Christopher Brookmyre Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Author Christopher Brookmyre was born on the sixth of September in the year 1968 in Glasgow, Scotland. He was raised and went to school in Barrhead, and would later attend the University of Glasgow. He has a wife (who works as a anesthetist) and son. He supports St Mirren F. C.; during football season, he makes regular appearances on BBC Scotland’s Sportscene Results show. He calls Scottish football (or fitba) regularly in his books. His debut novel was published in the year 1996 and was called “Quite Ugly One Morning”.

Order of Jack Parlabane Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Quite Ugly One Morning 1996 Description / Buy
2 Country of the Blind 1997 Description / Buy
3 Boiling a Frog 2000 Description / Buy
4 Be My Enemy 2004 Description / Buy
5 Attack Of The Unsinkable Rubber Ducks 2007 Description / Buy
6 The Last Day of Christmas 2014 Description / Buy
7 Dead Girl Walking 2015 Description / Buy
8 Black Widow 2016 Description / Buy
9 Want You Gone / The Last Hack 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Angelique De Xavier Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Big Boy Did It and Ran Away 2001 Description / Buy
2 The Sacred Art of Stealing 2002 Description / Buy
3 A Snowball in Hell 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Jasmine Sharp Investigations Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Where the Bodies Are Buried 2011 Description / Buy
2 When the Devil Drives 2012 Description / Buy
3 Flesh Wounds/Bred in the Bone 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Christopher Brookmyre Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Not the End of the World 1998 Description / Buy
2 One Fine Day in the Middle of the Night 1999 Description / Buy
3 All Fun And Games Until Somebody Loses An Eye 2005 Description / Buy
4 A Tale Etched In Blood And Hard Black Pencil 2006 Description / Buy
5 Pandaemonium 2009 Description / Buy
6 Bedlam 2013 Description / Buy
7 Places in the Darkness 2017 Description / Buy
8 Fallen Angel 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Christopher Brookmyre Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Jaggy Splinters 2012 Description / Buy

Christopher Brookmyre Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Crimespotting 2009 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

He has written these series: the “Jack Parlabane” series, the “Angelique de Xavia”, the “Jasmine Sharp and Catherine McLeod” series. The novels mix action, comedy, social comment, and politics and have a strong narrative. His work has been called Tartan Noir.


Christopher Brookmyre has won quite a few awards (and even been nominated or shortlisted for more). “Quite Ugly One Morning” won Critics’ First Blood Award for the best first crime novel of the year (1996). “Black Widow” won the McIlvanney Prize (which used to be called the Scottish Crime Book of the Year) in 2016. “Boiling a Frog” won the Sherlock Award for best comic detective in the year 2000, and won the same award in the year 2004 for the novel “Be My Enemy”. He is the only author to win this award twice. In the year 2006, “All Fun and Games until Someone Loses an Eye” won the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for comic fiction; a Gloucestershire Old Spot pig was named for this novel (it is the tradition to name one after the winning novel). University of Glasgow named him Young Alumus of the Year in the year 2005. In the year 2007, he won the Glenfiddich Spirit of Scotland Award for writing.


In the year 2003, “Quite Ugly One Morning” was adapted by ITV with the lead part of Jack Parlabane being played by James Nesbitt.


For those readers looking to get into novels by Christopher Brookmyre, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Quite Ugly One Morning”, “Country of the Blind”, and “Boiling a Frog”.

Quite Ugly One Morning: This is the first novel in the “Jack Parlabane” series and was released in the year 1996. This series stars the wise cracking and hard-partying investigative journalist named Jack Parlabane. He is a man that is not at all afraid to bend the laws of the land, sometimes the laws of gravity to get at the truth of the matter.

Parlabane is getting over his latest hangover when he finds the corpse of a descendant of a wealthy Edinburgh medical family. He wants to get to the bottom of things all by himself, and finds that he is in the middle of quite a wild adventure. It is going to take him through the strata of Edinburgh’s society; it will also see him get into some hysterical and dangerous spots.

Country of the Blind: This is the second novel in the “Jack Parlabane” series and was released in the year 1997. A media mogul is killed in his country mansion and it looks like he was killed due to the fact he disturbed the would be robbers in the act. The thieves are apprehended quickly, but are moved unexpectedly to another prison. They escape.

Meanwhile in Edinburgh, a young lawyer tells the media that one of gang left her a letter from before the break in that serves to prove him innocent. Jack Parlabane is intrigued by this, and when he tries to talk to the lawyer, he finds that someone wants near her, too. They have an evil intent, not to mention strong political connections and a corrupt agenda.

Boiling a Frog: This is the third novel in the “Jack Parlabane” series and was released in the year 2000. Jack Parlabane is in prison, due to his own self confidence. An inexperienced Scottish parliament is in shock after experiencing their first experience of sleaze in Westminster. Scotland’s Catholic Church takes advantage of the discomfort that the politicians are feeling and ride high in polls; they serve as the voice of morality.

Behind it all, truth gets muddied by spin doctors. Parlabane is in prison, and knows that he is missing out on a great story. He finds that having a great way with words and contacts are a lousy defense against people that he has put away in the past.

When Does The Next Christopher Brookmyre book come out?

Christopher Brookmyre doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Boiling a Frog and was released on June, 24th 2020. It is the newest book in the Jack Parlabane Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *