Jordan Poteet Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Jordan Poteet refers to a series of mystery novels written by Jeff Abbott. The books follow the exploits of a librarian who solves crimes.

Get notified when Jeff Abbott releases a new book at

Order of Jordan Poteet Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Do Unto Others ( By: Jeff Abbott) 1994 Description / Buy
2 The Only Good Yankee ( By: Jeff Abbott) 1995 Description / Buy
3 Promises of Home ( By: Jeff Abbott) 1996 Description / Buy
4 Distant Blood ( By: Jeff Abbott) 1996 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Jordan Poteet had a pretty decent career in publishing back East. A native of Texas, Jordan escaped his small town and carved out a new life for himself in the big city. By the time the events of Do Unto Others, the first novel in the Jordan Poteet series roll around, things are taking a downward turn.

The book finds Jordan returning to Mirabeau, Texas. His mother has been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s and his sister is a single mother to a moody teenager. She does not have what it takes to care for the ailing woman, not on her own.

So Jordan goes back to his hometown. There he finds work as a librarian and does what he can to care for his family. This is despite the financial challenges his work as a librarian has introduced into the equation.

This downward spiral in Jordan’s life is exacerbated when he enters into conflict with a religious fanatic. When the woman is found murdered in Jordan’s library, the police make him the prime suspect.

Jordan has no choice but to investigate the murder and find the real killer before he ends up in prison. The rest of the Jordan Poteet series follows Jordan around as he grows comfortable in his skin as an amateur sleuth and plays his part to keep the community free of criminals.

Most of the crimes Jordan investigates are connected to him in some manner. Either he is directly implicated in the crime at play or the people he knows are involved somehow and he just wants to help them escape imprisonment. Every so often, someone that Jordan knows and cares for will fall prey to a crime, thus giving him, even more, drive to sidestep the police to solve the mystery in question.

Jeff Abbott, the author, is a native of Texas. A former student of Rice University from where he got his English and History degree, Abbott writes detection fiction and thrillers.

Most of his books feature ordinary individuals who get swept away by extraordinary circumstances and must rise to the occasion to survive. There have been a lot of debates as to whether the Jordan Poteet books are cozy mysteries.

The novels feature most of the attributes of a cozy mystery, this including a small town, an unwilling amateur detective and a cast of ordinary but somewhat quirky characters.

Jordan Poteet Awards

The first novel in the Poteet series received an Agatha and Macavity award. It also got a Dilys Award nomination.

Best Jordan Poteet Books

The Jordan Poteet novels ushered Jeff Abbott into the publishing arena, with some of the best titles in the Poteet series including:

The Only Good Yankee: Someone is blowing up mailboxes in Mirabeau, and Jordan Poteet wants to know who. Poteet had a career in the big city. But then his mother got sick and his sister, a single mother, could not care for her on her own.

So Jordan came home and became a librarian. He was starting to feel at home in the company of his sister, his mother, and his girlfriend. But now his ex-girlfriend is back in town and she wants to buy everyone’s riverfront property.

When her handsome colleague is murdered, Jordan Poteet throws his amateur sleuthing hat on and attempts to solve the case.

Promises of Home: Jordan Poteet was 12-years-old when he and his friends went out riding on their bicycles even as a hurricane assaulted their state. The group stumbled upon the remains of a beautiful girl.

The six of them thought that they had left that traumatic day in the past. But now, someone is starting to kill them off one after another. Jordan and the police chief must get to the bottom of things before it’s too late.

Other Book Series You May Like

Many fans also enjoy “The Dublin Trilogy” Series by Caimh McDonnell. Bunny, Paul, and Brigit are an unscrupulous ex-cop, a private detective and a nurse trying to manage their lives and solve crimes in Dublin at the end of the 20th Century.

Readers have also enjoyed reading the “Shadow Warriors” Series by Stephen England. Harry Nichols is a highly talented CIA operative that the United States Government relies upon to neutralize elements that threaten the country and the world at large.

What Is The Next Book in The Jordan Poteet Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Jordan Poteet Series. The newest book is Distant Blood and was released on September, 30th 1996.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *