Jonathan Quinn Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Jonathan Quinn novels are a series of books by highly popular American thriller mystery author, Brett Battles. The chief protagonist in these novels is Jonathan Quinn, who makes his first appearance in the first novel in the series, The Cleaner, published in 2007.

Get notified when Brett Battles releases a new book at

Order of Jonathan Quinn Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Cleaner / Hung Out To Die ( By: Brett Battles) 2007 Description / Buy
2 The Deceived ( By: Brett Battles) 2008 Description / Buy
3 Shadow of Betrayal / The Unwanted ( By: Brett Battles) 2009 Description / Buy
4 Just Another Job ( By: Brett Battles) 2011 Description / Buy
5 The Silenced ( By: Brett Battles) 2011 Description / Buy
6 Off The Clock ( By: Brett Battles) 2011 Description / Buy
7 Becoming Quinn ( By: Brett Battles) 2011 Description / Buy
8 The Destroyed ( By: Brett Battles) 2012 Description / Buy
9 The Collected ( By: Brett Battles) 2012 Description / Buy
10 The Enraged ( By: Brett Battles) 2013 Description / Buy
11 The Discarded ( By: Brett Battles) 2014 Description / Buy
12 Lesson Plan (Short Story) (By: Brett Battles) 2014 Description / Buy
13 Night Work ( By: Brett Battles) 2015 Description / Buy
14 The Buried ( By: Brett Battles) 2015 Description / Buy
15 The Unleashed ( By: Brett Battles) 2016 Description / Buy
16 The Aggrieved ( By: Brett Battles) 2017 Description / Buy
17 The Fractured ( By: Brett Battles) 2018 Description / Buy
18 The Damaged ( By: Brett Battles) 2019 Description / Buy
19 The Unknown ( By: Brett Battles) 2020 Description / Buy
20 The Vanished (By: Brett Battles) 2020 Description / Buy
21 The Taken: (By: Brett Battles) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Jonathan Quinn is a freelance agent with a ruthless and uncompromising streak, who prefers to work alone. As a professional cleaner, his job is to dispose of dead bodies quietly. For the right amount, he will also do some cleanup. While he is a freelancer, most of his work is with a secret US intelligence agency, known as the Office.

When we are introduced to Quinn, he has been handed a cleaning assignment that on the surface seems simple enough – investigate a suspicious case of arson at the Office’s base. But he knows that he is deep in murk, when a body is found where it should not be. With his handlers at the agency going strangely quiet, he soon finds out that someone badly wants him dead. It soon emerges that the attempt on his life is linked to a wider scheme to wipe out the entire Office operation.

Orlando, a woman from his past now holds the key to solving the case, but he must convince her to join in the investigation. What follows is a fast-paced narrative that sees the two crisscrossing continents and prying into old crimes, only to uncover a brilliantly planned conspiracy and a chilling secret that implicates higher ups they could never have imagined.


The first of the Jonathan Quinn novels, The Cleaner, was nominated for the Best Thriller category of the Barry Award but did not win. The novel was also on the shortlist for Best First Novel category in the Shamus Awards. The second novel, The Deceived, published in 2008 went on to win the Barry Award for Best Thriller in 2008. The Silenced, the fourth novel in the Jonathan Quinn series, was nominated for the Barry Award in 2011.


The Enraged: One of the most popular novels of the Jonathan Quinn series of novels is the seventh title, The Enraged. When a rescue mission on Duran Island goes terribly wrong, Jonathan Quinn is convinced that there was a malicious hand involved. He does not like the fact that someone thought they could cold heartedly put people that he cared about in the line of fire for their own self-preservation. Now that he knows there is someone behind it, he will move heaven and earth to get even. Jonathan Quinn just got very mad, and the person responsible will regret getting into his bad books.

The Deceived: The Barry award-winning novel, The Deceived is another incredible novel in the Jonathan Quinn series. As a professional freelance contractor, Quinn knows that his line of work has no room for any emotion. But everything changes when he turns up for a cleaning job only to find that the body to be disposed of is that of an old colleague and friend, who once saved his life. With the skill to battle with the very best of spies and killers, Quinn and his friends embark on a mission to flush out the killers. Their investigation takes them from the bustling street of Singapore to the corridors of power in Washington where the tale ends in an explosive finish that we have come to expect from Brett Battles.

The Discarded: Another novel that fans of the Jonathan Quinn novels, particularly like is the eighth in the series, The Discarded. When Orlando’s mentor asks them for help, long after he was supposedly retired, Quinn knows that something is very wrong. Abraham feels guilty about a package he delivered years ago and wants it back. In their line of work, discretion is one of the most important of qualities expected of a freelancer. They now have to retrieve the package, but the current owners will never let it go easily and will kill them if they get wind that they are looking to retrieve it.


Many fans of the Jonathan Quinn series also like the “Ben Treven” series by Barry Eisler. Treven is an elite Military Liaison officer that is also an expert at finding and neutralizing high value terrorist targets.

Fans of the Jonathan Quinn series are also fans of the “Samuel Carver” series of novels by Tom Cain. Carver is a former British army officer who is a type of hit man similar to Arthur Bishop of the Mechanic, who sets up innocent looking accidents for criminals all over the globe.

What Is The Next Book in The Jonathan Quinn Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Jonathan Quinn Series. The newest book is The Taken: and was released on November, 14th 2023.

1 thought on “Jonathan Quinn”

  1. Jonathan Quinn is a bad ass, pure and simple. When he is on a job and he gets mad, look out because someone is going to pay. I love him as a character because while he’s supposed to be a “cleaner”, someone who comes in after the job is done to clean it up, he so often is forced to get his hands dirty. This is unlike any other series as Quinn’s job is very unusual, but the action that goes down will feel quite familiar to Jack Reacher or other action books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *