Gideon Crew Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Gideon Crew is the main character of the thriller series written by the creative duo Lincoln Child and Preston Douglas. “Gideon Crew” series may be considered as the spiritual successor to the “Agent Pendergast” string of novels, perhaps the most recognized creation written by Preston and Child. The first novel of the series called “Gideon’s Sword” was released in 2011, and immediately attracted fans of the genre.

Get notified when Lincoln Child releases a new book at

Order of Gideon Crew Series By: Lincoln Child, Douglas Preston

# Read Title Published Details
1 Gideon's Sword (By: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Gideon's Corpse (By: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child) 2012 Description / Buy
3 The Lost Island (By: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child) 2014 Description / Buy
4 Beyond the Ice Limit (By: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child) 2016 Description / Buy
5 The Pharaoh Key (By: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child) 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The story follows Gideon Crew, cheeky and impulsive scientist/thief with a lot of baggage. His father was a renowned mathematician working on the most complicated problems of his time, who died under unclarified circumstances. Gideon was just a boy when it happened and it left a mark on him. He spends his time trying to wrestle the emotional load, as well as to handle the life-threatening missions far beyond his job description.

In “Gideon’s Sword”, the first novel of the series, we meet the protagonist. He works at Los Alamos National Lab looking for a way to avenge his father. Gideon spent his childhood believing that his father betrayed his family, as well as his country, and that he reaped what he sowed. Gideon’s mother became an alcoholic and the family was utterly destroyed. Nevertheless, at his mother’s deathbed, Gideon learns that his father was murdered as he got too involved with the secret government program called “Thresher”. He was against the project which proved to be a failure, and he was sacrificed by the big shots. When Gideon finds out the truth, he dedicates his life to one aim- to set things straight. This aim is going to throw him yet deeper into the world of shadows, where secret projects, codes, and conspiracies are everyday occurrence.

Gideon Crew Awards:

This series by Child and Douglas received a couple of recognitions, especially the second book of the series, “Gideon’s Corpse”. This novel was selected as a Top Pick in 2011, according to RT Book Reviews.

Gideon Crew Books into Movies:

In 2010, it was announced that Michael Bay, the director of “Transformers” and “Armageddon” was interested in adapting “Gideon’s Sword”. Chap Taylor, “Changing Lanes” screenwriter, was attached to write the screenplay of the series that had not been published yet at the time. However, a project was stopped and the movie has not been filmed.

Best Gideon Crew Books:

Besides “Gideon’s Sword”, the series offers other respectful novels such as “Gideon’s Corpse” and “The Lost Island” .

“Gideon’s Corpse” is the second book of the series. It was published in January 2012 and it continues Gideon’s story at the place “Gideon’s Sword” left it. This time, Gideon has to face the threat biggest of them all- an impending nuclear blast. Reed Chalker, Crew’s colleague at the Los Alamos, goes berserk as he is convinced that he was systematically irradiated, and takes a whole family as a hostage. Soon after, Chalker is no longer a threat, but his legacy is, as a detailed map of DC is found in his apartment, together with the calendar and the equipment necessary for the creation of the atomic bomb. Now Gideon has to prevent the attack, as he discovers certain similarities between Chalker and his father.

“The Lost Island” is the third installment of the series and was published in 2014. This novel takes a different turn from its predecessors as Gideon’s is dragged in the treasure hunt. Gideon is given a task by his boss, mysterious Eli Glinn, to steal a page from Book of Kells, an ancient document that is currently on display in NYC. Gideon is successful, but soon discovers that he only did half of a job, since he finds a hidden map on the page, which possibly leads to a vast treasure, somewhere in the Carribean islands. Crew embarks on a journey with Amy, his new partner, as they try to find the treasure and deal with the tropical hazards, as well as the great surprises.

Other book series you may like

People who liked reading about Gideon’s trials and tribulations might enjoy the series which inspired it. Of course, that is the “Agent Pendergast” series, also written by Preston and Child. This series follows the life of Aloysius Pendergast, an FBI agent with a shady past and a rare talent for catching serial killers. Fans of Gideon Crew might be interested in “Breakthrough” as well. This series, written by Michael Grumley, centers on Alison Shaw and her team of marine biologists, as they fight threats and discover secrets lurking from the depths of the oceans.

What Is The Next Book in The Gideon Crew Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Gideon Crew Series. The newest book is The Pharaoh Key and was released on June, 12th 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *