Infernal Devices Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Infernal Devices is a set of novels written by best-selling American author, Cassandra Clare. The stories are focused on a race known as the Shadowhunters, a race that Clare introduced in her Mortal Instruments series. Infernal Devices is a prequel to Mortal Instruments series and features some of the characters ancestors. The author insisted that the two sets can be read in either order.

Get notified when Cassandra Clare releases a new book at

Order of Infernal Devices Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Clockwork Angel ( By: Cassandra Clare) 2010 Description / Buy
2 Clockwork Princess ( By: Cassandra Clare) 2013 Description / Buy
3 Clockwork Prince (By: Cassandra Clare) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Get notified when Cassandra Clare releases a new book at

Order of The Infernal Devices: Manga Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Clockwork Angel (By: Cassandra Clare) 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Infernal Devices (By: Cassandra Clare) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Infernal Devices series features Tessa Gray an orphaned young girl who discovers that she possesses the abilities to shift even though she does not bear a mark that shows that she is a warlock. Tessa is forced to learn how to control her powers and navigate in a new world that she was forcefully introduced to. This series follows her as she is obliged to collaborate with other shadow hunters to protect herself, her friends, and the people she loves the most, her family. The series features James “Jem” Carstairs, Theresa “Tessa” Gray, William “Will” Herondale, and other Shadowhunters and Downloaders based in London Institute. The series also features Camille Belcourt, Magnus Bane and other characters who are also featured in The Mortal Instruments series.


Cassandra Clare has confirmed that Infernal Devices will be adapted into a film by the same individuals who optioned to adapt her other novel series, The Mortal Instruments.


These are two best books in Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel (2010) and Clockwork Prince (2011).

Clockwork Angel: The first novel in Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare. It is set at a time when the Shadowhunters are finding it hard to win the battles against the forces of darkness, but one battle is destined to change the history as we know it. Welcome to the exciting Infernal Devices series, an intriguing and stimulating prequel to the New York Times and USA Today bestselling series Mortal Instruments.

The year is 1878, and Tessa Gray goes into London’s darkest supernatural realm in search of her missing brother. She realizes that her only real allies are the demon slaying shadow hunters, including Jem and William, the two boys that she is attracted to. With new allies in her quest to finding her beloved brother, they soon find themselves one on one with the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of demons, vampires, warlocks and even humans. Equipped with an army of unstoppable creatures, the Club is out to overthrow the British Empire, and only Tessa and her new friends can stop them.

Clockwork Angel is a fantastic first novel in Infernal Devices series. If you loved The Mortal Instruments, then you will surely find this book a great match for you. The characters are fantastic, neatly crafted and ten times more enjoyable than in Mortal Instruments.

Tessa is an amazing protagonist, her strength as the main character comes from other aspects of her personality- her loyalty, and her ability to love. Additionally, Tessa is a character who understands herself, respects herself, and she does not let people push her around. She is not your typical action-packed heroine, but what makes her a great character is the fact that she is just a regular girl who loves treating herself as well as those around her with much love, care, and dignity.

On the other hand, there is Charlotte, more of a warrior type. She is an incredible character, kind, loving, and protective of those she loves the most. Other characters you will find in this story include, Jem and Will who join forces with Tessa to find her missing brother.

Clockwork Prince: In the dark world of Victorian London, Tessa, at last, has found safety with her fellow Shadowhunters. However, the security seems to be short-lived when some rogue forces in the Clave appear to be plotting against her protector, Charlotte.

With the help of the handsome Will and the devoted Jem, Tessa soon discovers that Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is much more personal. Magister blames the shadowhunters for a tragedy that ruined his life long ago. To learn the hidden secrets of the past, the trio must travel from Yorkshire to a manor building that houses some untold horrors, from the rural of London to an enraptured ballroom where Tessa finds out that the truth is more evil than she had imagined. However, when they come across a clockwork demon with a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself is watching their every move and that one of their own has betrayed them.

As their relentless search for the truth and the Magister- the man holding personal grudges against them leads the right friends into danger, Tessa soon discovers that when lies and love are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.

What Is The Next Book in The Infernal Devices Trilogy Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Infernal Devices Trilogy Series. The newest book is Clockwork Prince and was released on September, 2nd 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *