Lincoln Child Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Lincoln Child was born in Westport, Connecticut in 1957. He is a famous writer of horror and thriller novels, especially techno-trillers. Child is especially renowned for his collaboration with fellow writer Douglas Preston, He graduated from Carleton College in Northfield, and got a degree in English. Child was performing the function of the editor at St Martin’s Press at the beginning of his career. After he left that publisher, he got a job at MetLife, as a system analyst. Child did not consider writing career until the mid 90’s. His first novel was published in 1995, and the success of the book opened him various opportunities and he seized them, thus becoming a full-time writer.

Get notified when Lincoln Child releases a new book at

Order of Pendergast Series with Douglas Preston

# Read Title Published Details
1 Relic 1995 Description / Buy
2 Reliquary 1997 Description / Buy
3 The Cabinet of Curiosities 2001 Description / Buy
4 Still Life with Crows 2003 Description / Buy
5 Brimstone 2004 Description / Buy
6 Dance of Death 2005 Description / Buy
7 The Book of the Dead 2006 Description / Buy
8 The Wheel of Darkness 2007 Description / Buy
9 Cemetery Dance 2009 Description / Buy
10 Fever Dream 2010 Description / Buy
11 Cold Vengeance 2011 Description / Buy
12 Extraction 2012 Description / Buy
13 Two Graves 2012 Description / Buy
14 White Fire 2013 Description / Buy
15 Blue Labyrinth 2014 Description / Buy
16 Crimson Shore 2015 Description / Buy
17 The Obsidian Chamber 2016 Description / Buy
18 City of Endless Night 2018 Description / Buy
19 Verses for the Dead 2018 Description / Buy
20 The Strange Case of Monsieur Bertin (Short Story) 2019 Description / Buy
21 Crooked River 2020 Description / Buy
22 Bloodless 2021 Description / Buy
23 The Cabinet of Dr. Leng 2023 Description / Buy
24 Angel of Vengeance 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Dr. Jeremy Logan Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Deep Storm 2007 Description / Buy
2 Terminal Freeze 2008 Description / Buy
3 The Third Gate 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Forgotten Room 2015 Description / Buy
5 Full Wolf Moon 2017 Description / Buy
6 Chrysalis 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Gideon Crew Series with Douglas Preston

# Read Title Published Details
1 Gideon's Sword 2011 Description / Buy
2 Gideon's Corpse 2012 Description / Buy
3 The Lost Island 2014 Description / Buy
4 Beyond the Ice Limit 2016 Description / Buy
5 The Pharaoh Key 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Nora Kelly Series with Douglas Preston

# Read Title Published Details
1 Thunderhead 1999 Description / Buy
2 Old Bones 2019 Description / Buy
3 The Scorpion's Tail 2021 Description / Buy
4 Diablo Mesa 2022 Description / Buy
5 Dead Mountain 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Tales of the Dark Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Tales of the Dark ( With: Bram Stoker, Charlotte Perkins Gilman) 1987 Description / Buy
2 Tales of the Dark 3 1988 Description / Buy

Order of Lincoln Child Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Mount Dragon ( With: Douglas Preston) 1996 Description / Buy
2 Riptide ( With: Douglas Preston) 1998 Description / Buy
3 Death Match 2000 Description / Buy
4 The Ice Limit ( With: Douglas Preston) 2000 Description / Buy
5 Utopia / Lethal Velocity 2002 Description / Buy

Order of Lincoln Child Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Gone Fishing (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Lincoln Child Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dark Company 1984 Description / Buy
2 Dark Banquet 1985 Description / Buy

Lincoln Child Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Tales of the Dark 1987 Description / Buy
2 Tales of the Dark 2 1987 Description / Buy
3 Gone Fishing and Other Stories 2012 Description / Buy
4 FaceOff 2014 Description / Buy
5 Gaslighted: Slappy the Ventriloquist Dummy vs. Aloysius Pendergast 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Child is probably best known for his series of novels about Agent Pendergast, which he wrote together with Douglas Preston. This series is comprised of more than dozen of sequels that proved to be very successful. Preston and Child published other mutual creations, most notably the “Gideon Crew” series. However, Child managed to write several novels alone in the 21st century. His opus consists of two stand-alone novels, as well as the well-known “Jeremy Logan Series”. Child also published several short stories.

Lincoln Child Books Into Movies/TV

Lincoln Child has made a couple of trips to Hollywood when it comes to the adaptations of his work. In 1997, Peter Hyams directed a movie called “The Relic”, which was based on Child’s first novel regarding Agent Pendergast. Child was cited as the author of the source material, and the film starred Tom Sizemore as Lt. Vincent D’Agosta, Penelope Ann Miller as Dr. Margo Green, and Linda Hunt as Dr. Ann Cuthbert. The movie was a modest success. On the other hand, it is speculated that a movie based on “Gideon Crew” series is about to be turned to the big screen.

Best Lincoln Child Books

The “Agent Pendergast” series remains the milestone of Lincoln Child’s opus. Among numerous novels written in this series, “Relic” and “The Cabinet of Curiosities” stand out as the most acclaimed.

“Relic” is the opening novel that started the renowned series. It was published in 1995 and is considered as the first novel written by Child. He wrote it together with Douglas Preston. In this initial novel of the series, evil lurks in the dark corridors of the New York Museum of National History. One of the favorite cultural sites turns into a nightmare as a streak of repulsive murders happens to unfortunate visitors who go way too far into the darkness of the museum. What is found particularly dreadful is the fact that the horrible acts do not seem as they could be done by the human hand. Nonetheless, the museum is not closed, Quite the contrary- the curator of the museum, Dr. Wright plans to throw a big party in the honor of a new exhibition. This ignorance of his may cost way too much, and there are people who are aware of it, most notably Margo Green. She is a researcher at the museum and she knows that there is some funny business in the dark. She will be helped by tough New York detective D’Agosta as they to try to stop the unfamiliar threat. Is it an act of humans or twisted nature?

“The Cabinet of Curiosities” is the third installment of “The Agent Pendergast Series”. This time, the danger lurks below the surface. In one of the abandoned charnel houses at Manhattan, a terrible discovery is made. Remnants of many victims are found, all of them left behind by a serial killer in the late 18th century. He lived in the notorious Five Points, where gangs were fighting each other in the middle of the street on a daily basis. The serial killer took the opportunity to perform his gruesome act due to some bizarre belief that that would prolong his life. It did nothing, however, than to inspire a series of similar murders in present-day New York. The police, as usual, is slow at performing its duties, and once again it all comes down to Agent Aloysius Pendergast and his crew. This time, it is assembled of Nora Kelly, an attractive archeologist who provides with the practical knowledge, a journalist called Smithback, and an Irish policeman O’Shaughnessy. This unlikely quartet has to figure out who stands behind grisly murders before things become too heated. Will moody Pendergast prevail once again?

When Does The Next Lincoln Child book come out?

Lincoln Child doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Chrysalis and was released on July, 12th 2022. It is the newest book in the Dr. Jeremy Logan Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *