Intervention Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Intervention is a series of novels written by Terri Blackstock. Terri is a massive name in the genre of Christian fiction. Her fame emanates from the fact that she writes such engaging and heart pounding Christian novels.

Get notified when Terri Blackstock releases a new book at

Order of Intervention Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Intervention ( By: Terri Blackstock) 2009 Description / Buy
2 Vicious Cycle ( By: Terri Blackstock) 2011 Description / Buy
3 Downfall ( By: Terri Blackstock) 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The author’s novels are filled with real people struggling with real problems. Terri never pulls her punches. She makes as much of an effort to show the darker aspects of humanity as she does the more joyful components of life.

The Intervention series is no different. The books tell the story of the Covington family. In the first book, Intervention, Barbara Covington is a mother facing a nightmare. The fact that her daughter Emily was hooked on drugs was bad enough. But now someone is dead, and Emily is the prime suspect. Only Barbara doesn’t believe these accusations and she spends the rest of the book proving her child’s innocence.

This first novel sets the stage for what becomes a grueling journey for the Covington Family. The novels center on Barbara, Lance, and Emily Covington, not to mention Kent Harlan, the detective who initially sets out to find and arrest Emily for murder.

The series deals with drug addiction. The theme drives the plot for most of the books. It begins with Emily, who is accused of murder and must go on the run while her mother tries to prove her innocence.

Then Lance, the younger child, gets into a bit of trouble when his attempts at helping a drug addicted girl get him arrested for kidnapping. And just as the family looks like they might finally escape the horrors of drugs, the demons of Emily’s past, all the wrongs she did and the mistakes she made, they come back to haunt her, creating trouble for her family.

Kent starts this story as a bystander. He only cares about catching Emily whom he is convinced is a murderer. However, as Kent looks into the Covington family and gets to know Barbara, he begins to hope against all hope that he is wrong because he doesn’t see any seeds of darkness in the members of the Covington Clan.

It doesn’t take long for Kent and Barbara to spark feelings for one another.

Terri Blackstock began her career writing romance novels for Harlequin. So it doesn’t come as a surprise that a series as dark and difficult as Intervention has elements of romance.

The strongest element of the Intervention series is the suspense. One cannot help but bite their nails clean as they fight with the anxiety of wondering whether or not the different members of the Covington family will ever find happiness.

Intervention Awards

Intervention, the first book in the Intervention series, won a Carol Award in 2010. This was at the ACFW Conference.

Best Intervention Books

The intervention series really tugs at the heart strings and leaves readers sympathizing with the Covington family, with some of the best books in the series including:

Intervention: Barbara thought her nightmare was coming to an end. She thought that staging an intervention for her drug addicted daughter Emily would finally begin to set things right. Barbara’s world is upended when Emily not only disappears on her way to rehab but someone dies and her daughter becomes the prime suspect.

Detective Kent Harlan thinks Emily is just another drug crazed teenager who committed murder for a high. Barbara doesn’t believe this story, and when she gets a call for help from Emily, she makes it her mission to bring her daughter back from the edge. But Barbara cannot help but wonder whether she really knows her daughter enough to believe her pleas of innocence.

On the other side of things, Kent’s interactions with Barbara begin to cloud his judgment.

Vicious Cycle: Lance Covington has been trying to help a meth addict get clean. When the fifteen-year-old finds her baby in the backseat of a car, he only has the best intentions in mind. The Police do not see it that way, accusing him of kidnapping and baby trafficking, not to mention drug abuse.

Barbara turns to Detective Kent for help; the pair works to get her son free, help a homeless baby and keep a teenage mother safe.

Other Book Series You May Like

Man fans also enjoy the “Call of Duty” Series by DiAnn Mills. These books tell the stories of women in law enforcement positions that encounter the sort of tragedy and heartache that causes them to fall. They must choose to stand up once more regardless of the risks to bring justice to a world that needs them.

The “Logan Point” Series by Patricia Bradley is another great one. Logan Point is a town in Mississippi. Here men and women, some of whom catch bad guys for a living, meet up, fall in love and overcome their demons.

What Is The Next Book in The Intervention Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Intervention Series. The newest book is Downfall and was released on January, 1st 2012.

1 thought on “Intervention”

  1. Normally I don’t have a problem with Christian fiction, or authors using symbolism, metaphors, and other writing tools to get their point of view across. However, Terri Blackstock obviously doesn’t know how to be subtle, as her books rely heavily on Christian themes; so much so that it just becomes distracting. Her books also always have too many plot lines, like this series. It would’ve been enough that the daughter overdosed, but then we have suspected murder and proving innocence, all piled heavily with Christianity. It’s too much!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *