Inspector Ian Rutledge Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Inspector Ian Rutledge is a mystery book series, which revolves around the cases of the protagonist, Ian Rutledge, a former World War I officer who returned to serve in the Scotland Yard police force. However, while working on the cases, Inspector Ian Rutledge begins to battle with post-traumatic stress disorder, which affects his work efficiency. He constantly, haunted by the remembrance of a fellow soldier who had been trapped in his head.

Order of Inspector Ian Rutledge Series

1A Test Of Wills1994Description / Buy
2Wings of Fire1998Description / Buy
3Search the Dark1999Description / Buy
4Legacy of the Dead2000Description / Buy
5Watchers of Time2001Description / Buy
6A Fearsome Doubt2002Description / Buy
7A Cold Treachery2005Description / Buy
8A Long Shadow2006Description / Buy
9A False Mirror2007Description / Buy
10A Pale Horse2007Description / Buy
11A Matter of Justice2008Description / Buy
12The Red Door2009Description / Buy
13The Kidnapping2010Description / Buy
14A Lonely Death2011Description / Buy
15The Confession2011Description / Buy
16Proof of Guilt2013Description / Buy
17Cold Comfort (Short Story)2013Description / Buy
18Hunting Shadows2014Description / Buy
19A Fine Summer's Day2015Description / Buy
20No Shred of Evidence2016Description / Buy
21Racing the Devil2017Description / Buy
22The Piper (Short Story)2017Description / Buy
23The Gatekeeper2018Description / Buy
24The Black Ascot2019Description / Buy
25A Divided Loyalty2020Description / Buy
26A Fatal Lie2021Description / Buy
27A Game of Fear2022Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Inspector Ian Rutledge Awards

None of the books in this series have been nominated for any major literary award.

Inspector Ian Rutledge Books into Movies

Inspector Ian Rutledge books are yet to be adapted into a screenplay.

Best Inspector Ian Rutledge Books

A Test of Wills: The first chapter in the Inspector Ian Rutledge book series. The year is 1919, and Ian Rutledge has just returned from France so that he could resume his duties. Before the war began, Inspector Ian had a knack for seeing things beyond what people were willing to reveal. Even at one point, the author describes Ian Rutledge placing his fingers on a dead man’s pulse and in the process bringing him back to life. However, was the one was over; Inspector Ian Rutledge is left shattered. He finds out that his fiancée had broken off their engagement. However, despite everything that he went through, a has a deep secret; Inspector Rutledge has a dead soldier trapped in his head who not only casts doubt on every decision that he makes but also dodging his every move.

As if that is not enough, Ian works for a boss who wishes that he had died during the war. Furthermore, the boss is more than determined to ensure that Inspector Ian is removed from the Scotland Yard police department. However, Bowles did not understand that all it required was a little push. Rutledge is send off to Warwickshire, to look into the bloody killing of Colonel Harris. The main suspect in this investigation is a highly accomplished war hero, who is also a friend to the Crown Prince. Bowles sees this is a perfect opportunity to place Inspector Ian on a nearly impossible mission which will not only ensure that he embarrass the wrong people and ensure that he is removed from the police force. At this point we follow Ian Rutledge as he tries to get to the bottom of a small town killing where information is not only scarce but also the locals do not want what to share information with an outsider.

As if this is not enough, he also has to ensure that he keeps a tight grip on Hamish, the dead soldier who resides in his head. If any person would find out that Ian Rutledge did have an inconsistent Scottish voice inside his head, then his career would not be over but also he was going to be sent for treatment, and his police career would be totally ruined. While conducting the investigation, Inspector Ian meets up with one Lettice Woods an exceedingly beautiful girl. Apart from Lettuce, he also meets up with another beautiful lady, an exceedingly talented and determined female artist. With that said, the mystery is this novel is quite competent, though the protagonist chats with the suspects from time to time instead of performing actual detective work. Overall, this interesting read is full of well-developed characters.

Wings of Fire: The second installment in the Inspector Ian Rutledge book series. In this book, his superior officer to look into the death of three children, in one of the local manor house, dispatches the protagonist to Cornwall. Two of the children had died apparently after a suicide pact was made while the other was because of an accident. Inspector Ian is sent to establish whether there was foul play in the killings. Just like in the first installment, his superior wants to ensure that Ian Rutledge is not involved in the hunt for a serial murderer, which was being conducted in London. Overall, Ian Rutledge is an exceedingly interesting character, who is also quite sympathetic.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Wes Darling Mystery” series is an excellent mystery series from Mike Jastrzebski. For a majority of people, working for the family means, power lunches, afternoon meetings, and suits. However, for this series, it is about lies, dead bodies, and guns. One Aron Dusty Darling established the Darling detective agency in the year 1879. It does not take long before Wes Darling’s stressed out mother decides that it is high time for Wes Darling to take up the detective agency. So, what exactly does Wes decide to do? Wes Darling first decides to quit his job and then returns to Key West and live in a boat. During the initial stages it is all about sunshine, women, and cocktails; however, things begin to take a different turn, when bodies begin to pile up. With that said, this is a mystery series about a retired private investigator, who decides to run away from all kind of responsibilities to live a good life.

What Is The Next Book in The Inspector Ian Rutledge Series?

The next book in the The Inspector Ian Rutledge Series by Charles Todd is A Game of Fear and will be released on February, 15th 2022.

1 thought on “Inspector Ian Rutledge”

  1. The Ian Rutledge series contain interesting characters and realistic dialogue, but some parts of the plots drag on that it almost makes the books unreadable. There are upsides; the details get tangled through different inputs of interviews, clues, and mind games. In the end, these books have good and poor aspects but aren’t a total waste of time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *