Jack Parlabane Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jack Parlabane refers to a series of crime fiction novels written by Christopher Brookmyre. Parlabane is also the primary protagonist of the series.

Get notified when Christopher Brookmyre releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Jack Parlabane Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Quite Ugly One Morning ( By: Christopher Brookmyre) 1996 Description / Buy
2 Country of the Blind ( By: Christopher Brookmyre) 1997 Description / Buy
3 Boiling a Frog ( By: Christopher Brookmyre) 2000 Description / Buy
4 Be My Enemy ( By: Christopher Brookmyre) 2004 Description / Buy
5 Attack Of The Unsinkable Rubber Ducks ( By: Christopher Brookmyre) 2007 Description / Buy
6 The Last Day of Christmas ( By: Christopher Brookmyre) 2014 Description / Buy
7 Dead Girl Walking ( By: Christopher Brookmyre) 2015 Description / Buy
8 Black Widow ( By: Christopher Brookmyre) 2016 Description / Buy
9 Want You Gone / The Last Hack ( By: Christopher Brookmyre) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Brookmyre writes what people call Tartan Noir, a precedent he set when his debut novel, Quite Ugly One Morning, the first book in the Jack Parlabane series finally hit the shelves in 1997.

The book took readers to Glasgow and immersed them in the life of an unstable journalist with a penchant for trouble. Brookmyre is Scottish. He was actually born in Glasgow, so he knows a little something about the setting.

Jack Parlabane doesn’t appear to be the most likable character when readers meet him in Quite Ugly One Morning. Parlabane is a hard-drinking party animal who doesn’t know when to stop.

At any given point in time, Parlabane is in the process of getting drunk, already drunk or nursing a hangover and looking forward to getting drunk again. As such, it comes as little surprise when the journalist puts himself in harm’s way, showing almost no regard for his own personal survival.

However, something about Jack Parlabane has made him a fan favorite over the years. Fans of Christopher Brookmyre have praised the rogue hero for his charm, sarcastic tone and black humor.

His penchant for getting into trouble also adds to Parlabane’s attractive qualities. For all his weaknesses, the journalist has a strong sense of justice. Whenever he encounters signs of crime and corruption, Jack Parlabane cannot help but investigate.

And like a dog with a bone, Parlabane won’t stop poking and prodding until he identifies the truth. This is despite all the threats to his person that the hero keeps fielding. And he doesn’t really care how many laws he has to bend and break, how many times he has to steal and trespass to achieve goals.

The mysteries at the heart of the Jack Parlabane series typically revolve around Christopher Brookmyre’s personal opinions on politics in Scotland and England. Each new installment in this series always has a strong message from the author.

In fact, some readers have accused Brookmyre of using Parlabane to preach about his political views, an approach that some audiences enjoy while others hate.

The Parlabane books can get a little tasteless in their vivid descriptions of violence and gore.

Jack Parlabane Awards

Quite Ugly One Morning was awarded the First Blood Award in 1996. Boiling a Frog received the Sherlock Award in 2000. Black Widow got the Mcllvanney prize in 2016.

Jack Parlabane Books into Movies

Quite Ugly One Morning, the first Parlabane book became a television film starring James Nesbitt in 2003. The film premiered on the ITV Network and it took several liberties with the story of the novel to the chagrin of fans.

Best Jack Parlabane Books

The Jack Parlabane books have been praised for their grounded mysteries and realistic characters, with some of the best novels in the series including:

Country of The Blind: When a media Moghul is murdered in his home, the blame is placed at the feet of a gang of thieves that he supposedly disturbed. It doesn’t take the authorities long to catch the thieves.

However, they eventually escape from prison. Jack Parlabane comes into the picture when one young solicitor reveals a letter proving that one of the subjects was actually innocent.

Parlabane likes trouble and the mystery in question intrigues him. So he approaches the solicitor. His attempts at assisting her attract all the wrong attention.

Attack of the Unsinkable Rubber Ducks: Jack Parlabane is dead. The journalist never had much faith in the afterlife. So he is quite shocked to find himself living it. This book follows Parlabane as he narrates the events that led to his death.

Everything comes back to a psychic who thought he could produce a theory to connect the scientific to the spiritual. Parlabane was only supposed to be a neutral observer. But, as often happens, things took a left turn.

But now a chance at a far grander mission has come his way.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “DC Connie Childs” Series by Sarah Ward. DC Connie Childs, DS Damian Palmer, and DI Francis Sadler take on the criminals and demented killers of Bampton, Derbyshire in this series of chilling police procedurals.

You may also enjoy the “Dave Robicheaux” Series by James Lee Burke. Detective Dave Robicheaux was scarred by his time in Vietnam. He proceeded to lose his wife. Now the deputy Sheriff in New Iberia, Louisiana, Dave does what he can to put his demons behind him even as he solves crimes.

What Is The Next Book in The Jack Parlabane Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Jack Parlabane Series. The newest book is Want You Gone / The Last Hack and was released on February, 2nd 2017.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *