Wyman Ford Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Wyman Ford series by crime author Douglas Preston represents what Preston works on when he is not working with his writing partner, Lincoln Child. It features elements of archaeology and science. The series stars Wyman Ford, who was an agent with the Central Intelligence Agency for quite some time; so was his wife, before she died in a car that was bombed while the couple was doing a stakeout. After his wife died, Ford spent two and a half years at The Monastery of Christ in the Desert (a Benedictine monastery). At the end of his time here, he started up a firm, working as a private investigator. Ford is a devout Catholic, although he struggles with his faith in the religion since his wife died.

Get notified when Douglas Preston releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Wyman Ford Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Tyrannosaur Canyon ( By: Douglas Preston) 2005 Description / Buy
2 Blasphemy ( By: Douglas Preston) 2007 Description / Buy
3 Impact ( By: Douglas Preston) 2009 Description / Buy
4 The Kraken Project ( By: Douglas Preston) 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The first novel in the series, Tyrannosaur Canyon takes place during Ford’s time at the monastery. He gets his firm from Tom Broadbent (who starred in a Preston novel called The Codex). Tom is more the star of the show here in this novel, with Wyman Ford taking more of a supporting role. Tom returns in other novels of this series, providing support for Wyman.


This next section is for those readers looking to get into the Wyman Ford series by . It will go over the novels Tyrannosaur Canyon, Blasphemy, and Impact.

Tyrannosaur Canyon: This is the first novel in the Wyman Ford series that was released in the year 2005. Tom Broadbent is riding around in the desert of New Mexico, and hears gunshots that he knows come from Tyrannosaur Canyon. He follows the sound and is able to come up on someone who has been shot. He gives Tom a notebook. Jimson is mad that the notebook is gone; he has been hired to get it back at any cost. Tom takes the notebook to a monk in training named Wyman Ford to decipher the codes found the book. Ford figures that the numbers are ground penetrating radar readings. When fully formed, they show an intact Tyrannosaurus.

Blasphemy: This is the second novel in the Wyman Ford series that was released in the year 2008. The biggest supercollider in the world is in Arizona, in a mountain. It is called the Torus and is the most expensive machine that mankind ever created. It was built so that it could answer the biggest secret of all. The moment of creation. The Big Bang. William North Hazelius, a Nobel Laureate, created it. Is it going to answer the mysteries that surround the start of the universe? Or, like some think, suck the planet Earth into a mini black hole? Some also think that it is a Satanic attempt to challenge God on His throne in Heaven (this is what a televangelist believes). A dozen scientists that work with Hazelius are sent to the mountain in Arizona to start it up. What they find has to be hidden from the world, that is of the utmost importance. Wyman Ford has to get the secret from them, it is one that will either save Earth or destroy it.

Impact: This is the third novel in the Wyman Ford series that was released in the year 2010. Ford is supposed to go to on a secret trip to Cambodia, so that he can find where these beautiful gemstones come from. As their origin does not seem to be from this world. A great meteor shines on the coast of Maine. A pair of young women get a boat to find where the meteor touched down. They believe that it is on a distant island. A National Propulsion Facility scientist finds that there is a source of gamma rays coming from the outer Solar System. He cannot explain the reason for these gamma rays. Later, he is found killed with his head cut off.


The “Kinsey Millhone” series by Sue Grafton, also called the alphabet mysteries series. It is set in the decade of the 1980s and set in a town that is based on Santa Barbara, California called Santa Teresa. This popular character of Grafton’s also appears in short fiction works as well.

Sigma Force” series by James Rollins. James Rollins started this series in 2004, and it is about a fictional division called SIGMA Force. It is part of the U.S. DARPA program. The higher ups in this division combine specialized knowledge in the field of science with their military background.

What Is The Next Book in The Wyman Ford Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Wyman Ford Series. The newest book is The Kraken Project and was released on May, 1st 2014.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *