Douglas Preston Books

Douglas Preston was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts in the year 1956 May, 20th. He is a graduate of Cambridge School of Weston and Pomona College in Claremont, California. He is known for his horror and techno-thriller novels that he has been doing. Douglas began his writing career at American Museum in New York where he worked from 1978 to 185 as an editor, manager of publications and as a writer. Douglas Preston’s writing career began all the way from the year 1985 before he relocated to New Mexico in 1986 where he started writing as a full-time job.

Order of Douglas Preston Non-Fiction Books

Order of Douglas Preston Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Jennie 1994
2 Mount Dragon 1996
3 Riptide 1998
4 Thunderhead 1999
5 The Codex 2003
6 Trial By Fury 2013

Order of Gideon Crew Series

# Read Title Published
1 Gideon's Sword 2011
2 Gideon's Corpse 2012
3 The Lost Island 2014
4 Beyond the Ice Limit 2016

Order of Ice Limit Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Ice Limit 2001
2 Beyond the Ice Limit 2016

Order of Pendergast Series

# Read Title Published
1 Relic 1995
2 Reliquary 1997
3 The Cabinet of Curiosities 2001
4 Still Life with Crows 2003
5 Brimstone 2004
6 Dance of Death 2005
7 The Book of the Dead 2006
8 The Wheel of Darkness 2007
9 Cemetery Dance 2009
10 Fever Dream 2010
11 Cold Vengeance 2011
12 Two Graves 2012
13 Extraction 2012
14 White Fire 2013
15 Blue Labyrinth 2014
16 Crimson Shore 2015
17 The Obsidian Chamber 2016

Order of Wyman Ford Series

# Read Title Published
1 Tyrannosaur Canyon 2005
2 Blasphemy 2007
3 Impact 2009
4 The Kraken Project 2014


Print: Print PDF

During his first works, Douglas sought to understand the relationship that was there between the Native Americans and the Europeans in America and he was able to retrace Francisco Vásquez de Coronado on a horseback. This led him to write a book called Cities of Gold which is an American Southwest Journey. Though Douglas is well known as the major collaborator of Lincoln Child, he has also been able to produce on his own numerous novels. Some of the works he has done with Lincoln include the series of Agent Pendergast and Gideon Crew among others. Some of the series he has written include Wyman Ford Series. Apart from novels, Douglas has also authored non-fictional books that are based on science, true crime, history and exploration. The top books of Douglas include the Blue Labyrinth, The Relic and the Blasphemy.


Relic is one of the well-known books written by Preston in collaboration with Lincoln Child. This novel has been translated to several languages and it has been a featuring film by Pendergast. The Cabinet of Curiosities is also another novel written by Preston and Child that has been turned to movies in the Pendergast TV series. Crimson Shore is another popular book by Douglas that is popular in the Pendergast Series.


The top appreciated books by Douglas Preston include the Relic, Brimstone and Crimson Shore.

The Relic: This is a novel that Douglas Preston was able to produce in collaboration with Lincoln Child in the year 1995. The fame of this novel became as a result of it being the first in the Special Agent Pendergast TV series. The novel is a techno-thriller and it is about the generic manipulation of inherent. The novel is also about the critical of museums and their function in both the scientific and the social community. The main character in the novel is D’Agosta Vincent who is a police officer trying to solve the murders. Another significant character in the novel is Green Margo who is a graduate student at the museum among other characters. Come 1997, a film based on the novel was released though some aspects of the story were changed a little bit and this made the book to become even more famous. Numerous characters were omitted and the setting of the story was also changed to Chicago Museum of Natural History. At the launch of the film, Peter Hyams among others became the director of the movie.

The Brimstone: This is another thriller that Douglas Preston wrote in collaboration with Lincoln Child. The book was published by Warner Books on 3rd August, 2004. In the Pendergast Series the Special Agent, the book becomes the fifth. The fame of the novel is as a result of it being the first in the trilogy of Diogenes. The novel is about uncovering of the motives and the tricks of the killers behind the gruesome and strange deaths in Italy. As the mystery is being revealed, the truth is also revealed about the priceless and a missing violin. There is also an aversion of a potentially apocalyptic riot that could take place with the Messianic Christians. The details about the insane Diogenes is revealed by his brother Pendergast with a belief that he is having horrible plans.

Crimson Shore: This is another thriller novel that Douglas produced with Lincoln Child. The release of the book was on 10th November, 2015. In the Agent Pendergast Series, the book becomes the fifteenth and it is here that the book has gained its popularity. In the novel, there is a seemingly simple private case that suddenly turns out to be much complicated. Pendergast is travelling to the village of Exmouth, a quaint seaside. Here he goes to investigate the theft of a wine collection where in the wine collar they find something quite disturbing. They encounter a niche that is bricked up and at one time held a crumbling skeleton.