H&W Investigations Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

H&W Investigations is a series of Urban Fantasy novels featuring Shiarra Waynest as the main character. The protagonist is a human woman residing in alternate and present day New York City. Sometimes she gets alliances from one of her good buddies, and this helps her hunt vampires, but besides all these, she is like you and me.

Get notified when Jess Haines releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of H&W Investigations Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hunted by the Others ( By: Jess Haines) 2010 Description / Buy
2 Taken by the Others ( By: Jess Haines) 2010 Description / Buy
3 Deceived by the Others ( By: Jess Haines) 2011 Description / Buy
4 Stalking the Others ( By: Jess Haines) 2012 Description / Buy
5 Forsaken by the Others ( By: Jess Haines) 2013 Description / Buy
6 Silent Cravings (By: Jess Haines, E. Blix) 2013 Description / Buy
7 Enslaved By the Others ( By: Jess Haines) 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

In this series, no zombie rising, no mind reading, no super speed/strength/ stamina and like any other human when she is forced to deal the supernatural’s it scares the hell out of her. Dragged into the world of ferocious supernatural werewolves, sexy vampires, and cunning magi, all that Shiarra wants is to keep her personal investigations business afloat.

Jess Haines began the publication of H&W Investigation’s series in 2010 when the first novel in the series Hunted by the Others was published.


These are two three best books in the H&W Investigations series, Hunted by the Others (2010), Stalking the Others (2012) and Enslaved by the Others (2014).

Hunted by the Others: This is the first novel in H&W Investigation’s series; the story introduces Shiarrra Waynest, a detective. Her detective work was far much dangerous even when her clients were the mortal humans. However, due to the financial crisis that she faces, she is forced to accept almost any job that comes her way just to ensure that ends meets and also saves her firm. Shiarra takes a job from a high-level magician- she is supposed to recover an ancient artifact at the hand of one of the most influential vampires based in New York City. She understands that her assignment will never be simpler from the moment she meets a charming, handsome vampire named Alec Royce.

Now with another group trying to get her services her and her magician killed in the process, Shiarra understands well that she needs some backup if she intends to survive and complete her mission. She calls in her ex-boyfriend, a werewolf, and a magician with extraordinary talents. However, this might not be enough for her to achieve her mission in a city where magic rules, the dead wanders around, and where the people are not whom they seem to be. Shiarra turns out to be one of the secret weapons in a war between the evils and the good whether she accepts it or not.

The first series installment is a great read, the main character, Shiarra Waynest is introduced in such a way that you could never expect. She is a private investigator trying to make her ends meets; her financial income is not sufficient to enough. Due to this reason, she is ready to pick up any job that comes along her way, and with no alternatives, she decides to take a job from a coven of a magician who refers themselves as “The Circle.”

The magicians want her to retrieve an ancient artifact from a mighty magician who runs a substantial portion of New York City, and she soon finds herself in facing danger from each single corner she turns to.
She is not your typical urban fantasy you have read before, she has her flaws, she is vulnerable, and she is sometimes unsure on how to handle certain situations. She is competent in the field of investigation and captures the essence of human being as she navigates through the dark and dangerous territories.

Fear, prejudice, and sometimes lack of experience make her irrational. Furthermore, she is leery of the bitey creatures, and she does not want to get too close to them. Eventually, Shiarra will lead you on an epic journey full of danger and mayhem.

Enslaved by Other: This is the sixth series installment in H&W Investigation’s series by Jess Haines. Shiarra Waynest has been caught up in lots of trouble as both a Private Investigator and another specialist, but waking up in a room with no windows and as a captive of a powerful vampire slave merchant is a shock for everyone.

Shiarra is given her skills and bravery maybe be she can take on a couple of grave evil. However, even though she is desperate to escape from her captive, she needs answers too. Her friends are in mortal danger, there is a betrayer in her midst, there are spies, and even if she can figure out what’s going on, she is still the captive of the worst kind.

What Is The Next Book in The H&w Investigations Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The H&w Investigations Series. The newest book is Enslaved By the Others and was released on July, 1st 2014.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *