Ishmael Jones Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Ishmael Jones stars in this series, which is from the mystery genre. He is weirdly all knowing, cynical, and secretive, not to mention deadly. He came to planet Earth in the sixties, and is kept or employed by some puzzling figure referred to only as the “Colonel”. This figure fronts the “Organization”, and sends Jones on missions to find out some secrets and to investigate some people. Sometimes, he kills those people, as that is what he is ordered to do by his superiors.

Get notified when Simon R. Green releases a new book at

Order of Ishmael Jones Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Dark Side of the Road (By: Simon R. Green) 2015 Description / Buy
2 Dead Man Walking ( By: Simon R. Green) 2016 Description / Buy
3 Very Important Corpses ( By: Simon R. Green) 2017 Description / Buy
4 Death Shall Come ( By: Simon R. Green) 2017 Description / Buy
5 Into the Thinnest of Air ( By: Simon R. Green) 2018 Description / Buy
6 Murder in the Dark ( By: Simon R. Green) 2018 Description / Buy
7 Till Sudden Death Do Us Part ( By: Simon R. Green) 2019 Description / Buy
8 Night Train to Murder ( By: Simon R. Green) 2020 Description / Buy
9 The House on Widows Hill (By: Simon R. Green) 2020 Description / Buy
10 Buried Memories (By: Simon R. Green) 2021 Description / Buy
11 Haunted by the Past (By: Simon R. Green) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series began in the year 2015 with the release of “The Dark Side of the Road”.


For those readers looking to get into the “Ishmael Jones” series by Simon R. Green, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “The Dark Side of the Road”, “Dead Man Walking”, and “Very Important Corpses”.

The Dark Side of the Road: This is the first novel in the “Ishmael Jones” series and was released in the year 2015. Ishmael is not someone that can not be noticed, it is just not something he can afford. He drives his vehicle on the dark side of the road. He gets hired to find out secrets, shine lights in certain dark places, and investigate some mysteries. He is invited by the Colonel to spend Christmas with him and his family, and when he gets to Belcourt Manor (which is both grand and isolated) during a blizzard, he finds that the Colonel disappeared under some suspicious circumstances.

Ishmael investigates his fellow guests and finds that at the very least one of them is hiding a dangerous secret. Beneath that facade of good cheer is betrayal, passion, jealousy, and resentment. A storm is coming in that will isolate the Manor from the rest of the world even further. Ishmael has to catch the killer before they are able to kill again.

Dead Man Walking: This is the second novel in the “Ishmael Jones” series and was released in the year 2016. A rogue agent has turned up and would like to spill all the secrets he has. The Organization is tasking Ishmael with figuring out if Frank Parker is just who he says, what exactly he knows, and why he has turned up after all this time has gone by.

He goes off to Ringstone Lodge (which is in Yorkshire), the place that Parker is being held. He finds an air of suspicion and fear. There are some unexplainable and alarming incidents that happen that plague Ishmael and the fellow residents. He decides to prove that it is human doing, rather than any kind of supernatural entity that is behind the supposed ghostly goings on here. Something unexpected happens when one of their own is killed in a brutal manner. Ishmael has to play detective to find this twisted killer before they can kill again.

Very Important Corpses: This is the third novel in the “Ishmael Jones” series and was released in the year 2017. The Organization has sent Ishmael and Penny (who is his partner) out to Coronach House on Loch Ness’ shores. It is here that the Baphamet Group (who are very secretive but are hugely influential) are holding their yearly get together. The Organization is of the mind that there is an imposter among the Group and Ishmael has the job to find whomever it is.

This is not the only mission that Ishmael has, as the first agent that was sent by the Organization was murdered in a terrible way, and found in the room she was in. He has to find out who killed Jennifer Rifkin (one of Ishmael’s fellow agents), and why they did it. He dismisses any rumor that the Coronach Creature (which is something of legend) had anything to do with her brutal death. he goes off to expose who the human killer was that is among them. He has to work quickly before any others killed.


The “Alex Verus” series by Benedict Jacka is another great read. The series is set in Camden, London, and is urban fantasy. Alex Verus is a diviner, and runs a magic shop in the back streets. He has a dark past.

Be sure to check out the “Sandman Slim” series by Richard Kadrey. The series started in the year 2009. It stars James “Sandman Slim” Stark, a guy that escaped out of hell so that he could get revenge on those people that took the life of his lover.

What Is The Next Book in The Ishmael Jones Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Ishmael Jones Series. The newest book is Haunted by the Past and was released on December, 6th 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *