John Corey Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

John Corey is a series of novels written by Nelson DeMille, an American author. The novels revolve around John Corey. The retired NYPD police officer finds a second chance at working in law enforcement when he joins the FBI on special assignment.

Get notified when Nelson DeMille releases a new book at

Order of John Corey Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Plum Island (By: Nelson DeMille) 1997 Description / Buy
2 The Lion's Game (By: Nelson DeMille) 2000 Description / Buy
3 Night Fall ( By: Nelson DeMille) 2004 Description / Buy
4 Wild Fire ( By: Nelson DeMille) 2006 Description / Buy
5 The Lion (By: Nelson DeMille) 2010 Description / Buy
6 The Panther (By: Nelson DeMille) 2012 Description / Buy
7 The Book Case (By: Nelson DeMille) 2012 Description / Buy
8 Radiant Angel / A Quiet End ( By: Nelson DeMille) 2015 Description / Buy
9 The Maze (By: Nelson DeMille) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

John Corey is every cocky detective readers can think of, boasting a notable disrespect for authority and eliciting pleasure from all the powers he frequently crosses. With his personality of bemused detachment, Corey can afford to go head to head with his superiors because of his confidence in his abilities as a detective.

A powerhouse that does not know how to relinquish a case until he has solved it, Corey’s story began in 1997 with Plum Island, the first book in the John Corey series. A young couple with whom Corey was familiar was murdered. Corey was on medical leave at the time following a shooting and he soon connected the double murder to a nefarious plan with global implications.

Nelson DeMille eventually had Corey leave the NYPD as a whole in order pursue more fulfilling work with the FBI. The John Corey books initially focus on local matters. However, over time they begin to tackle much larger cases involving conspiracies and terrorism.

By the time the series begins, Nelson’s protagonist is divorced. Corey and his wife separated after she stopped working to put criminals away and instead took a high paying job that saw her fighting to keep them out of prison, a change that Corey wasn’t happy with.

Over the duration of the books, Corey finds love in the form of a florist and a homicide detective; though only FBI Agent Kate Mayfield has a lasting impact on him because he eventually marries her.

Nelson DeMille has been writing professionally since 1978 when his first novel By the Rivers of Babylon was released. The author has written a lot of crime and detective novels. And he typically writes linearly in the first person.

Readers have frequently commended the author for his use of sarcasm and dry humor which the John Corey series has a lot of.

John Corey Books into Movies

Talks of a possible John Corey movie adaption have been rife for a long time. In fact, the rights to the first two books in the series were purchased by Columbia Pictures back in 2000 with the intention of producing a franchise surrounding the character of John Corey. However, the project is yet to bare any fruit.

Even more surprising was news in 2016 that the John Corey books would be adapted into a television series that would premier on ABC. The series would follow an NYPD police officer who gets shot in the line of duty and must then come to terms with the prospect of retirement.

Nelson DeMille has expressed his support for the project, saying that a television series would suit the John Corey series far better than a feature length film.

Best John Corey Books

The John Corey series has elicited a lot of interest from fans of crime literature since its inception years ago, with some of the best books in the series including:

Plum Island: John Corey’s peace is shattered when an attractive couple is shot to death. The NYPD Homicide Cop was on medical leave in rural eastern Long Island when the incident happened. And Corey knew the couple.

The fact that the victims were biologists at an incubator for germ warfare tells Corey that something bigger is going on. The NYPD homicide cop is soon drawn into a conspiracy with global implications.

This book is designed to have a wide appeal. John Corey, the protagonist, is portrayed as quite the womanizer who tries to bed every woman he sees. Nelson DeMille’s strong point is his ability to tell a story, this elevating his basic writing style.

The Lion’s Game: The Lion is considered to be the deadliest terrorist in the world. He is determined to rain hell down on the United States, and it is up to John Corey to do what an entire task force has failed to do and stop the Lion.

This book inundates readers with plot twists. Nelson DeMille endeavors to ratchet up the tension, delivering an unrelenting race against time to stop a vicious killer.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “King and Maxwell” books follow the lives of a pair of former secret service agents. Michelle Maxwell and Sean King were both discredited for their mistakes on the job. Now they have been drawn into a world filled with lies, violence and deadly secrets.

The “Special Agent Pendergast” Series by Douglas Preston tells the story of Aloysius Xingu Leng Pendergast, an FBI agent that travels across different states to investigate cases that interest him, especially those involving serial killers.

What Is The Next Book in The John Corey Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The John Corey Series. The newest book is The Maze and was released on October, 11th 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *