by Jesus and Lucifer. Given its Mormon teachings, the books is definitely great for Mormons or anyone with strong Christian beliefs. The novel highlights the real and serious war faced by Christians in their everyday walk in the faith. The book is a powerful narrative that may stimulate reflection on life and strengthen the faith of a believer. Full of fast-paced action and suspense, it makes for a good reflective afternoon.

“Fury & Light”, the fourth novel in the series is a suspenseful filled novel that opens to an America struggling to survive a devastating attack on its capital of Washington D.C. The biggest question is just who will step up to run the government, and make the hard decisions that need to be made. Meanwhile, the Saudi Arabian king is preparing for one last attack he believes will deal the killing blow in the United States, even as the character are trapped in a desperate fight for survival.

Sara Brighton and her two kids Ammon and Luke are headed to Salt Lake City, where they hope to find refuge from the fallout of the last attack. Sam her husband returns home to find an empty family house and no information on how to find them. With his family in danger from an imminent Soviet attack, he needs to find them fast and take them to safety.

From The End of Heaven: This is another remarkable novel in the series that continues with the story of the fourth novel. The streets are full of angry people and violence, chaos, and starvation are the order of the day. Even as all hope is lost for many whose world has suddenly become unrecognizable, for some like Sara Brighton, hope springs eternal. After helping a shadow government take the reins of leadership, she teams up with Bono to undertake one of the most dangerous of missions to save their world. Heading to Hindu Kush, they must beat overwhelming odds to make their mission a success.


Many fans of the Great and Terrible series of novels also loved “The Dark Trails Saga”. The series of novels feature Porter Rockwell an infamous gunslinger and wizard who cannot be harmed by human weapons. He uses his powers to help hunt down outlaws and criminals bent on oppressing the weak.

The Great and Terrible fans also love the “Sten Chronicles” series of novels by Chris Bunch. These are military science fiction novels following the life and times of Karl Sten, a man thrust into the dangerous world covert military actions, espionage, and intergalactic politics.

What Is The Next Book in The Great And Terrible Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Great And Terrible Series. The newest book is Clear as the Moon and was released on October, 1st 2008.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *