Jim Rook Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Ever since he became a published author, Graham Masterton has published three short story collections and more than 35 novels. The Manitou, Masterton’s debut novel became an instant bestseller. Apart from the Manitou, Graham also has several other bestselling novels under his name, including the Trauma Spirit, the Chosen Child and Prey. As an accomplished author, Graham Masterton is the recipient of a Bram Stroker Award and an Edgar Award as well.

Get notified when Graham Masterton releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Jim Rook Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rook ( By: Graham Masterton) 1996 Description / Buy
2 Tooth And Claw ( By: Graham Masterton) 1997 Description / Buy
3 The Terror ( By: Graham Masterton) 1997 Description / Buy
4 Snowman ( By: Graham Masterton) 1999 Description / Buy
5 Swimmer ( By: Graham Masterton) 2001 Description / Buy
6 Darkroom ( By: Graham Masterton) 2004 Description / Buy
7 Demon's Door ( By: Graham Masterton) 2010 Description / Buy
8 Garden of Evil ( By: Graham Masterton) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Jim Rook book series has been ongoing for nearly 20 years now with the first book being published way back in 1996. The series features much of Graham Masterton’s trademark horror and focuses on a new kind of protagonist: a high school remedial teacher who investigates supernatural cases on the side. Oh, and he has a super cat who helps him named Tibbles Two.

Best Jim Rook Books

The Rook: Author Graham Masterton, one of the most prolific writers in England begins this new horror series, by introducing the readers to Jim Rook; a California psychic who earns a living by teaching remedial classes in one of the local high schools. When Jim Rook was a child, a bout of pneumonia almost claimed his life.

However, what Jim Rook did not know is that pneumonia awoke his psychic abilities. One fine morning, Jim Rook stops a bloody battle within the boy’s locker room, between Elvin’s and Jay. A few moments later, Rook finds Elvin’s body inside the boiler room, with lots of stab wounds. The local police arrest, Tee Jay, the boy who had an altercation with Elvis. Nonetheless, as the police took Tee Jay away, Jim Rook begins to see a man with a black suit first at the crime scene and then at the school halls. The only problem is that Jim Rook is the only person who could see the man in a black suit.

Mrs. Vaizey, Jim’s psychic neighbor, tries to awaken Jim to his psychic abilities, which Jim Rook denies. Later on, the Shadow Man also known as the Smoke appears to Jim and asks him for his assistance. Jim Rook is more than certain that Umber, Tee Jay’s uncle, a believer and follower of evil is Elvin’s killer.

Furthermore, Jim Rook is more than certain that the smoke man is somewhat connected to Umber. When Mrs. Vaizey tries to enter Umber’s apartment by going out of her body, Jim can only watch helplessly as Umber kills her most mercilessly. As the days go by, the Smoke begins to appear in Jim’s classroom. Initially, it is only Tee Jay and the Rook who can see the Smoke Man. Nonetheless, as time goes by, the other kids in the classroom begin to be aware of the Smoke Man’s presence. Uncle Umber wants Jim Rook to convey a message to the local drug dealer; Umber wants 90 percent of all the shipments that the drug dealer brings in.

As it eventually turns out, the Smoke Man is Umber’s mysterious henchman. Towards the end, Jim and his students decide to stand up to Uncle Umber and steal his voodoo stick, which is the main source of power. With that said, a sympathetic and poetry reading protagonist provides author Graham Masterton with numerous better than average pages.

Tooth and Claw: In this second installment by author Graham Masterton, we meet with one Catherine Bird, who can turn into a gigantic raging creature, whose claws can reap out hearts and rip holes into steel. Just like in the Rook, Jim Rook is still a community college teacher, in charge of remedial classes for the slow learners. Rook brings these students up to date, by revealing poetry.

Nonetheless, while going with his day to day lessons, Jim Rook comes to the discovery that the conniving and demonic, Dog Brother promised one of his students, Catherine marriage when she was only 12 years old. The demonic Dog Brother possesses the ability to call forth the dreadful spirits known as the Coyote. When we meet with Catherine, she is 15 years old and has a boyfriend whom she loves dearly.

Snowman: This is one of the most popular books in the series as it takes us into the background of how Jim Rook’s amazing cat Tibbles Two came to be.

This book sees Jim Rook’s Southern California campus plagued with weird experiences during the hot summer. Things like frozen water fountains, bathrooms coated in ice and the school pool freezing. Rook and his cat realize the only way they can stop this is by heading north to help out an Uniut student from his class whose dad made a deal with an Uniut spirit. Interestingly, there is even a bit of a romantic interest in this one for Rook which is not always the case for him in his chosen path.

This book does a great job of mixing the mythology and culture of the Unuit culture into the modern day world. The Alaskan setting adds to the chills that this book delivers and the mythology is deep and engrossing. Classic Masterton writing with tons of action and suspense. This book is another great entry into the Jim Rook series.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Katie Maguire” book series is another highly entertaining book series by author Graham Masterton. In Katie Maguire, the readers meet with Katie Maguire, one of the 7 children of a well-respected police officer. Unlike, the other six sisters, Kate is the only child who decided to follow their father’s line of work. With Katie’s short red hair and bright eyes, she looks more of an Irish Pixie. However, Katie is indeed a tough nut to crack and can be quite persistent if she chooses to.

What Is The Next Book in The Jim Rook Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Jim Rook Series. The newest book is Garden of Evil and was released on March, 1st 2013.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *