Jackrabbit Junction Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jackrabbit Junction is a series of cozy mystery romance novels written by Ann Charles. Jackrabbit Junction is a dusty town in Arizona that never seizes to attract trouble. Readers are introduced to the setting in Dance of the Winnebagos, the first book in the series.

Get notified when Ann Charles releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Jackrabbit Junction Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dance of the Winnebagos ( By: Ann Charles) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Jackrabbit Junction Jitters ( By: Ann Charles) 2012 Description / Buy
3 The Great Jackalope Stampede ( By: Ann Charles) 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Rowdy Coyote Rumble ( By: Ann Charles) 2016 Description / Buy
5 The Wild Turkey Tango ( By: Ann Charles) 2016 Description / Buy
6 In Cahoots with the Prickly Pear Posse (By: Ann Charles) 2019 Description / Buy
7 Jackrabbit Jingle Balls (Short Story) (By: Ann Charles) 2021 Description / Buy
8 Twisty Tortoise Tussles (By: Ann Charles) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Claire Morgan takes center stage as a woman in her thirties who goes to Jackrabbit Junction to give her grandfather a helping hand. While Claire isn’t especially clear on what is required of her, she knows she doesn’t want to spend her time babysitting a bunch of old men whose overexcited libidos have them chasing women several years their junior.

But that is exactly what she ends up doing. Fortunately for Claire, Jackrabbit Junction has a penchant for drawing all the weirdoes and the crazies of the world. And it doesn’t take the feisty lady long to get drawn into a mystery involving a buried bone.

Even though Claire Morgan initially goes to Jackrabbit for the sake of her grandfather, she cannot bring herself to part with the town. Part of that has to do with Claire’s overactive imagination. Claire has a nose for conspiracies and she cannot help but sniff them out and dissect them until she understands their origins.

It is for that reason that she is repeatedly stumbling into mysteries of a criminal nature. Interestingly enough, though, it would be erroneous to compare these books to their counterparts in the cozy mystery genre.

The Jackrabbit Junction series can be categorized as a cozy mystery because of its silly cast of characters and the mysteries that draw them together. However, the mysteries are never at the center of the books in question.

What normally starts out as a hunt for a thief, a murderer or a thieving murderer usually ends with Claire getting sidetracked by the antics the people in her life are prone to.

Claire’s grandfather is one of the bigger culprits. Despite his age, the old man has no qualms about getting into precarious situations at the RV Park where he resides, and the dirty old men he calls his friends and acquaintances only make Claire’s attempts at keeping him safe that much more difficult.

Then there’s Claire’s sister Katie whose love of men normally overrides her common sense. The sisters’ mother is one of the least likable individuals in the entire series and her acidic personality only complicates Claire’s life.

When Claire does escape the machinations of her family, she rarely finds solace in the arms of Mac, a handsome, sensible man who should be the love of her life. Except that Claire is not ready for a commitment and is constantly struggling to temper Mac’s plans to develop their relationship.

The Jackrabbit Junction books are primarily praised for their humor, especially the banter between Claire and her supporting cast. When criticisms do arise, they revolve around the unnecessarily large cast of characters most of whom only exist to initiate zany antics that are supposed to spark humor but fruitlessly derail the plot.

Best Jackrabbit Junction Books

Even at its worst, the Jackrabbit series has an uncanny ability to keep audiences engaged using the author’s penchant for producing witty banter, with some of the best books in the series including:

Jackrabbit Junction Jitters: Jackrabbit Junction is a hive of activity. Preparations are being made for Claire Morgan’s grandfather’s upcoming wedding to Ruby. And unfortunately for everyone involved, Claire’s acidic mother is in town and she is determined to spread her misery to everyone she meets.

But Claire cannot worry about any of that. She just found a poem that might hold the key to locating a hidden treasure. Then there are all the robberies that have been happening in town. There isn’t enough time in Claire’s days for her to juggle so many distractions.

The Great Jackalope Stampede: Claire Morgan is back in another hilarious escapade. There are still plenty of conspiracies afoot in Jackrabbit including one about a stolen treasure she must acquire before goons come gunning for it.

Claire’s relationship with Mac is still an unnerving rollercoaster ride. For all Mac’s attributes, Claire cannot bring herself to fully commit to their romance. Grandpa and his cronies are up to no good, as usual, and so is her sister Ronnie who has tangled with a gang of older girls at the library.

Other Book Series You May Like

A great read is the “Deadwood” Series by Ann Charles. Violet Parker is a single mother trying to start over in Deadwood. Already overworked and struggling to meet her financial obligations, Violet’s constant attempts at selling vintage homes keeps bringing her into contact with murder and mayhem.

Be sure to check out the “Eat, Pray, Die” Series by Chelsea Field. Isobel Avery is an undercover poison taster working for the rich and famous residents of Los Angeles. Avery uses her inside knowledge and access to the privileged to help solve crimes.

What Is The Next Book in The Jackrabbit Junction Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Jackrabbit Junction Series. The newest book is Twisty Tortoise Tussles and was released on July, 25th 2022.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *