Joe Ledger Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Joe Ledger refers to a series of action thriller novels written by Jonathan Maberry. Ledger is also the primary protagonist of the series.

Order of Joe Ledger Series

1Patient Zero2009Description / Buy
2The Dragon Factory2010Description / Buy
3The King of Plagues2011Description / Buy
4Zero Tolerance2011Description / Buy
5The Missing Files2011Description / Buy
6Assassin's Code2012Description / Buy
7Extinction Machine2013Description / Buy
8Code Zero2014Description / Buy
9Predator One2015Description / Buy
10Kill Switch2016Description / Buy
11Dogs of War2017Description / Buy
12Deep Silence2018Description / Buy

Order of Joe Ledger Short Stories/Novellas

1Material Witness2011Description / Buy
2Special Ops2014Description / Buy

Order of Joe Ledger Anthologies

1Unstoppable2017Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Jonathan Maberry made a name for himself for writing novels and comic books that blend science fiction, fantasy, action, and horror. So when he finally wrote Patient Zero in 2009, the book only further cemented his position in this blend of genres, giving his readers an amalgamation of some of the concepts that had drawn them to him.

Patient Zero picks up with Joe Ledger facing off against a pharmaceutical company hellbent on exposing the world to a toxin that turns human beings into zombies. When he is first introduced to readers, Ledger is just another police officer in Baltimore.

After a life spent in the military, the former Army Ranger believes he has seen it all. But then he is recruited by the Department of Military Sciences, an agency in the government, and learns that the world is far more dangerous than he could have possibly imagined.

Threats are amassing both inside and outside the United States; otherworldly threats like zombies and supernatural plagues and Artifical Intelligence systems that wish to either decimate the world, reshape it or control it.

The DMS is technically a branch of Homeland Security. Where Homeland Security fights to keep dangerous human elements from bringing harm to America, the DMS has been charged with contending against the extraordinary threats that even Homeland Security’s competent personnel is unable to fight.

By the time Joe Ledger joins the DMS, the agency is in the process of fighting off a terrorist with plans to flood the streets of America with the undead.

Even though the premise of Patient Zero promises a zombie story, the book is more action, adventure, and spy thriller than anything else, with the zombie aspects only popping up on a select few occasions.

Each new book in the Joe Ledger series finds Ledger facing off against a new threat of a paranormal or science fiction nature. Sometimes Ledger is merely an agent that has been deployed to save the world.

On a few occasions, the DMS will come under attack from its numerous enemies and he must rise up to defend it. The protagonist is a relatively typical alpha male; an unrivaled warrior that is not only strong and handsome but also honorable and respectful, the perfect weapon for an organization like the DMS.

Joe Ledger Awards

Some of the accolades attracted by the books in the Joe Ledger series include a Bram Stoker Award nomination and an Audies nomination in the Science Fiction category.

Best Joe Ledger Books

The Joe Ledger series is typically praised for its fast pace, unique concepts and the author’s ability to accurately describe the frenetic action, with some of the best books in the series including:

The King of Plagues: The DMS quickly deploys Joe to London when a hospital in the city is decimated by an explosion. The devastation is so horrific that it leaves Ledger both grieved and enraged. By the time Ledger returns to the DMS, the organization has come under attack from an entity that seems determined to use the 10 plagues of Egypt to bring the world to its knees.

To save the world, Ledger must get down into the mud with his enemy.

Assassin’s Code: Joe Ledger initially doesn’t think much of his mission to help a couple of American kid escape their Iranian captors. But then the mission leads Ledger and his team to a collection of hidden nuclear bombs which, in turn, open the way for the DMS to stumble upon hidden vaults bursting to the seams with forbidden knowledge.

Now Ledger is beginning to question his perception of the world. He is joined by a beautiful killer in his efforts to locate a special book.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another good read is the “Task Force Ombra” Series by Weston Ochse. Benjamin Carter Mason was an army veteran who thought he died. Then he woke up and learned the truth. Alien creatures had invaded the world and an organization was recruiting victims of suicide, arming them and sending them into the thick of things, tasked with saving the world.

The “Autumn” Series by David Moody is another great one. These books take readers to a world where 99 percent of the world’s population is killed in less than a day, and then they return from the dead as zombies whose only purpose is to eat the living.

What Is The Next Book in The Joe Ledger Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Joe Ledger Series. The newest book is Deep Silence and was released on October, 30th 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *