Home to Hickory Hollow Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Home to Hickory Hollow is an Amish Christian romance series of novels that began publication in 2012 and which follow the exploits of the men and women who come to Hickory Hollow looking for love, purpose and a place to belong.

Get notified when Beverly Lewis releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Home To Hickory Hollow Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Fiddler ( By: Beverly Lewis) 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Bridesmaid ( By: Beverly Lewis) 2012 Description / Buy
3 The Guardian ( By: Beverly Lewis) 2013 Description / Buy
4 The Secret Keeper ( By: Beverly Lewis) 2013 Description / Buy
5 The Last Bride ( By: Beverly Lewis) 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Home to Hickory Hollow books are the work of Beverly Lewis, an author that is best known for her Amish novels. Lewis has been writing stories since she was nine-years-old. Though, by the time she wrote her first novel, her children were well into middle school.

The late start did little to dim Lewis’ prospects who hit the ground running with a series of Amish adult fiction novels based in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Having been born in Lancaster, Beverly Lewis identifies with the Amish more the most.

And the stories she tells attempt to demystify her people and show that they do not differ that drastically from the average human being, especially when it comes to the personal problems they encounter.

The Fiddler is the first book in the series and it follows the journey of Amelia Devries and Michael Hostetler as they attempt to carve out a life for themselves in their complicated world.

Amelia comes from the English world. But she is tired of her life and the expectations on her shoulder. Michael is Amish. And while he loves his home of Hickory Hollow, Michael wants to go out into the English world and live life as an architect. But the family demands on him make that dream all but impossible.

Michael and Amelia are from completely different backgrounds and yet they are the only ones who understand one another. More importantly, they are the only ones who can help one another discover the destiny they were meant to accomplish.

The Fiddler is a picture of the Home to Hickory Hollow series as a whole. Most of the books endeavor to bring Amish and non-Amish people together. More often than not, the non-Amish in these stories are weary of the English world.

They have tasted the offerings of contemporary society and they have had their fill. Hickory Hollow gives them an opportunity to set the weights of their lives aside and to find some peace in Lancaster County.

They are more eager than most to accept and adopt the austere lives of the Amish. In contrast, the Amish of Hickory Hollow long for the English world. They have dreams that their Old Order Parents, neighbors and leaders frown upon. And it is only by leaving Hickory Hollow that they can find the freedom they desire.

Both the Amish and the non-Amish characters must fight the pressures of their respective friends and family members if they are to follow their dreams and do what makes them happy.

Even though this is a series, the various books in the Home to Hickory Hollow series can be read independently of one another. Each book focuses on a different set of characters with the primary connection between the novels being the location of Hickory Hollow.

Home to Hickory Hollow Awards

The Bridesmaid and The Guardian both won the Christian Retailing Award for Best Amish Fiction. The Secret Keeper also won the RT Reviewers Choice Award in 2013.

Best Home to Hickory Hollow Books

Home to Hickory Hollow is another successful addition to Beverly Lewis’ bibliography which is already brimming with Amish fiction, with some of the best novels in this series including:

The Secret Keeper: Everyone tells Jennifer Burns that she is an old soul. This is because of her unrivaled passion for old-fashioned things. Jennifer’s personality and attitude are such that she faces no obstacles when she decides to discard her modern life in favor of embracing the Old Order Amish ways of Hickory Hollow.

And her new community embraces Jennifer with open arms. Problems arise when more than one man shows an interest in winning Jennifer’s heart.

The Last Bride: Tessie Miller is in love with Marcus King. When her Old Order parents oppose her choice of a mate, Tessie and Marcus elope to the English world. When they return, it is with the intention of living as singles and working to earn the blessing of Tessie’s parents, a plan that quickly goes wrong.

Other Book Series You May Like

“The Amish of Summer Grove” Series by Cindy Woodsmall is another great one. Ariana is a young Amish lady whose dreams of a future in her Old Order Amish community are upended by the revelation that she was switched at birth and that her true parents are Englishers

You may also enjoy the “Kauffman Amish Bakery” Series by Amy Clipston. These books tell the stories of the women of the Kauffman Amish Bakery in Lancaster County, the many heartaches, and trials they encounter and the opportunities for faith and hope that eventually arise.

What Is The Next Book in The Home To Hickory Hollow Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Home To Hickory Hollow Series. The newest book is The Last Bride and was released on April, 1st 2014.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *