Jane Yellowrock Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jane Yellowrock is the primary protagonist of the Jane Yellowrock series which follows the exploits of a vampire hunter that fights supernatural creatures.

Get notified when Faith Hunter releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Jane Yellowrock Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Skinwalker ( By: Faith Hunter) 2009 Description / Buy
2 Blood Cross ( By: Faith Hunter) 2010 Description / Buy
3 Mercy Blade ( By: Faith Hunter) 2011 Description / Buy
4 Cat Tales ( By: Faith Hunter) 2011 Description / Buy
5 Raven Cursed ( By: Faith Hunter) 2012 Description / Buy
6 Golden Delicious (By: Faith Hunter) 2012 Description / Buy
7 Have Stakes, Will Travel ( By: Faith Hunter) 2012 Description / Buy
8 Death's Rival ( By: Faith Hunter) 2012 Description / Buy
9 Blood Trade ( By: Faith Hunter) 2013 Description / Buy
10 The Early Years ( By: Faith Hunter) 2013 Description / Buy
11 The Jane Yellowrock World Companion (By: Faith Hunter) 2013 Description / Buy
12 Cat o' Nine Tales ( By: Faith Hunter) 2013 Description / Buy
13 Beneath a Bloody Moon ( By: Faith Hunter) 2013 Description / Buy
14 Black Arts ( By: Faith Hunter) 2014 Description / Buy
15 Black Water (Short Story) ( By: Faith Hunter) 2014 Description / Buy
16 Broken Soul ( By: Faith Hunter) 2014 Description / Buy
17 Dark Heir ( By: Faith Hunter) 2015 Description / Buy
18 Blood in Her Veins ( By: Faith Hunter) 2016 Description / Buy
19 Shadow Rites ( By: Faith Hunter) 2016 Description / Buy
20 Cold Reign ( By: Faith Hunter) 2017 Description / Buy
21 Dark Queen ( By: Faith Hunter) 2018 Description / Buy
22 Shattered Bonds ( By: Faith Hunter) 2019 Description / Buy
23 True Dead (By: Faith Hunter) 2021 Description / Buy
24 Of Claws and Fangs (By: Faith Hunter) 2022 Description / Buy
25 Final Heir (By: Faith Hunter) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Jane Yellowrock series can be categorized as urban fantasy. Skinwalker, the first novel, was published in 2009. At the time, the urban fantasy genre was at its peak. A significant number of the novels hitting the bookshelves and making a splash on bestseller lists in the late 2000s involved some sort of mythic creature from the annals of horror emerging to either cause havoc or fight to save humanity.

As such, it isn’t that surprising that Skinwalker did not have much of an impact when it first came out. The Jane Yellowrock series was merely one in a sea of dozens of urban fantasy novels, if not hundreds.

The books only attracted interest and attention in the years that followed, drawing readers in because of their strong female character. The Jane Yellowrock series takes place in a world where the supernatural is commonplace.

The existence vampires and witches are known to the public. In fact, by the time this series starts, the vampires and the witches are lobbying the government to grant them the rights they believe they deserve.

However, just because witches and vampires now live side by side with humans doesn’t mean everything is peachy. Like their human counterparts, the supernatural community has plenty of rogue elements, individuals that relish the opportunity to unleash madness and mayhem.

Vampires and witches normally rely on their own governing bodies to maintain law and order. When things get out of hand and particularly vicious members of their community begin to threaten the lives of humans and supernatural creatures alike, hunters like Jane Yellowrock are called upon to intervene.

Skinwalker refers to Jane as a rogue vampire hunter. The protagonist is essentially a mercenary. Individuals, gangs, and families call upon her when there’s a vampire that needs to be killed.

But Jane isn’t just an assassin. In fact, it would be more accurate to call her a detective. When things go wrong in the supernatural community, the perpetrator isn’t always known.

More often than not, the vampire hunter must visit crime scenes, collect clues, interview suspects and use her cunning and intellect to solve mysteries. Once Jane identifies her target, she wastes little time in getting down to the killing part.

Jane’s investigative abilities are aided by the fact that she is a skinwalker. Jane has the power to take the shape of other animals. She also shares her body and soul with a mountain lion.

The heroine has no idea how it happened. She has no memories of her past or the events that fused her with the creature that she calls Beast. Though, Jane has learned to work with and depend on her mountain lion in times of crisis.

Jane Yellowrock’s power, while convenient, isn’t without its drawbacks. Not only is the transformation painful but it consumes a lot of energy, so much so that she has to eat large amounts of food to resolve the calorie deficiencies that arise.

It should be noted that while this series initially focuses on vampires and witches, other supernatural creatures begin to emerge down the line.

Best Jane Yellowrock Books

Faith Hunter, the author, doesn’t do anything particularly new with these books; her success can be imputed to her ability to take the same old urban fantasy tropes and deliver them in a refreshing manner, with some of the best novels in this series including:

Mercy Blade: The world is changing. Just as the public was beginning to accept the idea of witches and vampires, werewolves came out of the closet and announced their existence, a development that reignited old conflicts.

Jane cannot avoid the crossfire, not when she works for Leo Pellissier. The vampire hunter realizes just how dangerous things have become when she is attacked by a pack of werewolves.

Girard, the man who saves her, reveals that he once worked as an assassin for Leo. Jane cannot help but wonder what caused Girard to flee from New Orleans and what has ultimately brought him back.

Raven Cursed: Jane Yellowrock has been hired to protect an envoy sent to the Vampires of Ashville by the Master Vampire of New Orleans. The Asheville vampires want to establish their own clan.

The envoy is charged with discussing the terms that will enable them to break their allegiance to the Master Vampire of New Orleans.

When a killer rears his ugly head, Jane must find him before the negotiations are ruined and the Master Vampire of New Orleans turns his anger on her.

Other Book Series You May Like

You will also enjoy the “20-Sided Sorceress” Series by Annie Bellet. Jade Crow looks like an ordinary girl who runs a comic book and game store in Idaho. In truth, she is a powerful sorceress that is on the run from her ex-lover, a man that wishes to claim her powers by eating her heart.

Be sure to check out the “Legacy” Series by McKenzie Hunter. Levy Michaels comes from a line of magically powerful individuals who once waged war against the supernatural community. Her kind was eventually exterminated. Now that the supernatural community has come out of the closet, Levy lives in fear.

If her true identity was ever discovered, it would cost her everything.

What Is The Next Book in The Jane Yellowrock Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Jane Yellowrock Series. The newest book is Final Heir and was released on September, 6th 2022.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *